Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

Computer Randomly Reboots

This is a discussion on Computer Randomly Reboots within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My system spec are listed. This is the FX computer ... it keeps rebooting at random ... any ideas what


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-10-2016, 02:48 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
spirittoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 430
OS: Win7 64 Bit Ultimate

My System

Thumbs Down

My system spec are listed. This is the FX computer ... it keeps rebooting at random ... any ideas what the problem is?
spirittoo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-10-2016, 03:57 PM   #2
Microsoft MVP
Microsoft Team Moderator
Articles Team Manager
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 39,479
OS: Windows 10 Professional 64bit

My System


Inside the BIOS what are the 12V, 3.3V, 5V, and VCORE voltages?
Masterchiefxx17 is offline  
Old 08-10-2016, 05:11 PM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,527
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


According to your Specs, you are running Windows 7, but you posted in the Windows XP section of the Forum?
Maybe Chief will kindly move this thread to the Windows 7 section.
To also add to what Chief is saying, if a computer reboots on it's own, it is either overheating or it has a failing PSU.
Shut down the computer and take the side off. Clean out all dust and blow out fans with a can of compressed air. Start the computer and make sure all fans are spinning. Boot into Setup (Bios) go to PC Health. Look at the Temperatures and check the Voltages as Chief said.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-10-2016, 06:16 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
spirittoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 430
OS: Win7 64 Bit Ultimate

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
According to your Specs, you are running Windows 7, but you posted in the Windows XP section of the Forum?
Maybe Chief will kindly move this thread to the Windows 7 section.
To also add to what Chief is saying, if a computer reboots on it's own, it is either overheating or it has a failing PSU.
Shut down the computer and take the side off. Clean out all dust and blow out fans with a can of compressed air. Start the computer and make sure all fans are spinning. Boot into Setup (Bios) go to PC Health. Look at the Temperatures and check the Voltages as Chief said.
You are looking at rig1 with win7... look for rig 2 that is the XP rig right next to it and you will see the specs. The PSU was replace with a new on a week ago. I will check out the bios and report back. Thanks.
spirittoo is offline  
Old 08-11-2016, 03:58 AM   #5
Troubled
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 32
OS: XP SP3 & Win 10



Please don't post on multiple support forums without saying you are doing that. It is unfair to volunteer helpers to be answering you multiple times on different forums.
Do what you have been advised to do already, check the setting via Windows Safe Mode to DISABLE restarts.
Quote:
Originally Posted by spirittoo View Post
You are looking at rig1 with win7... look for rig 2 that is the XP rig right next to it and you will see the specs. The PSU was replace with a new on a week ago. I will check out the bios and report back. Thanks.
RockyAtlanta is offline  
Old 08-11-2016, 08:29 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
spirittoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 430
OS: Win7 64 Bit Ultimate

My System

Pin

Quote:
Originally Posted by RockyAtlanta View Post
Please don't post on multiple support forums without saying you are doing that. It is unfair to volunteer helpers to be answering you multiple times on different forums.
Do what you have been advised to do already, check the setting via Windows Safe Mode to DISABLE restarts.
I am posting on multiple support forums. Okay.Is there some kind of rule that say I can't?
spirittoo is offline  
Old 08-11-2016, 08:49 AM   #7
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
BSOD Kernel Dump Analyst
 
satrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wales U.K.
Posts: 5,682
OS: W7 SP1 Pro x64

My System


Many fora do have specific rules against this, as I'm pretty sure, given our history, you already know.

It's a matter of courtesy, if you must post across multiple fora, please say so and link to the other topics.

Cross posting is considered discourteous. Please read this.
Excelguru Help Site - A message to forum cross posters
__________________
satrow is offline  
Old 08-11-2016, 09:07 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
spirittoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 430
OS: Win7 64 Bit Ultimate

My System

Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterchiefxx17 View Post
Inside the BIOS what are the 12V, 3.3V, 5V, and VCORE voltages?
VCore = 1.39
DDR3 1.5v = 1.512V
+12V = 12.024V
+3.3V = 3.461V
Current System Temp = 45C
Current CPU Temp = 68C
There is nothing in the BIOS 5V.
The case is open.
spirittoo is offline  
Old 08-11-2016, 09:12 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
spirittoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 430
OS: Win7 64 Bit Ultimate

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by satrow View Post
Many fora do have specific rules against this, as I'm pretty sure, given our history, you already know.

It's a matter of courtesy, if you must post across multiple fora, please say so and link to the other topics.

Cross posting is considered discourteous. Please read this.
Excelguru Help Site - A message to forum cross posters
I'm not trying to be discourteous, I am trying to get as much information on the situation as I can in order to solve the problem .. when I do get a solution I always post that solution on each forum to help others with the same problem. If you check my history you will see that is the case. I have done this for years and this is the first time someone has had a problem with it.
spirittoo is offline  
Old 08-11-2016, 09:34 AM   #10
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
BSOD Kernel Dump Analyst
 
satrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wales U.K.
Posts: 5,682
OS: W7 SP1 Pro x64

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by spirittoo View Post
this is the first time someone has had a problem with it.
No, it isn't.
__________________
satrow is offline  
Old 08-11-2016, 10:01 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
spirittoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 430
OS: Win7 64 Bit Ultimate

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by satrow View Post
No, it isn't.
I'm not a liar as you suggest. You won't find anything to indicate I am.
Now someone on another forum thinks it may be a ram problem so I am going to run a test ... I will get back with the results.
spirittoo is offline  
Old 08-11-2016, 10:03 AM   #12
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
BSOD Kernel Dump Analyst
 
satrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wales U.K.
Posts: 5,682
OS: W7 SP1 Pro x64

My System


Which other forum, link, please?
__________________
satrow is offline  
Old 08-11-2016, 12:25 PM   #13
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,527
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Your posted voltages are all good as they are within the margin of error of +.5 or -.5 of the other (ie) +3.3V = 3.461V. If any voltage would be more or less the .5 degrees, then the PSU would be at fault. Your temperatures are also good an within the margins.
If you are running Memory (RAM) test like Memtest, be sure to remove all but one stick of RAM and run the tests on each stick of RAM separately. If you get any errors in the lower pane (Red) that stick is bad and needs to be replaced.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 08-12-2016, 06:05 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
spirittoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 430
OS: Win7 64 Bit Ultimate

My System

Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by satrow View Post
Which other forum, link, please?
https://forums.techguy.org/threads/c...boots.1176073/

Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
Your posted voltages are all good as they are within the margin of error of +.5 or -.5 of the other (ie) +3.3V = 3.461V. If any voltage would be more or less the .5 degrees, then the PSU would be at fault. Your temperatures are also good an within the margins.
If you are running Memory (RAM) test like Memtest, be sure to remove all but one stick of RAM and run the tests on each stick of RAM separately. If you get any errors in the lower pane (Red) that stick is bad and needs to be replaced.
Okay ... I did the test with both sticks and it tested good. I will do the test with each stick and get back with the results. I have a feeling this is something simple, but I can put my finger on it now. Thanks for reading my post.
spirittoo is offline  
Old 08-12-2016, 06:54 AM   #15
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
BSOD Kernel Dump Analyst
 
satrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wales U.K.
Posts: 5,682
OS: W7 SP1 Pro x64

My System


Thanks, so you've also recently replaced the GPU, with the listed Zotac 550Ti? How long before you replaced the PSU?
__________________
satrow is offline  
Old 08-12-2016, 11:02 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
spirittoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 430
OS: Win7 64 Bit Ultimate

My System

Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by satrow View Post
Thanks, so you've also recently replaced the GPU, with the listed Zotac 550Ti? How long before you replaced the PSU?
I got the PSU a couple of weeks ago. But you know what? I'm wondering if Java could be the problem. I had to enable it to find out the latest version of the GPU, and now that I think about it ... that's when the rebooting problem started after Java was enable. It's disable now and so far ...no random rebooting.
spirittoo is offline  
Old 08-12-2016, 11:58 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
spirittoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 430
OS: Win7 64 Bit Ultimate

My System

Arrow

Wellsir ... It looks like so far ... that Java is the problem. I disabled it and when out for a while ...when I got back the computer was still running. I had a feeling it was something simple. I'm going to cautiously mark this as problem solved. Thanks to all of you that help out. I really appreciate it.
spirittoo is offline  
Old 08-12-2016, 12:27 PM   #18
Moderator, Editor, Articles Team
 
Deejay100six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Doncaster, Great Britain
Posts: 11,785
OS: Windows 7 Professional SP1

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by spirittoo View Post
Wellsir ... It looks like so far ... that Java is the problem. I disabled it and when out for a while ...when I got back the computer was still running. I had a feeling it was something simple.
Sounds feasible. Some would say we could and should do without java but, I know what you mean, some sites have scanners which can detect what hardware you're running. Crucial is a perfect example and yeah, you can keep it installed and disabled, only enabling as needed but thats a pita. There has been much speculation but I doubt it will ever be replaced completely.
__________________
Regards, Dave.


Submit New Articles Here

Help us to help you by posting your System Specs
Deejay100six is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Factory Restore your Computer
How to Factory Restore your Computer This tutorial will guide you on how to do a system restore on your Windows computer. Below make sure you read and follow only the tutorial that matches your computer. If an error occurs during the restore process, stop the process and post in the appropriate...
Masterchiefxx17 Windows XP Support 0 03-24-2012 08:11 PM
How to Factory Restore your Computer
How to Factory Restore your Computer This tutorial will guide you on how to do a system restore on your Windows computer. Below make sure you read and follow only the tutorial that matches your computer. If an error occurs during the restore process, stop the process and post in the appropriate...
Masterchiefxx17 Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 0 03-24-2012 08:11 PM
Urgent Help! Computer randomly shutting off
Started happening 3 or 4 days ago where my PC would not recognize my PC screen(after a few hits on the restart button would work) and now it just randomly shuts off. I built this computer so I've taken it apart and checked each part individually but I can't find anything. My initial thought was CPU...
pwrBY Other Hardware Support 1 11-04-2011 03:46 PM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 03:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts