Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

check existence of file or folder in batch

This is a discussion on check existence of file or folder in batch within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, I am kind of new to this batch scripting and was wondering how one could check the existence of

Closed Thread

Old 05-20-2005, 05:14 AM   #1

Hello,

I am kind of new to this batch scripting and was wondering how one could check the existence of a file or folder in a batch program. I am using XP.
Any help or suggesstions is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Jerardfjay :-)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-20-2005, 05:29 AM   #2
Superhuman Computer

My System

Hi Jerardfjay and welcome to TSF!

If you're making a dos style batch file, the info you're looking for should be this:

Code:
IF [NOT] EXIST filename command ELSE command
EG:

Code:
IF EXIST hello.txt (
DEL hello.txt
) ELSE (
ECHO hello.txt is missing
)
the 'NOT' is optional, as is the 'ELSE' section

More information can be found by typing HELP IF at the command prompt.
Old 05-20-2005, 07:19 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by ReeKorl
More information can be found by typing HELP IF at the command prompt.
Thank you ReeKorl.

I tried a simple script and it does work. Extending this capability, If I may ask. what if I wanted to check either the directory or file whose value is stored in a variable called src_dir or src_file, how would I accomplish that?

Please advise. Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-20-2005, 08:08 AM   #4
Superhuman Computer

My System

OK, this is slightly more difficult. Variables are passed into a batch file as command line parameters. An example of this would be the following:

Code:
Code for making a 'new' copy batch file - Filename: c:\copier.bat

@ECHO OFF
COPY %1 %2
This would be used as follows:

copier testfile.txt c:\folder