Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

Formatting my computer with an External Monitor

This is a discussion on Formatting my computer with an External Monitor within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi guys, so my Acer Aspire 5315 series is really really hurt. Screen broken,Cd drive missing. And the registry is


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-25-2011, 04:56 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
OS: XP



Hi guys, so my Acer Aspire 5315 series is really really hurt. Screen broken,Cd drive missing. And the registry is a tad messed up because i used to be able to click on the portion of the screen i can still see and click properties > and switch to external. Now i get an error trying to do that.
What i want to do is re install the OS so i can start fresh, but can it be done with an external monitor and a usb drive?

Main questions :
Where can i download Win XP or Vista or 7 to get it on a USB drive?
Can I do it with an external monitor?
Thank you, any other suggestions such as how to fix the properties error (Rundll32) would be appreciated, thanks.
reaper974 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-25-2011, 06:09 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Coolfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5,246
OS: Windows XP Pro / Windows Vista / Windows 7



As long as the computer is capable of booting from USB - you can install Windows from a USB flash drive. You would need a genuine copy of Windows.

There is a simple program out there that can help you with this..
WinToFlash - Install Windows from usb - Home page

You should be able to hook up an external monitor - the laptop probably has a VGA output.
__________________
I subscribe to all threads I post in. But, if in case I don't or I forget, and I don't post back within 24 hours, please PM me. I will get back to your thread ASAP.
Coolfreak is offline  
Old 04-25-2011, 07:03 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
OS: XP



It does have vga im using it right now to type this in safemode.
I just wanted to know if it would still work as im trying to reformat the computer throughout the whole process
reaper974 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-25-2011, 07:09 PM   #4
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Daifne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,835
OS: Win7 SP1/Ubuntu/OS X Snow Leapord/XP/FreeNas

My System


It should.
Daifne is offline  
Old 04-26-2011, 07:25 AM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Coolfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5,246
OS: Windows XP Pro / Windows Vista / Windows 7



Yep - should still work fine.

Make sure the computer is capable of booting from USB before proceeding with anything, though.
__________________
I subscribe to all threads I post in. But, if in case I don't or I forget, and I don't post back within 24 hours, please PM me. I will get back to your thread ASAP.
Coolfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Random restarts even after formatting
*This has already been a long process, please excuse the length of this post but I want everyone to know what I have and have not tried.* Hey guys I have a Dell Studio XPS 435mt that has been giving me issues for the last 6-7 months. It reboots without warning regardless of what I'm doing,...
whiteonrice Other Hardware Support 12 05-07-2012 04:30 AM
Computer does not seem to recognize Monitor
Hi there, This is my first build that I've done so I've probably done something completely wrong...Anyway, I thought I had finished putting it together and powered it. The fans ran and the led's worked but the monitor's screen just stayed black. I've tried two different monitors: one through...
ADG11 Motherboards, Bios & CPU 16 05-16-2011 04:03 AM
Windows 7 BSOD - Memory management
Been getting BSOD. Sometimes twice a night, sometimes none. This hass been for weeks. Sometimes I get stuck in a reboot loop, sometimes it wants to run Repair, sometimes it wants me to choose safe mode/no safe mode. Pulled out two 1GB sticks of old dell memory yesterday when it was stuck in a...
dj-anakin BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 7 02-21-2011 03:27 PM
Computer isn't sending graphics to monitor
Hello everyone, My computer is not sending graphics to the monitor. I know that it is not the doing of the monitor. I shall let you know that I am not too knowledgeable of computer components, but I do know some basics. After disassembling the pc, a couple of possibilities as to why...
liberation Other Hardware Support 3 02-15-2011 07:13 PM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts