Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

Important files disappeared somehow on external harddrive, and I need them back!

This is a discussion on Important files disappeared somehow on external harddrive, and I need them back! within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Currently I am between personal computers for myself and am running all of my personal stuff on my Seagate 500

Closed Thread

Old 10-21-2008, 02:10 PM   #1

Currently I am between personal computers for myself and am running all of my personal stuff on my Seagate 500 GB external USB harddrive on the family computer. (Windows XP, 80GB harddrive, 256 MB RAM, etc.) I'm a photographer and recently returned from a two week trip with a lot of photos, which I put onto my external drive (since that's where all my stuff is). I've been editing and uploading from there. When I'm done with the drive I always use the safely remove hardware tool. Half the time it doesn't seem to want to work and says "device can't be stopped, try later." I unplug it anyway, and there is never a problem. A few nights ago I was waiting for it to give me an answer (to either be safe, or give the error message). I waited longer than usual and nothing was coming up, so I unplugged it, and a second later it finally said it was safe to remove. The next day I was going to upload more of the photos, but was first going to go to the folder to look at some of them. Here's a quick overview of how I have my folders set up: On the desktop is a 'Pics" folder. In there is another 'Pics" folder among with other files. Inside that folder I have a selection of folders, including all photos from 2008 so far, ones that are edited and ready to print to different sizes, and one from my recent trip. Inside the recent trip folder I have folders dedicated to the different memory cards I used. Recently I have been working only in the folders dedicated to the cards.