Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

How can I install Recovery Console after installing SP3?

This is a discussion on How can I install Recovery Console after installing SP3? within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I installed Windows XP SP3 before discovering this forum. In reading the steps for troubleshooting malware infections, I noticed that


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-05-2008, 09:01 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 101
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64



I installed Windows XP SP3 before discovering this forum. In reading the steps for troubleshooting malware infections, I noticed that one such step is installing the Windows XP Recovery Console.

Fortunately I have the Windows XP installation CD that came with my system. Unfortunately, it's an SP2 CD. So when I try to install the Recovery Console, it complains that I have a newer version of Windows than the one on the CD.

Microsoft gives fairly detailed instructions for how to install Recovery Console if you have an SP1 (or SP0) CD and are running on SP2. However, I'm paranoid enough to believe that those instructions do not necessarily scale to SP3.

So can someone tell me how I can install Recovery Console on my SP3 machine if I have an SP2 CD?
arkoenig is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-05-2008, 03:25 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 82
OS: Win 7, home premium



when you try to install recovery console, ie "d:\i386\winnt32.exe /cmdcons" (where d: is the cd drive) are you connected to the net ?, i think the install checks for updates @ microsoft and should continue if it can connect.
clare voyant is offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 03:27 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 101
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64



Quote:
Originally Posted by clare voyant View Post
when you try to install recovery console, ie "d:\i386\winnt32.exe /cmdcons" (where d: is the cd drive) are you connected to the net ?, i think the install checks for updates @ microsoft and should continue if it can connect.
Yes I am connected to the net. As far as I can tell, it's complaining that my CD is SP2 and my machine is SP3.
arkoenig is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-05-2008, 03:55 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 82
OS: Win 7, home premium



i just tried it out with my older sp2 disk, it does pop up and complains about the newer version, however when i click on the "ok" button at that prompt, after a few seconds,it continues on it's merry way and installs ok !
clare voyant is offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 04:08 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 101
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64



Quote:
Originally Posted by clare voyant View Post
i just tried it out with my older sp2 disk, it does pop up and complains about the newer version, however when i click on the "ok" button at that prompt, after a few seconds,it continues on it's merry way and installs ok !
How do you know that the installation is OK? That is, how do you know that it is actually correct?
arkoenig is offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 04:20 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 82
OS: Win 7, home premium



Quote:
Originally Posted by arkoenig View Post
How do you know that the installation is OK? That is, how do you know that it is actually correct?
because i'm a trusting soul, if you're that worried, do a system restore first then an image backup and give it a go....
gotta go now, it's a long weekend here, and i've got to pack the car!,
good luck.
clare voyant is offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 04:27 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 101
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64



I am more worried about something going wrong in the backup/restore process -- I have a *lot* of data on my machine (mostly sound samples for softsynths).

Anyway, I gave it a try, and it did connect to the Internet to download updates, and eventually gave me a recovery console that at the very least lets me execute commands. I'm guessing that's probably good enough :-)

Have a great trip, wherever you're going. I'm going to have dinner soon...
arkoenig is offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 04:49 PM   #8
Team Manager
Articles Team
 
chauffeur2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Henley Beach, South Australia
Posts: 11,898
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 and Windows 10

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to chauffeur2

Hello arkoenig, Welcome to TSF!

What you will need to do is slipstream SP3 with your Windows® XP SP2-CD, for future usage with these things and others, such as, The System File Checker (sfc).
If you are not sure how to do this, just ask and we can give you a guide and a standalone download for SP3 to do it.

Kind Regards,
__________________
Dave T.



If it works, Don't fix it!
Especially if Microsoft made it!
chauffeur2 is offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 05:15 PM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
justpassingby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 6,641
OS: XP Home SP3 / Ubuntu / Win 7

My System


As Chauffeur says, create a new slipstreamed CD with SP3 and all should be fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by arkoenig View Post
In reading the steps for troubleshooting malware infections, I noticed that one such step is installing the Windows XP Recovery Console.
What steps for troubleshooting malware infections are you refering to ? I don't see where it's advised to install the recovery console.
justpassingby is offline  
Old 06-05-2008, 08:35 PM   #10
TSF Security Manager
Emeritus
 
Ried's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 42,837
OS: WinXP Home, Vista, Windows 7 64bit



Hello arkoenig,

You're jumping the gun a bit here. It will not be necessary to slipstream or carry out any complicated steps for this.

Please refer to your HijackThis thread for forthcoming instructions.
__________________
Member of UNITE since 2006

Microsoft MVP - 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015

"It is one life whether we spend it laughing or weeping." "Take the time to laugh--it is the music of the soul."
Ried is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts