Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

cannot install SP2

This is a discussion on cannot install SP2 within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Have older Dell 8300 with winxp. Reinstalled operating system using orignal discs that came with pc. I have SP2 &


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-16-2016, 11:55 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NorthEast
Posts: 53
OS: winXP Home SP2



Have older Dell 8300 with winxp. Reinstalled operating system using orignal discs that came with pc. I have SP2 & 3 on separate discs. When i try to install sp2 get failure message cryptographic services are stopped, make sure service is running. when i check the service it does not give me the option to start,all buttons are grayed out . start type says automatic. any ideas ? Thanks
dkan33 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-16-2016, 12:19 PM   #2
Moderator, Editor, Articles Team
 
Deejay100six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Doncaster, Great Britain
Posts: 11,785
OS: Windows 7 Professional SP1

My System


Hi,

Try this; How to Reset Local Security Policy Settings to Default in Windows XP and Vista

Let us know if it works.
__________________
Regards, Dave.


Submit New Articles Here

Help us to help you by posting your System Specs
Deejay100six is offline  
Old 07-17-2016, 05:58 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NorthEast
Posts: 53
OS: winXP Home SP2



That did not help,still same problem.
dkan33 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-17-2016, 12:49 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,527
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Try this: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/822798
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 07-21-2016, 06:06 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NorthEast
Posts: 53
OS: winXP Home SP2



so far nothing has worked , I am going to scrap this old pc. Thanks for the help
dkan33 is offline  
Old 07-23-2016, 08:31 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 113
OS: Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1



Hello there .o/

Well that would be just sad to scrap it if it's still in working condition :/
How about trying to install SP1a then SP3 (unless for some reason you really need to be running SP2 specifically)?
Or even giving a try to ReactOS?
Lachdanan is offline  
Old 07-23-2016, 09:43 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 113
OS: Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1



Looks like it's too late to edit my previous message, but you may also try slipstreaming the service pack into an new ISO which you'd use to reinstall the OS, with the SP natively integrated.
Lachdanan is offline  
Old 07-23-2016, 01:07 PM   #8
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,527
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Slipstream SP 3 into your XP Disc with nLIte: Slipstream Service Pack 3 into Your Windows XP Installation CD
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 07-27-2016, 08:42 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NorthEast
Posts: 53
OS: winXP Home SP2



decided not to scrap at this time, really like win XP . i will try the above suggestions and see what happens.
dkan33 is offline  
Old 07-28-2016, 02:48 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 13
OS: Windows 10



Yeah man SP2 was crap anyway - just install fresh with SP3 and you're good to go. Also, don't use downloaded copies of XP...some versions created by users have missing components because they don't use them. Cheers.
jayarelawler is offline  
Old 07-30-2016, 06:55 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NorthEast
Posts: 53
OS: winXP Home SP2



Thought i needed sp2 before i could install sp3. I was able to install sp3 with no problems. i was also having problems with video card and was able to find a replacement geforce fx5200 agp card and now things are working great ! I still want to try that slipstreaming sp3 ! can i create that disk for xp on a win10 laptop ?
dkan33 is offline  
Old 07-30-2016, 01:13 PM   #12
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,527
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Yes you can create an XP Slipstream disc on Windows 10. Follow the instructions in this link under Getting Started: Slipstream Service Pack 3 into Your Windows XP Installation CD
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 07-31-2016, 07:11 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NorthEast
Posts: 53
OS: winXP Home SP2



Thank you for all the help !!!! the ole pc is back stronger than ever !!!! I am going to give slipstreaming sp3 a try
dkan33 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Updates often 'Fail'
Middle of last month the following would not update & after several days of this - I Hid the files. KB3003057, KB2993958, KB3002885, KB3003743 So it kept trying to upgrade. Update began 12/10 & each day laptop tried to install all & they all failed: KB3013126, KB3014406 (but today12/15 I...
bmsbms29 Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 123 04-30-2015 07:08 PM
[SOLVED] Help Plz 'Please Set Registry Key'
Please set registry key HKLM\Software\Microsoft\.NETframework\Installroot to point to the .NET Framework installation Please help me I have microsoft .net framework 4 installed but not 3.5 because i get this error Video - TinyPic - Free Image Hosting, Photo Sharing & Video Hosting
toXiiC Windows 7 , Windows Vista Support 14 10-27-2013 12:20 PM
How to Install, Re-Install and Remove Grub from the MBR
This guide will cover both Grub Legacy and Grub 2 If I refer to grub (then this means both grub legacy and grub2) otherwise I will implicity refer to either grub2 or grub-legacy. Linux Bootloaders When you install your linux distribution you will be asked if you want to install a bootloader. ...
hal8000 Linux Support 1 10-08-2012 12:13 PM
Unbelievable SLOW install of Win XP Pro on very old laptop (12 hours and counting ...
hi, on my very old laptop that i kept for compatibility reasons (to be able to run some old dos progs and games and win3 to win ME stuff) i am just trying to install win xp pro. the laptop has a Pentium I 233MMX and 128 MB Ram. the notebook model is the Mitac 5026. now i know xp...
7stone Windows XP Support 5 04-09-2011 02:14 AM
Vista to XP Downgrade Compaq/ HP F700/G6000/DV6900/DV6700/DVx7xx/DV9800 Series Laptop
GUIDELINES Please read the following:. I have compiled a list of drivers for the Compaq Presario/HP F700/G6000,DV6900/DV6700/x7xx and DV9800 series laptops with an AMD Processor ONLY. These drivers have been used "Successfully" to downgrade these laptops from Vista to XP. I must warn you....
BCCOMP Laptop Support 3 11-04-2008 07:58 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts