Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

I Guess i gotta reformat

This is a discussion on I Guess i gotta reformat within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Well heres some background information if you want to read about it. https://www.techsupportforum.com/f100...ml#post2006313 well basically i need to reformat. I


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-05-2009, 03:45 PM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 44
OS:



Well heres some background information if you want to read about it.
https://www.techsupportforum.com/f100...ml#post2006313

well basically i need to reformat.
I dont have my win xp cd.
My DVD-RW drive E: seems not to work i have no idea why. Its detected and all but when i put any type of disc in it wont read it at all, no clue why.
If you have questions feel free to ask.
phanetix is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-05-2009, 03:56 PM   #2
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



Well . . you are going to have to get a Installation cd . . What brand/model is the pc? You may have to replace the CD drive also.

With the infection you have, I would first completely wipe the drive with DBAN
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 03-05-2009, 04:02 PM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 44
OS:



My pc is custom made not sure what brand it is.

so theres no other way besides using a cd?
phanetix is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-05-2009, 06:22 PM   #4
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



for the dvd remove the filters
on this page click on summery for how

https://support.microsoft.com/?scid=k...060&x=12&y=13#

do you have the serial for your windows on the side of the case



dai is offline  
Old 03-06-2009, 01:33 PM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 44
OS:



i dont think i do its a custom case
i will do that thing with the cd drive
i may not be able to reply till sunday
i will be gone for the weekend
phanetix is offline  
Old 03-06-2009, 07:33 PM   #6
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 78,002
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



if they did not supply a disk then they usually put the windows key on the side of the case
use this to get it off the computer
https://www.magicaljellybean.com/keyfinder/
you will need it for the reinstall



dai is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts