Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

Install windows xp in compaq presario c700

This is a discussion on Install windows xp in compaq presario c700 within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi frnds I have compaq presario c700 laptop which has windows vista as inbuild OS. Due to many dll issues


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-02-2016, 07:39 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 36
OS: windows xp pro sevice pack 3



Hi frnds

I have compaq presario c700 laptop which has windows vista as inbuild OS. Due to many dll issues and corrupted directories , I changed it to windows 7, 3 months back.But my system is very slow and takes too much time. I want to change it to windows xp pro sp3.I learned from the internet that i have to disable sata native support from the BIOS. I did that, but when i try to restart ,the system doesnt ask 'press any key to continue boot....' It just goes blank screen ...nothing happens for hours. I am totally confused ....little help will be very grateful

Thanks
mariner2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-02-2016, 07:49 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



In the BIOS . . does it have the option to boot from the CD?
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 01-02-2016, 08:06 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 36
OS: windows xp pro sevice pack 3



Boot options
F9 and F10 Delay (sec) <10>

CD-ROM Boot <Enabled>
Floppy Boot <Disabled>
PXE Boot to LAN <Disabled>

Boot order

ATAPI CD/DVD-ROM Drive
USB Diskette on Key
USB Floppy
Notebook Hard Drive
Network Adapter
mariner2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-02-2016, 08:23 AM   #4
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,991
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Make HDD your second option.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 01-02-2016, 08:32 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 36
OS: windows xp pro sevice pack 3



Same response.... Nothing happens.. only black screen with backlight
mariner2 is offline  
Old 01-02-2016, 08:39 AM   #6
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,991
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


ICH SATA control mode. For XP change from AHCI to IDE.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 01-02-2016, 08:43 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 36
OS: windows xp pro sevice pack 3



How to do that? plz explain..
mariner2 is offline  
Old 01-02-2016, 08:52 AM   #8
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,991
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


It might have a different name. Probably found under SATA configuration.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 01-02-2016, 08:56 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 36
OS: windows xp pro sevice pack 3



In BIOS System Configuration just three options are there

Language <English>
SATA Native Support <disable>

>Boot options
mariner2 is offline  
Old 01-02-2016, 09:41 AM   #10
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,991
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


I was looking in your manual for a bios pictures and of course there were none. https://www.hp.com/ctg/Manual/c01295900.pdf
See if you can find it under Storage Configuration. I'm concerned that you might need old chipset and drivers since your unit came with Vista then upgraded to 7 and now you're going backwards. Are you getting a black or blue screen after attempting.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 01-02-2016, 01:49 PM   #11
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,532
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Quote:
SATA Native Support <disable>
If you Disable SATA Native Support, you will have changed it from AHCI to IDE. XP then will recognize your HDD. If you have a SATA CD/DVD drive, this will disable it from Boot.
If you are having problems booting from the CD drive, create an ISO image of your XP disc on another computer using IMGBurn then burn the image to USB Flash drive with Rufus, both in my signature. Then with the USB drive in the computer boot into Setup (Bios) and move USB Key to First Boot Device. When you start your computer with the new XP Install USB Flash Drive, you should see the message Press Any Key To Boot From USB.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 01-03-2016, 06:32 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 36
OS: windows xp pro sevice pack 3



I finally give up to change my OS to XP. I have one doubt before go to windows 7. Right now my system is 64 bit and i'm planning to go for 32 bit windows 7.Does it work for me..?

My system config is intel core 2 duo cpu 1.83ghz and RAM 2gb system type 64 bit

Thanks everyone
mariner2 is offline  
Old 01-03-2016, 06:52 AM   #13
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,991
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Can work, but why not 64 unless you mean you already have a legal 32 disc.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 01-03-2016, 06:59 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 36
OS: windows xp pro sevice pack 3



I think 64 is taking too much memory (physical memory). thats why,otherwise no worries
mariner2 is offline  
Old 01-03-2016, 08:31 AM   #15
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,991
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


If you're interested in the depths of the comparison, here's a blog on the subject: 32 bit vs. 64 bit memory - CodeProject
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 01-03-2016, 04:25 PM   #16
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,532
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Microsoft says the bare minimum to run Windows 64 bit is 2GB of RAM, it will install and it will run but it will be very, very slow and we don't recommend it. You should have at least 4GB of RAM to run 64Bit Windows. Since you only have 2GB it's best to install Windows 32bit unless you decide to upgrade.
All Motherboards and Processors in the last 10 years or more are 64bit architecture and can easily run Windows 64bit or 32bit depending on the amount of RAM you install. 64Bit Windows allows you to install more the 4GB or RAM which is the size limit for Windows 32bit.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot create shortcuts
Hello, I've been having issues with my computer for a while. It started out with a virus that "scanned" my computer for an infection, and of course my wife hits "OK". I had thought i cleaned that up, then I had the "The FBI has locked your computer" for whatever reason, and I had cleaned that up...
Andy_F Resolved HJT Threads 76 02-19-2013 06:46 PM
Bad Image Errors
I'm trying to get rid of some bad image errors and rundll errors during start-up on my windows xp computer. I ran the HiJackThis program and here is the log. I don't know which ones to delete. Please help. How do I avoid this in the future? Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.4 Scan...
Generalpork12 Resolved HJT Threads 15 02-16-2012 03:52 PM
Slow browsing
I've had somewhat slow browsing as of late. Here are my logs: . DDS (Ver_2011-08-26.01) - NTFSx86 Internet Explorer: 8.0.6001.18702 BrowserJavaVersion: 1.6.0_22 Run by marvin glick at 2:44:06 on 2011-11-02 Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition 5.1.2600.3.1252.1.1033.18.1982.1173 . AV:...
sailor86 Inactive Malware Help Topics 0 11-02-2011 12:53 AM
Windows XP Fix
I have got this intruder on my computer. I cannot access the internet or anything else. I was going to do a system restore, but I cannot get to it. I do have another computer with Vista, but I need the XP computer for work. Please help!
mishamisha Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 26 07-14-2011 06:36 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts