Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

Cannot get past loading your personal settings

This is a discussion on Cannot get past loading your personal settings within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, After logging on the pc just hangs and looks like its loading but doesn't. I can access the account


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-02-2007, 10:44 AM   #1
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
OS:



Hi,

After logging on the pc just hangs and looks like its loading but doesn't.
I can access the account in Safe Mode and back up work without a problem.

Previous to this problem starting I removed Mac Afee and installed Norton Anti Virus and then ran a scan. This found 2 viruses and then removed them. I then also installed a Orange 3G card and pc was working fine.

I will remove the Orange software and try again? Any suggestions please?

Thanks Sallie
sallie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-02-2007, 11:07 AM   #2
Happy to support TSF!
 
nickster_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 7,263
OS: XP Pro SP3, Windows 7 Ultimate (x64), Ubuntu v8.04

My System


Hi Sallie, welcome to TSF..

could you please provide the specs of your machine?
nickster_uk is offline  
Old 10-02-2007, 11:20 AM   #3
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2
OS:



It is running XP
Pentium processor 1.60GHz
512 of Ram
sallie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-22-2008, 03:58 PM   #4
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
OS:



Exactly the same problem with mine. Except I uninstalled norton and installed avast and at the same time updated java. I restarted the computer and it run a scan in boot-up. It found a trojan virus but I chose not to delete it because I thought it may be a valuable file to my system. I run the computer and it wouldn't log on, so I run it in safe mode and deleted the virus, I continued to start up the computer and it worked but I tried it the next morning and it messed up. It wouldnt let ne log on, I've been trying ever since because I'm really desperate and i need to have coursework in by next Friday.

My system specs (the important stuff)

Pentium 4 3.00ghz
Windows XP SP2
1gb ram

Please reply ASAP, thanks!
gotmaxpower is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 03:26 PM   #5
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
OS:



BUMP.

This is really important! Ive tried asking other people but no-one knows what to do.

gotmaxpower is offline  
Old 04-23-2008, 03:46 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Dwarflord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 503
OS: Ubuntu 18.04 LTS

My System


Create a new user account and transfer your data over from the old one , quick fix , not the best one but will work.

Login as admin safe mode and create a new from there
Dwarflord is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts