Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

Entire Ext HDD Switched To Read Only

This is a discussion on Entire Ext HDD Switched To Read Only within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Dell Dimension 9100 XP Pro SP3 All my computer wires were a mess. I disconnected everything, put the wires in


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-11-2016, 04:34 PM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: nc
Posts: 1,092
OS: XP, Vista, Windows 10 Pro, Ubuntu



Dell Dimension 9100
XP Pro SP3

All my computer wires were a mess. I disconnected everything, put the wires in order and reconnected most everything. I have 3 ext HDDs. For now, I have reconnected just one, a WD MyBook 2TB. The whole drive is now read only.

I've spent the whole day trying to get this changed. I have had no luck. My last attempt was using command prompt at admin level, Diskpart and the instructions found here. https://www.petri.com/external-hard-...-only-solution.

I went through the procedure 3 times. No changes have taken effect. I've no idea as to what I'm doing wrong, or what to try next.
likekinds is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-11-2016, 05:40 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,521
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


If you have followed the instructions in the link, and Took Ownership of the drive by right clicking choosing Properties and going to the Security tab, and not using Diskpart, this should have worked for you, unless the file system is damaged and unreadable.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 08-12-2016, 12:09 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: nc
Posts: 1,092
OS: XP, Vista, Windows 10 Pro, Ubuntu



Should I take ownership before I follow the instructions in the link?

There must be something I should do after "going to the Security tab"?

I don't know how to take ownership. Does checking the boxes under Owner constitute taking ownership?

I do not have a single Owner tab. My owner tab is coupled with 'Creator'.

I tried to check the boxes under Creator Owner. When I click 'Apply', the checks disappear.

All the boxes under User are checked. I unchecked them. I still was not able to keep the boxes checked under Creator Owner. I returned the checks to User.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Owner.JPG
Views:	49
Size:	94.2 KB
ID:	289577  
likekinds is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-12-2016, 12:37 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,521
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


If you follow the instructions in the link you provided, or the one in this post, you would press the Advanced button. Go to the Owner tab. Highlight your User Name, or Administrators. Click Apply and OK. Back in the Security window, click the Add button, type in your user name, Press Check Name, select your user name and put a check in Full Control. Take Ownership of file
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 08-12-2016, 06:01 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: nc
Posts: 1,092
OS: XP, Vista, Windows 10 Pro, Ubuntu



While working on this, earlier, I read I should unhide the hidden admin acct. I did. Now, I don't need it visible. Can I re hide it by changing the Dword value from 1 back to zero?
likekinds is offline  
Old 08-12-2016, 06:13 PM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,521
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Windows XP does not Hide the Administrator account, if you are talking about Windows Vista or later, then No, you would open a Command Prompt as Administrator (ie) right click the command prompt icon and Run As Administrator, or type CMD in search box and right click the CMD results and Run As Administrator. then type in
net user administrator /active:no press enter and restart the computer.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 08-12-2016, 06:34 PM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: nc
Posts: 1,092
OS: XP, Vista, Windows 10 Pro, Ubuntu



Windows XP may not hide the Administrator Account, but it is visible now in a way it never was, before. Now, I have to make a choice between Admin acct and User at every startup. Also, every time the computer goes into standby and I click to bring it out, I now have to make a choice between Admin Acct and User. I did not have to make these choices before this issue and would rather not have to make them now.
likekinds is offline  
Old 08-13-2016, 02:48 AM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: nc
Posts: 1,092
OS: XP, Vista, Windows 10 Pro, Ubuntu



I switched the Dword value back to zero. It worked. No more having to make a choice between Administrator and User.
likekinds is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Vertical menu
Hi, I am looking for a good way to create a nice code that will achieve the result as shown in the attached picture. The HTML code I came up with has the following: <p> <b> <span class="links"><img border="0" src="images/white-dot.png" width="14" height="16">Header 1 </span>
Acer2000 Web Design & Development 30 06-03-2013 03:50 PM
Help. hard drive
hello techsupport. im here because my computer is hanging this past few days. sometimes its going blue screen. usually it will hang when im playing games. i dont know whats wrong on my computer. so i wonder my hard drive is failing . so i run a scandisk. here is the result Log Name: ...
chucks21 Hard Drive Support 2 04-01-2013 03:58 PM
Constant BSOD on a HP laptop
Hey First as a warning, English is not my first language so bare with me. Secondly a little story behind it all. This HP laptop is around 16months old. Was in the hands of my girlfriend, who after a few months started complaining about BSODs. I did not really pay much attention goz you know,...
Corwinna BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 17 01-03-2013 06:49 PM
Windows 7 Reporting Hard Disk Failure
Hello all, I've searched around a bit for this problem - I have a failing hard disk due to a SMART status bad report that Windows 7 is reading. Whether it is actually failing or not and how serious the issue is remains to be seen. I have backed up what is most critical to me already and I...
Guevara_CF Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 17 11-10-2012 09:41 PM
Hdd dead or yet ?
PLEASE take some time to read the following. It took me alot of time to write it so I can describe everything that happened in detail so u would not need to know anything more and hopefully will be able to help me :( What happened: Couple of years ago I was carrying my laptop when I...
Metalloid Hard Drive Support 10 01-23-2011 08:28 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts