Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

EXE files

This is a discussion on EXE files within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi Guys. Nasty little irritation on XP (SP2). I can't open .EXE files. Updates from Adobe flash, CCleaner, etc, download


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-09-2016, 01:48 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 8
OS: XP Home SP2



Hi Guys.
Nasty little irritation on XP (SP2).
I can't open .EXE files. Updates from Adobe flash, CCleaner, etc, download to desktop but when I try to open or run them, I just get the eggtimer for a few seconds, then nothing. Anyone got a sure-fire, (preferably simple) way of correcting this?
Needless to say, I've run all the scans, (Malwarebytes, ESET, ADW and Housecall) and everything comes up clean.
I suspect a registry corruption.
Any help greatly appreciated.
Thanks.
topdragon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-09-2016, 02:04 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,531
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Try this:
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/555067

Then download the Stand Alone version of Windows XP Sp3: https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/...ce-pack-3.aspx
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 03-09-2016, 02:47 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 8
OS: XP Home SP2



Afraid this didn't work. The Reg entry was already as specified, but I deleted it and re-entered it as instructed. (Including the caveat about Sys Restore/Safe mode).
No change, I'm afraid. Downloaded an update to Adobe Flash but it won't open.
topdragon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-09-2016, 03:11 AM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,531
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


You are more then likely infected. Due to Forum rules, we cannot assist in Virus Removal here. Please click on the link in my signature for Virus/Malware Help do those things in Safe Mode, if you can't do all of it, skip it and go to the next. Post in that section of the forum and not here please.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 03-09-2016, 06:03 AM   #5
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,991
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Don't download to desktop. Allow the downloads to go to their default areas.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 03-11-2016, 06:56 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 8
OS: XP Home SP2



Thanks to all you guys.
However, the solution seems to have been much simpler.
The issue is now resolved (at least, today) in the following way.
I looked at the properties of two .exe files on my desktop (which has been my download destination for years without problems)
that wouldn't open. I discovered they were both BLOCKED. Clicking UNBLOCK allowed both files to run and install correctly.
What I am now curious about is why downloads should suddenly become blocked when they never were before.
I repeat my earlier point that Malwarebytes, ADW, ESET and Housecall have all come up clean with no sign of any infections.
So is this sudden and unexpected blocking a sign of infection or some other glitch somewhere?
topdragon is offline  
Old 03-11-2016, 07:13 AM   #7
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,991
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


What browser were you using?
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 03-11-2016, 07:21 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 8
OS: XP Home SP2



I am using Firefox, version 20.0.1. I know its old but I've not had any problems with it (except its slow). I should also point out that I use the same Firefox version on another XP SP2 computer. That one has not had any problems running EXE files, it is just this one machine. EXE files are not blocked on the other machine.
topdragon is offline  
Old 03-11-2016, 07:51 AM   #9
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,991
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


Are your add-ons the same in both units? Programs like Public Fox can cause your problem.
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 03-11-2016, 01:54 PM   #10
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,531
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


To batch-remove this blocking on already downloaded files, you can use
the free command line tool Streams.exe for this:

https://www.sysinternals.com/ntw2k/source/misc.shtml#str...
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 03-12-2016, 12:54 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 8
OS: XP Home SP2



In answer to Corday, both machines have exactly the same add-ons. I have never heard of Public Fox.
In answer to Spunk.Funk, the file was not found, error 404.
topdragon is offline  
Old 03-12-2016, 03:12 AM   #12
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,531
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


my bad: https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/...rnals/bb897440
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 03-12-2016, 05:50 AM   #13
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 25,991
OS: Windows10. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000, 98SE, ME, Vista & Windows 7

My System


The entire Sysinternals Suite was revised last month and is available as a single download. I'm not sure it applies to Windows XP: https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/...rnals/bb842062
__________________

The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yandex.ru
Hi, I accidentally downloaded myself yandex.ru. I tried to update my sound drivers and then suddenly it was there. My bad, I know. But this yandex is now impossible to get rid of! Yeah, I followed every advice in the internet to disable yandex search bar and so on, but my Firefox is still in...
Keefan Resolved HJT Threads 64 12-11-2015 12:09 PM
Advertising Virus?
Hi, I have some kind of virus that creates text links on all websites I visit. When I hover over the link it shows a pic, and when I click it it send me to some affiliate url. PIC: https://i50.tinypic.com/2r26s8k.jpg Before coming here I tried to removed it myself with: AVG virus scan,...
pietpatat Resolved HJT Threads 48 05-06-2013 04:52 PM
Malware/Adware - Ads placed on web pages
Hello, I seem to have gotten some sore of computer infection. I know so by the fact that most of the web pages I go to are placed with ads inside of them that aren't actually supposed to be a part of them. Very weird. Seems to slowed down loading as well but could just be my mind playing tricks...
ca4224 Resolved HJT Threads 26 11-16-2012 05:00 AM
Problem with windows live movie maker -the system cannot find path specified
Typical, I updated my spybot, spyware blaster and ad-adware. I ran them and since i did i found a few problems. My keyboard switched to US style. I fixed that but when I tried to run windows movie maker i found the problem "the system cannot find the path specified". there may be more...
paul2louise Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 4 05-16-2012 06:45 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts