Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

IE8 won't load secure pages - time to wipe & reload?

This is a discussion on IE8 won't load secure pages - time to wipe & reload? within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Guys, I've been searching and trying solutions for hours and hours now. Helping out a friend with IE8 on Windows


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-27-2016, 07:39 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 247
OS: Windows 10.1

My System


Guys, I've been searching and trying solutions for hours and hours now. Helping out a friend with IE8 on Windows XP (yes I know it's not supported, but let's please stay on topic here). IE8 won't navigate to secure sites for some reason. It just says the web page cannot be displayed. I can't even get to Google. I had to download Mozilla Firefox from Bing to even get this working.

I've tried a LIST of solutions. Here are some of them:
  1. Tried resetting IE back to factory defaults.
  2. Tried disabling/enabling SSL/TLS protocols from the Advanced Settings.
  3. Tried sfc /scannow.
  4. Tried re-registering DLLs as suggested by Microsoft.
  5. Verified IP and DNS settings to ensure that it wasn't causing any problems.
  6. Verified that IE isn't configured to use a proxy.
  7. Verified that no anti-virus software is running (none is installed).
  8. Tried disabling Windows Firewall just for the hell of it.
I'm out of ideas here. Does anyone have any other possible suggestions to add to this list of things that I've tried already?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
altjx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-27-2016, 09:33 PM   #2
Moderator, Editor, Articles Team
 
Deejay100six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Doncaster, Great Britain
Posts: 11,786
OS: Windows 7 Professional SP1

My System


Hi,

I'm afraid running an unpatched, unsupported O/S is very much part of the topic. Most of the support would have included lots of security patches via Windows update.

Running it without Antivirus/Firewall is just complete madness!
__________________
Regards, Dave.


Submit New Articles Here

Help us to help you by posting your System Specs
Deejay100six is offline  
Old 01-27-2016, 09:34 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 247
OS: Windows 10.1

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Deejay100six View Post
Hi,

I'm afraid running an unpatched, unsupported O/S is very much part of the topic. Most of the support would have included lots of security patches via Windows update.

Running it without Antivirus/Firewall is just complete madness!
Thanks for the response. Only disabled firewall temporarily :D. I've started the backing up process in preparation for wiping and reloading. Doesn't look like there's any other choice here. Brought up the suggestion of upgrading the OS of course too, but just trying to work with what I have right now.
altjx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-27-2016, 09:58 PM   #4
Moderator, Editor, Articles Team
 
Deejay100six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Doncaster, Great Britain
Posts: 11,786
OS: Windows 7 Professional SP1

My System

There are other's here who will advise your options re XP reinstall/upgrade.

Whatever you decide, don't connect to the internet even for a minute without an av.

Good luck!
__________________
Regards, Dave.


Submit New Articles Here

Help us to help you by posting your System Specs
Deejay100six is offline  
Old 01-27-2016, 09:59 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 247
OS: Windows 10.1

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Deejay100six View Post
There are other's here who will advise your options re XP reinstall/upgrade.

Whatever you decide, don't connect to the internet even for a minute without an av.

Good luck!
Thanks!
altjx is offline  
Old 02-05-2016, 09:06 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5
OS: XP Pro SP3



Do you have the same issue with Opera or Chrome? Are you seeing this with non-Microsoft websites? If the secure pages are Microsoft sites be aware that Microsoft is in process of updating protocols that affect all older versions of IE. Their objective is to limit access to only the latest browser for each Windows OS still in support. Currently that would be IE9 (Vista). Your resolution may well be to use third-party browsers that still support XP.
Cbarnhorst is offline  
Old 02-05-2016, 09:16 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 247
OS: Windows 10.1

My System

Other browsers work but the software that was needed loads up a web page that requires ActiveX, so IE was a must. It happened with any SSL site too. Google, Facebook, gmail, etc.

I ended up reinstalling Windows XP and everything started working flawlessly again. Just didn't have the time any longer to keep troubleshooting.

Thanks for all of your help guys. Also found a nice deal for him on a Windows 8 laptop so thankfully xp will be out of the picture soon
altjx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trojan
AVG has found: Windows\System32\services.exe Trojan horse dropper.Generic_c.MMI Trojan horse GFeneric28.ANIC I'm being hijacked to different webpages and haven't found a program yet to remove...please help! . DDS (Ver_2011-08-26.01) - NTFSAMD64
JayPlayer Resolved HJT Threads 20 07-30-2012 04:12 PM
[SOLVED] BSOD when accessing internet
Hi, OS - Vista/ Windows 7 ? : Vista SP 2 x86 (32-bit) or x64 : 32-bit What was original installed OS on system? :Vista Is the OS an OEM version (came pre-installed on system) or full retail version (YOU purchased it from retailer)? : Full retail Age of system (hardware): 3-4 years ...
eraonel BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 11 02-01-2012 12:41 PM
Windows 7 hangs just after startup each time
Just after startup, I can see the desktop, all icons, the system tray, etc., but if I click anything, it immediately hangs. I am eventually given an error from the bottom left corner of the screen stating that "Microsoft Windows" is not responding. I can wait and the application may respond or I...
slhaas BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 3 08-03-2011 04:49 AM
[SOLVED] Rootkit problem: hidden boot sector.
Dearest Techies: I have Windows 7 Home Premium on a Dell Inspiron N7010 Notebook. A few days ago the computer would not start and took me to the windows 7 startup repair utility, and it was unsuccessful in repairing the problem. I ended up having to restore the system to factory settings to get...
Raygumm Resolved HJT Threads 60 07-03-2011 09:07 PM
Bsod problems--vista
OS - Vista/ Windows 7 ? Vista x86 (32-bit) or x64 ? 32-bit What was original installed OS on system? Vista Is the OS an OEM version (came pre-installed on system) or full retail version (YOU purchased it from retailer)? OEM Age of system (hardware) 1-2 Years? Age of OS installation...
a7xcoreya7z BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 5 05-23-2011 06:11 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts