Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

DVD-R now crash the pc but DVD+R fine!

This is a discussion on DVD-R now crash the pc but DVD+R fine! within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi all, I've had this problem for some months now, and I can't seem to fix it despite my best

Closed Thread

Old 09-11-2012, 11:56 AM   #1
Registered Member

Hi all, I've had this problem for some months now, and I can't seem to fix it despite my best efforts. When I try and write a dvd-r the computer freezes solid, and I have to restart. I've tried different software, a different drive, and changing the ram. I've also reinstalled a hard disk image to where everything was working - all to no avail. By chance I found out this weekend though that it will write to dvd+r disks with no problem (I've never used them before). Oh yes, if I use my video editing software to write my video to dvd-r that appears to be working okay. I hoped somebody somewhere might be able to glean something from the disparity between dvd+r and dvd-r disks- its certainly got me beat. I'm using xp home edition, service pack 3, the drive is an LG supermulti, I have 4 GBs of ram fitted and its an AMD Phenom II 3.4 quad core cpu. Thanks for any help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-11-2012, 02:47 PM   #2
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager

Hi and welcome to TSF what did you use to write to the dvd-r

Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
Old 09-12-2012, 01:48 AM   #3
Registered Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by joeten View Post
Hi and welcome to TSF what did you use to write to the dvd-r

Hi. Thanks. I've been using Nero, version 8 I think. When this problem started I tried different software but got the same result. I also went back to an early hard disk image where I knew Nero had worked fine - but when I loaded it on to the partition, it crashed exactly the same way.