Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

Can't renew IP address

This is a discussion on Can't renew IP address within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I've had a problem for a few weeks now with the Ethernet connection on my computer, and subsequently i now

Closed Thread

Old 05-02-2016, 07:26 AM   #1
Registered Member

I've had a problem for a few weeks now with the Ethernet connection on my computer, and subsequently i now have no internet connection. I am no expert in these things and all i've managed to find out is that my computer cant renew its IP address. When entering it on CMD it comes up with

'An error has occurred whilst renewing your interface local area connection 4; Unable to connect your DHCP server. Request has timed out'

My computer was working fine before without any issue when using the Ethernet so i'm not sure what's caused this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-02-2016, 07:57 AM   #2
Moderator TSF
Hardware Team Moderator

Hello and welcome to Tech Support Forum!

Reset TCP/IP and Winsock as follows;

Open Command Prompt and run the two command lines below:

netsh int ip reset reset.log

netsh winsock reset

press Enter after each line. Exit Command Prompt and reboot.

We need some more info about your network setup:
Is this a home network or a workplace or school network? Are you connected to a wall socket (ethernet) or are you plugged in directly to a modem/router?
Old 05-02-2016, 09:25 AM   #3
Registered Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stancestans View Post
Hello and welcome to Tech Support Forum!

Reset TCP/IP and Winsock as follows;

Open Command Prompt and run the two command lines below:

netsh int ip reset reset.log

netsh winsock reset

press Enter after each line. Exit Command Prompt and reboot.

We need some more info about your network setup: