Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

Copied Windows XP disc wont boot.

This is a discussion on Copied Windows XP disc wont boot. within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey Guys, I'm trying to install windows XP on my new hard drive but not with the original setup disc.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-14-2012, 06:27 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 63
OS: Windows XP



Hey Guys, I'm trying to install windows XP on my new hard drive but not with the original setup disc. I have a copied one because the original was scratched and sometimes would not be able to be read. So I copied the contents of the disk onto a different disk and what do you know? The original disk fails to read immediatley afterwards. Anyway, the copied disk is of course unbootable. I set it to number 1 in the boot sequence and everything. The problem is is that it is copied. Now this is the part I need help with. I went some poking around and found a thread where a guy was having this same problem. Someone posted a reply and said this:

You can make a boot CD with himem.sys and smartdrive and boot with that, then put in your XP disk and go to the i386 folder and run Winnt.exe,or, you can make a bootable floppy that has CD ROM support, himem.sys and smartdrive on it and go to the i386 folder of the CD and run Winnt.exe.

What does this mean? What is smartdrive? Does this even work? Where would I get himem.sys?
IamJJJ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-14-2012, 10:18 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 63
OS: Windows XP


Anyone?
IamJJJ is offline  
Old 03-14-2012, 10:51 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 92
OS: Windows 7 sp1, Ubuntu, Mint, Windows Xp, Cent OS



himem is a driver that "saves" or allows dos programs to run through Windows (If i read it right?) Anyways, from the computer your on, download poweriso, its free and you can burn bootable disc's with it. Once that's installed, Removed
the OS you have the key for (ex: WindowsxpServicepack1,""2, etc.) So, If on the side of your computer is says Windows xp Service pack 3, then you want to download an iso with the Windows xp with service pack 3 in it. That being said, you now open the .iso file with poweriso, click burn at the top, insert a cd/dvd to burn it to, change the write speed to the lowest possible setting.....and your done! Install and enjoy good sir!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	helpya.PNG
Views:	65
Size:	20.1 KB
ID:	106520  
Roardawg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-15-2012, 06:59 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 63
OS: Windows XP


Ah perfect! Sounds like it will work! I'll go to my friends house and see if he will lemme burn the cd there. Thanks for your help.
IamJJJ is offline  
Old 03-15-2012, 08:19 AM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,566
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit/Ubuntu 14.04 LTS 64bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Roardawg View Post
himem is a driver that "saves" or allows dos programs to run through Windows (If i read it right?) Anyways, from the computer your on, download poweriso, its free and you can burn bootable disc's with it. Once that's installed, the OS you have the key for (ex: WindowsxpServicepack1,""2, etc.) So, If on the side of your computer is says Windows xp Service pack 3, then you want to download an iso with the Windows xp with service pack 3 in it. That being said, you now open the .iso file with poweriso, click burn at the top, insert a cd/dvd to burn it to, change the write speed to the lowest possible setting.....and your done! Install and enjoy good sir!

Downloading Any version of Windows for free is illegal! Pirated software and advice about them is frawned apon at this forum. Please refer to the forum rules >>> here https://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...ork&page=rules
__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline  
Old 03-15-2012, 08:45 AM   #6
Gone | Not Forgotten
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 14,581
OS: XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 64 bit



This post is closed.

BG
Basementgeek is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dvd drive wont recognize disk
i haven't used my dvd drive in a while, and when i tried to install my games after an ssd upgrade, i found out it's not working. when i put in the disk, it accepts it fine, spins for 3-5 seconds, stops, then starts again a few times and the pc doesn't recognize anything. it ejects fine too. i tried...
Jonathan Smith Removable Media Drives 12 03-18-2012 06:12 PM
Windows XP update caused notwork issue
I'm honestly not sure if this is more a windows XP issue or more a network issue. My apologies in advance if I've mis-estimated. I run XP corporate on a Sony VIAO laptop. This morning I finished downloading and installing yesterday's updates. Upon rebooting I was met with two error messages: ...
sitontheedge Windows XP Support 4 03-15-2012 03:05 PM
Windows 7 stuck on welcome
So I recently over-clocked my CPU but it crashed while running prime 95. So restarted my computer then changed everything to default cause I had some work to get done. I loaded up windows amd typed on my password and it accepts it but after that it just says welcome with the little spinning circle...
darcinator Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 4 03-15-2012 09:34 AM
Network problem caused by Windows Update
I run XP corporate on a Sony VIAO laptop. This morning I finished downloading and installing yesterday's updates. Upon rebooting I was met with two error messages: (1) Windows told me I had no firewall turned on (something I'd long since dealt with). I use ESET and had long since told XP to...
sitontheedge Networking Support 3 03-15-2012 08:19 AM
[SOLVED] Windows 7 wont boot up
So I recently over-clocked my CPU but it crashed while running prime 95. So restarted my computer then changed everything to default cause I had some work to get done. I loaded up windows amd typed on my password and it accepts it but after that it just says welcome with the little spinning circle...
darcinator Motherboards, Bios|UEFI & CPU 4 03-15-2012 08:11 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts