Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

IE can't be closed

This is a discussion on IE can't be closed within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Greetings from Jupiter! I've a friend who is running XP Service Pak 2. Here's the exciting problem. When the machine


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-25-2007, 02:21 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 192
OS: Windows 10 Creators Update



Greetings from Jupiter!

I've a friend who is running XP Service Pak 2. Here's the exciting problem. When the machine is booted up, IE is running, but the far right hand of the pane cannot be seen. Consequently, one cannot click on the X to shut it down.
The weird thing is, one cannot see it running in the taskmanager. And there is no other browser on the system other than IE.

Plus, the computer is running like cold molasses up a hill sideways .. in the wintertime. We've run several anti-spam programs i.e AVG / Lavasoft / Norton Internet Security is running flawlessly on the system, but no trace of anything weird and wonderful on the system.
Have any an idea what might be going on in this thrilling scenario?
HoofMouth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-25-2007, 03:47 AM   #2
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



use the monitor ajustment to bring the side of the screen in
check your tempretures the cpu may be to high and throttleing back to prevent it burning out



dai is offline  
Old 12-27-2007, 04:17 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 192
OS: Windows 10 Creators Update



Quote:
Originally Posted by dai View Post
use the monitor ajustment to bring the side of the screen in
check your tempretures the cpu may be to high and throttleing back to prevent it burning out
Thank you dai for your response. This attempt does not work either. The fellow's computer is going to be taken to a tech. There is obviously something whacky tabaccy with this that many tries does not fix. Appreciate you coming in on this by the way.
HoofMouth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-27-2007, 04:58 AM   #4
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



run
sfc /scannow



dai is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts