Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

Command Prompt problem

This is a discussion on Command Prompt problem within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I recently downloaded this program from the internet and I found out it was compatible with Windows 97 or


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-28-2005, 08:55 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 57
OS:



Hi,
I recently downloaded this program from the internet and I found out it was compatible with Windows 97 or earlier. i deleted it but now when i tried to run Command Prompt by going to run and then typing cmd it gives me an error message. THE SCREENSHOT OF THE ERROR MESSAGE IS ATTACHED.


Can anyone help me get rid of this.



Thx
Attached Images
File Type: bmp screen.bmp (270.7 KB, 27 views)
sagsd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-28-2005, 09:59 AM   #2
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 12
OS:


https://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=324767

good luck
bazcor is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 10:52 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 12
OS:


Sorry having quickly browsed the link item I sent you I see that it asks you to do exactly what you can't do! (run cmd)

I have attached a copy of autoexec.nt which is just a script file of a couple of lines, you can check it in notepad. Put this into c:\windows\system32\ and see if that fixes it.
Attached Files
File Type: zip AUTOEXEC.zip (830 Bytes, 19 views)
bazcor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-28-2005, 03:47 PM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 57
OS:


bazcor do u mean save the file in c:\windows\sytem32?

If u do, then i cant find a "system32" folder in WINDOWS but i can find a system folder..do i save it in there? awaiting reply.
sagsd is offline  
Old 05-28-2005, 05:41 PM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 41
OS:


you need to put it into the system32 directory, it shouldn't be hidden or anything, but maybe try viewing hidden/system files and see if you can see the system32 folder.

Daniel - YourTechOnline.com technician
yto_daniel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts