Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

Format using NTFS (full format option) stops at 18%. WHY'S THAT?

This is a discussion on Format using NTFS (full format option) stops at 18%. WHY'S THAT? within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Why does formatting my drive using NTFS (the full format one) stop at 18%? Once I've booted from Windows XP

Closed Thread

Old 10-22-2009, 01:35 PM   #1
Registered Member

Why does formatting my drive using NTFS (the full format one) stop at 18%? Once I've booted from Windows XP Pro SP3 installation disc and choose the full format using NTFS, at 18% it stops. I've been using my hard driv for 6 years but have actually REALLY used it the last two years. The previous 4 years I have been using it for homework (like once in 3 weeks).

However, I partitioned my drive using GParted (main partition 160GBand second partition at 20GB) then attempted full format using NTFS option and the full format stopped at 24%. When the format stops, I mean that the yellow bar stays at 24% and does not move for over an hour. The NTFS format (quick option) is like, 0% then jumps to 20%, then jumps to 100% and starts loading the files and all that normal stuff.

WHY DOES THE FORMAT OF MY DRIVE STOP AT 18%????????????????? please help me, I have had no answers for 2 years. At yahoo answers, what I get is some noobs who answer.

Also I want to note that I have a drive made by Western Digital and I have used their diagnostic tools thing and my raw read error rate is at value of 2 and reallocated sector count is some high number (both of the numbers are in red color, everything else in regular black).