Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

can't move files from hard disc to external drive

This is a discussion on can't move files from hard disc to external drive within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have been moving some DVD's (iso and avi files) from my hard drive (C) to an external hard drive


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-01-2009, 03:47 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
WaxhawRon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Santa Monica,CA
Posts: 121
OS: Windows 10



I have been moving some DVD's (iso and avi files) from my hard drive (C) to an external hard drive (I). At this point I have 45.8 GB of free space on my Hard Drive (C) and I have 62.1 GB of free space on my external hard drive (I).

Every time I try to cut a file from (C) and paste it to (I), I get a message: "cannot copy_____: there is not enough free disc space. Delete one or more files to free disk space and then try again." Generally each of these files I want to move is about 4.4GB. There would appear to be ample space on both the sending and receiving drive to handle 4.4 GB. But what do I know.

I have done disk cleanup, and even used Revo Uninstaller to clean out all temporary files, cookies, Remnants, and my recycle bin.

What do I need to do to cut and paste (or otherwise transfer) the files from (C) to (I)?

Thank you in advance. TSF people have always been able to help me on a timely basis.
WaxhawRon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-03-2009, 11:11 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5,246
OS: Windows XP Pro / Windows Vista / Windows 7



Hi Ron!

Try a smaller file - just to see if that works. Try a text document.
Coolfreak is offline  
Old 09-03-2009, 11:39 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
WaxhawRon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Santa Monica,CA
Posts: 121
OS: Windows 10



Thanks Coolfreak. Smaller files can be cut and pasted with no problem, up to just a bit short of 1GB. Anything larger and I have this problem. I can always just use the DVD's themselves and copy them to the external hard drive, but why can't I cut and paste them from my C drive since there is plenty of available space?

Go USC Trojans!
WaxhawRon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-03-2009, 11:50 AM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5,246
OS: Windows XP Pro / Windows Vista / Windows 7



I'm sure you'll get the same result - but just for verification, try copying and pasting instead of cut and paste. Also try dragging and dropping.
Coolfreak is offline  
Old 09-03-2009, 12:09 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 19
OS: XP Home



Yep been there. Your external drive is most likely formatted FAT32 with a 4.0 gig file limit. (Had this with a laptop.) Check drive properties. I forget how I switched it to NTFS but it was easy.
MissE is offline  
Old 09-03-2009, 12:50 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
WaxhawRon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Santa Monica,CA
Posts: 121
OS: Windows 10



I've tried cut/paste, copy/paste, drag/drop. No success. I did copy a 4.4GB iso file from a DVD in my D drive

On MissE's suggestion I checked. My external drive is formatted FAT32. I don't know how to see what the file limit is.

1. Is it safe to everything stored on my external drive to change it from FAT32 to NTFS?
2. If it is safe, how do I do it?
WaxhawRon is offline  
Old 09-03-2009, 01:19 PM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5,246
OS: Windows XP Pro / Windows Vista / Windows 7



I originally thought that - but you mentioned you were having problems with files > 1GB, but still < 4GB.

Anyways - this very well might solve the issue. Essentially, you should not lose any of your data - but do you really want to take that risk? I would back up anything that's important.

Go Start > Run > Type in cmd > Press Enter.

In the command prompt window, type convert I: /fs:ntfs

Good luck,

-Coolfreak
Coolfreak is offline  
Old 09-03-2009, 01:31 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
WaxhawRon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Santa Monica,CA
Posts: 121
OS: Windows 10



Thank you very much. Once again, TSF rides to the rescue.

Please mark this problem "resolved".
WaxhawRon is offline  
Old 09-03-2009, 01:47 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
WaxhawRon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Santa Monica,CA
Posts: 121
OS: Windows 10



WAIT A MINUTE PLEASE before marking this as "solved". Where do I find the volume label for the external drive?
WaxhawRon is offline  
Old 09-03-2009, 01:50 PM   #10
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 90
OS:



Should be listed in the drives list in My Computer, or disk management.
Ackdam is offline  
Old 09-03-2009, 02:48 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
WaxhawRon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Santa Monica,CA
Posts: 121
OS: Windows 10



I must be slow, but I don't see it when I go to the drive in My Computer.
WaxhawRon is offline  
Old 09-03-2009, 06:55 PM   #12
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5,246
OS: Windows XP Pro / Windows Vista / Windows 7



Right click the drive > Properties. If I remember correctly, it's under the general tab and it should be somewhere near the top.
Coolfreak is offline  
Old 09-03-2009, 07:46 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
WaxhawRon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Santa Monica,CA
Posts: 121
OS: Windows 10



Found it! Right click on the drive, click on format--do not do anything except read--and it states the current volume information.

Format is now coverted, ran chkdsk /f at the computer's suggestion, and I can now transfer the big iso files to my external drive.

Thank you very much, and this thread is now SOLVED.
WaxhawRon is offline  
Old 09-03-2009, 07:50 PM   #14
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5,246
OS: Windows XP Pro / Windows Vista / Windows 7



You can actually mark this thread as Solved by clicking Thread Tools near the top right of this thread.

Glad to hear everything is sorted!

-Coolfreak
Coolfreak is offline  
Old 09-04-2009, 07:43 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 19
OS: XP Home



CoolFreak...sorry didn't mean to jump in but I just had to do the same thing because I was recording HDTV to disk and it would always stop at about 4gig with the FAT32 ext. HD drive....
MissE is offline  
Old 09-04-2009, 11:25 AM   #16
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5,246
OS: Windows XP Pro / Windows Vista / Windows 7



No need to apologize! Thank you for jumping in! I recommend any user with advice to post.
Coolfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts