Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

command prompt is acting weird after we cleaned the computer

This is a discussion on command prompt is acting weird after we cleaned the computer within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. hey... my command prompt is like showing like symbols and letters... and like near the bottom it will have words..


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-14-2011, 11:40 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Ydna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 19
OS: xp


Exclamation

hey... my command prompt is like showing like symbols and letters... and like near the bottom it will have words.. like if i type in "cmd" the ip stuff dont show up instead a whole page of random things pop up and some are symbol like and no its not the font... also i think i deleted some kind of folder that allows me to remove and add things to the computer... now i cant open certain folders or i cant download anything... help... thnx
Ydna is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-14-2011, 12:17 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Squashman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: 1265 Lombardi Ave.
Posts: 1,645
OS: All of the above



What do you mean by cleaned the computer?
Squashman is offline  
Old 07-14-2011, 04:44 PM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,106
OS: Windows 10 64 bit, Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX 10.11.5

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ydna View Post
if i type in "cmd" the ip stuff dont show up ialso i think i deleted some kind of folder that allows me to remove and add things to the computer
Where are you typing CMD? If you are in the Run box and typing CMD it will load the command prompt and not show the "IP stuff" you would have to type ipconfg in the command prompt to get that. What is the exact words that you see when you type CMD? What folder did you delete that allows you to remove and add things? Add Remove Programs? Go to Start/Run and type appwiz.cpl and press enter. Does Add Remove Programs load?
spunk.funk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-14-2011, 05:54 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Ydna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 19
OS: xp



Quote:
Originally Posted by Squashman View Post
What do you mean by cleaned the computer?
Like i deleted some files that i didnt need anymore to get the pc running better...
Ydna is offline  
Old 07-14-2011, 06:01 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Ydna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 19
OS: xp



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
Where are you typing CMD? If you are in the Run box and typing CMD it will load the command prompt and not show the "IP stuff" you would have to type ipconfg in the command prompt to get that. What is the exact words that you see when you type CMD? What folder did you delete that allows you to remove and add things? Add Remove Programs? Go to Start/Run and type appwiz.cpl and press enter. Does Add Remove Programs load?
Thats wierd... it shows.. up... but wen i click add and remove programs in control panel it wont let me it, says "application not found" and i cant open certain folders.. and i cant download anything... OH and wen i type in ipconfig in the run box all that shows up is a small window and it shows the different icons of which one i can open it with... thats wat is says at the top "open with"... and thats all... and wen i type in for the command prompt like you said.. it shows up a bunch of wierd boxes and symbols and some words... but inbetween each letter of the word it cuts is with a little box... so idk.. i think i deleted a folder while cleaning out the things i didnt need...
Ydna is offline  
Old 07-14-2011, 06:30 PM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,106
OS: Windows 10 64 bit, Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX 10.11.5

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ydna View Post
OH and wen i type in ipconfig in the run box all that shows up is a small window
You cannot type ipconfig in the Run box, this will just give you an error. In the Run box, you would type CMD and press enter. In the command prompt you would type ipconfig or ipconfig /all.
If you feel that you deleted some files that you need, go to Start/Run and type SFC /scannow and press enter. Put the XP CD in and it will replace any missing or corrupted files from the CD.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 07-14-2011, 06:39 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Ydna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 19
OS: xp



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
You cannot type ipconfig in the Run box, this will just give you an error. In the Run box, you would type CMD and press enter. In the command prompt you would type ipconfig or ipconfig /all.
If you feel that you deleted some files that you need, go to Start/Run and type SFC /scannow and press enter. Put the XP CD in and it will replace any missing or corrupted files from the CD.
Sorry none of that works... all that shows up is the small window that says "open with..." so im feeling srewed now... and everytime i open it with notepad or wordpad the symbol things and such like i said pops up...
Ydna is offline  
Old 07-14-2011, 09:40 PM   #8
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,106
OS: Windows 10 64 bit, Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX 10.11.5

My System


Boot off of the XP CD Or download the Recovery Console ISO. Burn it to CD with IMGBurn and get to the Recovery Console. Here type chkdsk /R and press enter. The Check Disk utility will try and fix any file errors.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 07-15-2011, 08:24 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Ydna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 19
OS: xp



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
Boot off of the XP CD Or download the Recovery Console ISO. Burn it to CD with IMGBurn and get to the Recovery Console. Here type chkdsk /R and press enter. The Check Disk utility will try and fix any file errors.
nope wont work... anything typed in the run box now goes to the little window that says "open with".... and i didnt ge a cd with this comupter... i friend lended it to me.. and i am unable to download things... bc i tried downloading mozilla firefox and the whole downloading completed but ther was no mozzilla firefox on the screen nor in any of my folders...
Ydna is offline  
Old 07-15-2011, 02:39 PM   #10
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,106
OS: Windows 10 64 bit, Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX 10.11.5

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
Boot off of the XP CD Or download the Recovery Console ISO. Burn it to CD with IMGBurn and get to the Recovery Console. Here type chkdsk /R and press enter. The Check Disk utility will try and fix any file errors.
None of the steps in this quote ask you to use the Run box and you do not need to have a recovery CD. If you follow the steps in the quote, on a working computer, download the Recovery Console ISO burn it to a CD and boot off of the newly created CD on the troubled computer and run Check Disk. This is also why you do not have an internet connection as per your other post.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 07-16-2011, 01:34 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Ydna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 19
OS: xp



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
None of the steps in this quote ask you to use the Run box and you do not need to have a recovery CD. If you follow the steps in the quote, on a working computer, download the Recovery Console ISO burn it to a CD and boot off of the newly created CD on the troubled computer and run Check Disk. This is also why you do not have an internet connection as per your other post.
So i can download it on my bigger comupter that isnt having problems and download it onto a CD and then put it in the laptop that is having probs... correct?
Ydna is offline  
Old 07-16-2011, 03:38 PM   #12
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,106
OS: Windows 10 64 bit, Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX 10.11.5

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
Download the Recovery Console ISO. Burn it to CD with IMGBurn and get to the Recovery Console. Here type chkdsk /R and press enter. The Check Disk utility will try and fix any file errors.
Yes, follow the steps in the quote. On another internet computer that can burn CD's download the ISO file and burn it to CD then take the CD over to the damaged PC and boot from it, following the steps in the quote, run the command.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 07-17-2011, 01:11 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Ydna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 19
OS: xp



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
Yes, follow the steps in the quote. On another internet computer that can burn CD's download the ISO file and burn it to CD then take the CD over to the damaged PC and boot from it, following the steps in the quote, run the command.
yeh thnks... ima try that
Ydna is offline  
Old 07-17-2011, 02:10 PM   #14
Security Team
Moderator, Analyst
Rangemaster, TSF Academy
 
chemist's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 29,790
OS: XP/Win7/Win10



  • Download EXE File Association Fix and Save it to your Desktop.
  • If necessary, download to USB drive and run it from the drive.
  • Extract the reg file and double-click xp_exe_fix.reg
  • Answer 'Yes' to merge/add it to the registry.
  • Click 'OK'.
  • X out of the window.
------------------------------------------------------
__________________
Our services are free, but you may contribute to the author of ComboFix via PayPal

Proud member of UNITE

Microsoft MVP - Consumer Security 2014, 2015
chemist is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
url redirects plus some other spurious behavior
Was unable to complete an Amazon transaction yesterday -- checkout pages wouldn't load without repeated attempts. Then found that search engine results were being redirected. Tried System Restore to several different known-clean restore points -- all failed. Have also noticed these intermittent...
tooleyweeds Resolved HJT Threads 14 04-13-2011 12:42 PM
Computer slow and acting weird
iNeed help removing a virus. My computer has being acting weird and slow for the past 3 days... and the start tab changes... Please help.. Thnx
Windows7- Inactive Malware Help Topics 2 03-03-2011 04:26 AM
Computer Crashing Issues & Weird Graphics
Hello Sony Vaio VGN-AR71M OS: Win Vista Home Premium 32 Bit Service Pack 2 CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo Processor T8100 Enhanced Intel SpeedStep Technology 2.10GHZ Memory: 4GB/Go DDR2 SRAM Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce 8400M GT GPU
frednorris Video Card Support 9 02-25-2011 11:21 PM
Brother's computer had a rootkit, was reformatted, and now it isn't working properly
I did not know whether to post this Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help or in Windows XP Support. I apologize if this is in the wrong place. This is not a problem with my own computer, but with my brother's. He and his family are staying with us for a while and I guess their computer got a rootkit. They...
Piper Resolved HJT Threads 35 01-31-2011 03:09 PM
Power Supply Information and Selection
:smile: CHOOSING AND UNDERSTANDING A POWER SUPPLY UNIT The power supply unit in today’s modern computer assumes a role probably more critical than any other single component in your system even when compared to the CPU and motherboard. Therefore, there are multiple factors that must...
Tumbleweed36 RAM and Power Supply Support 0 07-09-2006 04:41 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts