Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

Can't open region and language options

This is a discussion on Can't open region and language options within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Could anyone figure out this problem. My pc won't let me open my region and language options in the control


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-19-2009, 10:20 PM   #1
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
OS:



Could anyone figure out this problem. My pc won't let me open my region and language options in the control panel. I tried left-clicking it (my mouse is set for left hand) and clicking open and it still won't do anything. The dskchk didn't find anything wrong and I tried finding and deleting a registry thing since I think my pc has a domain, but all i get is a error message saying it can't find it. Can anyone figure out this problem and explain it so I can easily understand. I'm a noob when it comes to anything computer related.
KonaKitsune is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-20-2009, 03:42 AM   #2
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,439
OS:



I doubt it'll work, but you can try running it manually.
Click start, run, then type intl.cpl
blah789 is offline  
Old 05-20-2009, 10:07 PM   #3
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
OS:



It's no good. Still nothing.
KonaKitsune is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-22-2009, 12:34 PM   #4
Team Manager - Networking
Moderator - Hardware
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 19,739
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Then the file is likely missing, corrupt, or not properly registered.

You could try restoring the file: https://support.microsoft.com/kb/86023
JimE is offline  
Old 05-22-2009, 11:25 PM   #5
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
OS:



Uhhhh... Could you kind of dumb out the directions for me please? All I understood was something about a cd and directory files(I don't have any idea what a directory file is).
KonaKitsune is offline  
Old 05-23-2009, 05:10 AM   #6
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,439
OS:



Well the directions he pasted are for Windows 3.1. I'm not even sure if the problem is a missing intl.cpl. Quick way to check: do a search in the windows folder (include system folders) for it. If it is indeed missing, get back here and I'll give manual steps to restore it.
blah789 is offline  
Old 05-25-2009, 06:52 PM   #7
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
OS:



I'm really sorry but I have no idea where the windows folder stuff is and where to look for intl.cpl. Could you help me with that -.-;
KonaKitsune is offline  
Old 05-26-2009, 01:09 AM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
Riskyone101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 4,586
OS: XP Pro SP3, MCE 2005 sp3, Vista Ultimate SP2, Windows 7 Ultimate

My System


Hello and Welcome to TSF,

Try a system restore.
Riskyone101 is offline  
Old 05-26-2009, 04:17 AM   #9
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,439
OS:



Click Start, then search. All files and folders. Look in C: Click on more advanced options. Check system folders and hidden files and folders. In the search box type intl.cpl then click search.
blah789 is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 06:09 PM   #10
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
OS:



My computer says it can't find intl.cpl
KonaKitsune is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 06:33 PM   #11
Troubled
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,854
OS:



Do a System Restore (Start/All Programs/Acceories/System Tools/System Restore).
If that doesn't work then go to Start/Run and type CMD. At the command prompt type sfc/ scannow. Put your Windows CD in and it will replace any missing Windows files.
deleted010511 is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 05:59 AM   #12
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,439
OS:



Before you do either of the ones above, try this (it's pretty quick and might just work).
Insert your Windows XP CD into the drive. Then open a command prompt window (start, (all) programs, accessories, command prompt). Then type this:
expand X:\I386\INTL.CP_ C:\WINDOWS\system32\intl.cpl
Where you replace X with the letter of your CD-ROM drive.
If it works, you should see a message telling you how much it expanded by.
This may or may not restore your regional and language options, depending on whether anything else is broken. If it still doesn't work try above poster's suggestions.
blah789 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts