Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

Can't connect to DHCP server

This is a discussion on Can't connect to DHCP server within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Modem goes to wireless g broadband router wrt54g. Then from there cable goes to desktop. I'm currently on a laptop


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-04-2009, 10:02 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 60
OS: Vista



Modem goes to wireless g broadband router wrt54g. Then from there cable goes to desktop. I'm currently on a laptop connected to the wireless router. I've tried connecting directly from modem on the desktop and still no connection. Tried winsock and lsp fix, installing new driver, even disabled mcafee.Also tried new cable.Tried releasing and renewing. New driver or uninstalling network card did not work. Any other ideas?
srhfricke is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-04-2009, 10:08 AM   #2
Guest
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 33
OS:



Hold the windows key and then press "r". Type "cmd" enter, then type "ipconfig /all". what does that say?
EntropyEagle is offline  
Old 03-05-2009, 09:42 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 60
OS: Vista



Sorry guess I should of put that... always seems I forget something LOL

Host name:******
Primary Dns Suffix:
Node Type:Unknown
IP Routing Enabled:No
WINS Proxy Enabled:No
Ethernet adapter Local area connection 2:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix:
Description: Intel(r) PRO/1000 PL Network Connection
Physical Address:00-12....
DHCP enabled:yes
Autoconfiguration enabled :yes
I.P. Address: 0.0.0.0
Subnet Mask: 0.0.0.0
Default Gateway:
DHCP Server:255.255.255.255

trying ipconfig /renew
Windows IP Configuration

An error occurred while renewing interface Local Area Connection2: unable to contact your dhcp server, Request has timed out.

Thanks again!
srhfricke is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-05-2009, 11:21 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 46
OS: windows vista



have you tried issuing a static ip address?
torpedo91 is offline  
Old 03-05-2009, 11:35 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 60
OS: Vista



Tried it just now. No avail. Thanks though
srhfricke is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts