Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

Gateway 4016 freezes or switch off

This is a discussion on Gateway 4016 freezes or switch off within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Recently. My Gateway 4016 computer freezes into weird graphics screen or switch off all together whenever I have usb wireless


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-15-2011, 07:44 PM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,521
OS: Windows XP Pro & Win. 10 Home



Recently.

My Gateway 4016 computer freezes into weird graphics screen or switch off all together whenever I have usb wireless plugged in or any usb flash drive plugged in.

If I unplug all the usb plugged into the computer and just re-start with windows it o.k.

If I try to re-boot in any mode with usb plugged in like usb wirless it will shut off the computer just before starting the Windows desktop.

Or after Windows starts, if I try to plug in any usb device after it will freeze or switch off.
How can I solve this problem ?


Thanks.
zhong is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-16-2011, 02:39 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,521
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


are you using the Back USB ports of the computer for you wireless and Flash Drives and not the front? The front are weaker and should only be used for low powered USB devices like Keyboard and Mice.
You can also go to Start/Run and type devmgmt.msc and hit enter. In the Device Manager, expand USB. Right click each USB Root Hub/Properties/Power Management and un-check Allow Computer to Turn Off Device to save Power.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 01-16-2011, 05:18 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,521
OS: Windows XP Pro & Win. 10 Home



This occurs regradless if I use back or front usb ports.

If will freeze or switch off if I plugin to any of the 2 front and 4 back usb ports I have. Even if I just have 1 usb port plugged in the back or front.
The rest not plugged in.


Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
are you using the Back USB ports of the computer for you wireless and Flash Drives and not the front? The front are weaker and should only be used for low powered USB devices like Keyboard and Mice.
You can also go to Start/Run and type devmgmt.msc and hit enter. In the Device Manager, expand USB. Right click each USB Root Hub/Properties/Power Management and un-check Allow Computer to Turn Off Device to save Power.
zhong is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-16-2011, 11:27 AM   #4
GZ
TSF Emeritus
 
GZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25,552
OS: Windows 8 Professional x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

Hello zhong,

Could you take a flashlight and check all of your USB ports for damage. One damaged port can affect the whole system.
__________________
Please be advised. If your thread is answered and there is no reply within 30 days the thread will be closed. If you need continued assistance after that, please PM myself or another staff member to have the thread opened. Thank you.
GZ is offline  
Old 01-16-2011, 06:22 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,521
OS: Windows XP Pro & Win. 10 Home



They are all fine as far as I can see.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gavinzach View Post
Hello zhong,

Could you take a flashlight and check all of your USB ports for damage. One damaged port can affect the whole system.
zhong is offline  
Old 01-16-2011, 06:25 PM   #6
GZ
TSF Emeritus
 
GZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25,552
OS: Windows 8 Professional x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

When did this problem begin occurring?

Does it only occur in Windows and when loading Windows?


Well, I just read your other thread... Did this issue begin when you put the new CPU in your notebook?
__________________
Please be advised. If your thread is answered and there is no reply within 30 days the thread will be closed. If you need continued assistance after that, please PM myself or another staff member to have the thread opened. Thank you.
GZ is offline  
Old 01-17-2011, 11:12 AM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,521
OS: Windows XP Pro & Win. 10 Home



Yes I installed new cpu, but it was o.k. for a few already after I installed.

This issue began after I used my TP usb wireless 721N for around 1 week.

Just in Windows XP desktop without plugin usb now re-boots,


So I try to re-install Windows XP from new.

Formating using Windows XP CD disk was o.k.
Until finish Initial install of files in Windows XP folder
The problem is when it re-boot and try to start windows to install the complete Windows., it shuts down just as it starts to install Windows.
I have to keep using Windows XP Disk to boot from it, since it doesn't sucessfully install the initial files in C:\WIndows
It is like a vicious cycle.

Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gavinzach View Post
When did this problem begin occurring?

Does it only occur in Windows and when loading Windows?


Well, I just read your other thread... Did this issue begin when you put the new CPU in your notebook?
zhong is offline  
Old 01-17-2011, 11:18 AM   #8
GZ
TSF Emeritus
 
GZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25,552
OS: Windows 8 Professional x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

Do you try installing Windows with USB attached?
__________________
Please be advised. If your thread is answered and there is no reply within 30 days the thread will be closed. If you need continued assistance after that, please PM myself or another staff member to have the thread opened. Thank you.
GZ is offline  
Old 01-17-2011, 02:26 PM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,521
OS: Windows XP Pro & Win. 10 Home



No I did not.

Am I suppose to do that ?

But after several errors I finally sucessfully installed Windows XP.

I plug in any usb devices in any usb port it will shut down.

Also saving copying files from the internet also shuts the computer down.


Thanks.



Quote:
Originally Posted by gavinzach View Post
Do you try installing Windows with USB attached?
zhong is offline  
Old 01-17-2011, 05:56 PM   #10
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,521
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


What are the specs of your PSU? Take the computer side of the case off and look at the PSU. It may be underpowered or starting to fail.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 01-17-2011, 06:02 PM   #11
GZ
TSF Emeritus
 
GZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25,552
OS: Windows 8 Professional x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

Sorry about that, I spend so much time in Laptop support, I didn't even think to ask you if you were running a Desktop computer! When I first Googled your model number, I saw notebook batteries and such and made the assumption.

This is a desktop PC, right? Spunk.funk has a great idea with checking your PSU...
__________________
Please be advised. If your thread is answered and there is no reply within 30 days the thread will be closed. If you need continued assistance after that, please PM myself or another staff member to have the thread opened. Thank you.
GZ is offline  
Old 01-18-2011, 09:21 AM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,521
OS: Windows XP Pro & Win. 10 Home



I tried a new power supply.

It still switch off using any of usb ports or downloading from the Internet..

Thanks.
zhong is offline  
Old 01-18-2011, 02:30 PM   #13
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,521
OS: Windows XP Pro & Win. 10 Home



I see pci with a question mark in devices.

I need a driver for it which I tried to search in restore CD but it is not there.

What is the name of the file driver should I get for it ?

Thanks.
zhong is offline  
Old 01-18-2011, 03:17 PM   #14
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,521
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Download the Chipset Driver
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 01-18-2011, 04:46 PM   #15
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,521
OS: Windows XP Pro & Win. 10 Home



Are those the files inside Mother BOard zip folder ?

Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
Download the Chipset Driver
zhong is offline  
Old 01-18-2011, 04:56 PM   #16
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,521
OS: Windows XP Pro & Win. 10 Home



So I updated all the drivers for my GT4016 computer.

But still shutoff when I plugin usb with flash drive .

Anything else I can check to solve this problem ?


How do I know if it is motherboard that is definitely the problem ?

I checked with new power supply already.
So it is not the power supply.
Still the same thing.

Thanks.
zhong is offline  
Old 01-19-2011, 07:37 AM   #17
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,521
OS: Windows XP Pro & Win. 10 Home



Do I check the connections cables from the inside too ?

How do I get access to the inside ? They are not visible lookinmg from the inside? The condition of the usb connedion from cable to motherboard ?

All the USB ports looking from outside look fine to me.

Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gavinzach View Post
Hello zhong,

Could you take a flashlight and check all of your USB ports for damage. One damaged port can affect the whole system.
zhong is offline  
Old 01-19-2011, 11:20 AM   #18
GZ
TSF Emeritus
 
GZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25,552
OS: Windows 8 Professional x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

I was referring to the visible part of the USB ports. Make sure none of them look broken or have any foreign material inside them.
__________________
Please be advised. If your thread is answered and there is no reply within 30 days the thread will be closed. If you need continued assistance after that, please PM myself or another staff member to have the thread opened. Thank you.
GZ is offline  
Old 01-19-2011, 01:22 PM   #19
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,521
OS: Windows XP Pro & Win. 10 Home



Everything looks fine in the visible parts of the usb.

Thanks,

Quote:
Originally Posted by gavinzach View Post
I was referring to the visible part of the USB ports. Make sure none of them look broken or have any foreign material inside them.
zhong is offline  
Old 01-19-2011, 04:04 PM   #20
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,521
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Your USB ports on the motherboard have a problem. the easiest thing to do is to buy a PCI USB 2.0 card to solve your problem.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My laptop freezes... Please help me!
I've had this problem for a few month. the screen freezes while able to move the mouse. no way to shutdown except pressing the power button for like 5 seconds or pulling the plug. Here's what I've tried, but failed: 1- virus scans, defragmenting, freeing disk space, checked the temp and fan,...
Kaleidoscope0o BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 20 01-14-2011 04:41 PM
AMD Athlon 64 3700 + Processor inside Gateway 4016
The CPU before was already overheating before. So I changed a new AMD Athlon 64 3700+ CPU Processor inside Gateway 4016. I already put recently Arctic Silver paste, smeared thin layer like a spread on the cpu where it contacts the heat sink. There is no dust inside the computer or...
zhong Motherboards, Bios & CPU 1 01-13-2011 05:17 AM
[SOLVED] Cisco switch configuration
I recently purchased and installed a Cisco SLM224G smart switch. I am trying to log on to the switch to configure it but I canít figure out how to get access. There is a router upstream of the switch. The router is configured for DHCP so I am assuming that it is assigning a private IP address...
Joe Bardy Networking Support 4 01-05-2011 03:06 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts