Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

Can't renew IP address

This is a discussion on Can't renew IP address within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I've had a problem for a few weeks now with the Ethernet connection on my computer, and subsequently i now


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-02-2016, 07:26 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 3
OS: xp



I've had a problem for a few weeks now with the Ethernet connection on my computer, and subsequently i now have no internet connection. I am no expert in these things and all i've managed to find out is that my computer cant renew its IP address. When entering it on CMD it comes up with

'An error has occurred whilst renewing your interface local area connection 4; Unable to connect your DHCP server. Request has timed out'

My computer was working fine before without any issue when using the Ethernet so i'm not sure what's caused this.
LuLuLightbulb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-02-2016, 07:57 AM   #2
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator
 
Stancestans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5,117
OS: Windows 10



Hello and welcome to Tech Support Forum!

Reset TCP/IP and Winsock as follows;

Open Command Prompt and run the two command lines below:

netsh int ip reset reset.log

netsh winsock reset


press Enter after each line. Exit Command Prompt and reboot.

We need some more info about your network setup:
Is this a home network or a workplace or school network? Are you connected to a wall socket (ethernet) or are you plugged in directly to a modem/router?
Stancestans is offline  
Old 05-02-2016, 09:25 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 3
OS: xp



Quote:
Originally Posted by Stancestans View Post
Hello and welcome to Tech Support Forum!

Reset TCP/IP and Winsock as follows;

Open Command Prompt and run the two command lines below:

netsh int ip reset reset.log

netsh winsock reset


press Enter after each line. Exit Command Prompt and reboot.

We need some more info about your network setup:
Is this a home network or a workplace or school network? Are you connected to a wall socket (ethernet) or are you plugged in directly to a modem/router?


Hi!

Ok so i tried putting those commands in after reading something about it on another forumbut had no luck, absolutely nothing happened. Tried muliple time and copy and pasted a few times to make sure command was right, restarted anyway incase something had happened and i was just being a tech-dive, but again no luck :/

Its a work computer and the Ethernet is plugged into a socket thing in the wall, not directly into the router. No wireless network to connect to as no one knows the password! The issue happened after a power cut but ive chcked and the hardware and such is no damaged so i think its might be to do with the fact that router switched off.

Thanks so much for your help!
LuLuLightbulb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-02-2016, 09:37 AM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



Lets take a peek at your network environment:

First:

Power Cycle everything . . Turn off the Modem, router and all pc's . . turn on the Modem and wait a few minutes for the lights to stabilize . . then turn on the router, then one pc at a time. See if you connect to the internet.

Then: check your browser's settings, remove any proxy settings if found, here's how


Then:

with the pc connected to the router, Click on Start . . Run . . type CMD

At the > prompt type or copy and paste the following command:

ipconfig/all > 0 & notepad 0

and press enter.

Come back here and Paste the results in a message.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB drive, or a CD-R disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 05-02-2016, 01:19 PM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,521
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Your Router is your DHCP server. So, if your computer isn't able to access the DHCP server, there is an issue with the Router.
Do as Old Rich has said, and power cycle your modem, router (eg) unplug them, wait 15 seconds and plug them back in. And restart your computer.
In the IPconfig log, that rich suggested, it should have an IP Address for the Default Gateway (your router) like 192.168.1.254, if not then the router is not broadcasting DHCP or it has a hardware issue.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 05-03-2016, 04:56 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 3
OS: xp



Hi everyone, thanks so much for taking the time to help me!

Unfortunately, our internet controls the card machines at my workplace :/ so I cant turn of the modem right now without having a word with my boss first as this will have to be done outside shop hours. I will get back to you as soon as i am able to complete the instructions given to me by 'Old Rich' and paste my findings, hopefully this wont take me too long!
LuLuLightbulb is offline  
Old 05-03-2016, 06:04 AM   #7
-sb
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Paris area
Posts: 13
OS: Linux



Known issue :

https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/810606

-sb
-sb is offline  
Old 05-03-2016, 12:43 PM   #8
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,521
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Quote:
our internet controls the card machines at my workplace :/ so I cant turn of the modem right now without having a word with my boss
You didn't mention you were connecting your computer at work, that would have been good to know.
Do you log in to a Domain on a Domain server at work or is it just peer to peer? If a Domain, you would need to contact your IT group to help you. As there may be an issue with your User account on Active Directory.
If peer to peer, there could be Group Policies in effect on your user account not allowing you to log in to internet. What is your security software (eg) Anti-Virus, Firewall etc. There may be an issue with this software blocking the internet. Then there is the matter of Malware that could also be a blocking the internet.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] my internet keep getting disconnecting connecting
Hi.I'm new on this forum.I got problem with my internet connection.It keeps dropping then connecting by itself.I cant download anything because in the middle it just drops.My connection is wireless and is cable.My other housemates who have laptops like me have no problem with connection.I took my...
jumrose123 Networking Support 52 03-21-2014 05:18 PM
Multiple BSODs - Win8 x64 - can't troubleshoot myself
Hi, I'm an engineering student and I'm trying hard to troubleshoot my BSODs problems born with the installation of Windows 8 x64 and/or of a new SSD. I see this forum is full of highly technical answers I liked and also good helpers so I chose to register for your help. Let's follow your...
cmatte BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 20 07-18-2013 07:18 AM
Ubuntu 11.10 issues.
I am a total noob to ubuntu. I have managed to get it all up and running and have installed various programmes. I have installed mixxx and would like to use my hercules dj console mp3 with it. I have downloaded the drivers and I think I have installed them ok. I am getting several issues though:...
snypadub Linux Support 3 11-15-2011 01:57 PM
[SOLVED] network connections list empty
Hello, I was on xp forum for a while because of a bad virus problem. Lucky enough, with some help I got my .exe fixed so I can now open most of the programs. Im not sure how to describe this, but I had Windows antivirus pro in the computer and I think I've removed it but it caused multiple issues....
silvijamck Resolved HJT Threads 62 07-06-2011 01:04 PM
can't connect to web wireless win xp pro
here is my log. i installed a fresh xp pro got all updates and drivers as far as i know and all settings are correct. i'm currently sharing a connection with a laptop via local area connect but i still can't get on wifi on this computer.service tag is cmbq721 dell optiplex please help thanks ...
slaydoc Windows XP Support 5 03-20-2011 08:50 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts