Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

BSOD when attempting to install XP

This is a discussion on BSOD when attempting to install XP within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello. I have a used Windows 7 PC that I wish to wipe completely and install Windows XP. This PC


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-20-2016, 09:07 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
MentalParadox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Brasschaat, Belgium.
Posts: 131
OS: Windows 10 Home, 64bit


Mistake

Hello. I have a used Windows 7 PC that I wish to wipe completely and install Windows XP. This PC will NOT be connected to the internet, so viruses are not a concern. Now here's the problem.

I reboot the PC, with the XP install disc (100% legit) in the tray. I press a button when prompted to boot from disc. It starts doing stuff that is beyond my technical knowledge to comprehend. Then after a while - it BSOD's.

The BSOD is a "STOP: 0X0000007B (0xF78d2524,0XC0000034,0X00000000, 0X00000000)", Windows closed to prevent further damage bla bla bla...

It does that every time. The disc is not damaged. Neither is the PC, as it ran fine on 7 before this attempt. I read somewhere the BIOS can be to blame, as it can have a virus scanner or something that prevents the action from completing? How do I find this BIOS thing (feel free to laugh, I know I'm clueless) and how do I turn off this setting (IF that is the one to blame)?

Thanks!
MentalParadox is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-20-2016, 01:49 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,521
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


This not a virus, but it may be because of a Bad HDD or Bad RAM.
First What is the Make and Model # of your computer?
Restart the computer and boot into Setup (Bios) look for Hard Drive Mode or SATA. If the mode is set to AHCI, using your Enter and arrow key, change it to IDE or Legacy. Look to see that on the Main page the HDD is listed. Save and Exit.
Remove all but one stick of RAM. On another computer download the ISO image for Memtest burn the image file to CD with IMGBurn both available in my signature. Or burn it to a USB Flash drive with their Auto Installer for USB. Boot off of the newly created media and run the tests on each stick of RAM separately for at least 7 passes each. If you get any errors in the lower pane (Red) that stick is bad and needs to be replaced. If the RAM tests fine and the HDD mode is set to IDE, and it still BSOD's then download the ISO image for Seatools and burn it to CD using IMGBurn Or to USB flash with SeaFlash, all in signature. Then boot off of the newly created media and run the Short and Long Diagnostic tests on the HDD. If either test fails, that HDD needs to be replaced.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 08-20-2016, 02:13 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Big Prairie Mi.
Posts: 1,551
OS: win7-64, BSD and no more 10

My System


XP doesn't like sata, as mentioned ensure that the drive/controller type is set as IDE, if still doesn't work then you need get an XP sata driver on a floppy, then select 'install driver' during install. If you don't have a floppy, you'll need to slipstream sata drivers into the XP install media.
Search for 'installing XP on sata without floppy' should come up with a few results.

Started searching, but I'm on satellite, and having bad weather so internet isn't cooperative.
kendallt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-20-2016, 02:22 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
MentalParadox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Brasschaat, Belgium.
Posts: 131
OS: Windows 10 Home, 64bit



My HDD (hard drive, right?) should alright. I've been using this computer for years and it's always worked flawlessly until a few hours ago (still does, if I boot Windows 7).

I did recently have to remove one of the RAM sticks because it was physically damaged. I have three working sticks left, 12GB in total. If nothing else works, I'll just trash the whole computer. This is a last resort anyway.

Make and model of computer... uh... It's a HP, but it was fully assembled when I bought it. No idea what model it is. This is years ago.

Okay - I'm in a menu... "Please select boot device". The options:
UEFI Boot Sources
Legacy Boot Sources
...ATAPI CD/DVD Drive
......SATA1
...Hard Drive
......SATA0
...Network Controller (Realtek PXE B06 D00)
MentalParadox is offline  
Old 08-20-2016, 02:25 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
MentalParadox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Brasschaat, Belgium.
Posts: 131
OS: Windows 10 Home, 64bit



But, to summarize your post - something MUST be physically broken, right? Because if something is broken, regardless of what it is, I'm trashing the computer. I'm not spending money on an old PC I was planning on getting rid of anyway =)

EDIT: I tried booting with the "Hard Drive: SATA0" option. It booted Windows 7 fine. Then I tried rebooting from disc again. This time, the process got much, much further than last time - but ultimately STILL bluescreened.
MentalParadox is offline  
Old 08-20-2016, 02:27 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Big Prairie Mi.
Posts: 1,551
OS: win7-64, BSD and no more 10

My System


question remains is the drive sata or IDE?
kendallt is offline  
Old 08-20-2016, 02:35 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
MentalParadox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Brasschaat, Belgium.
Posts: 131
OS: Windows 10 Home, 64bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by kendallt View Post
question remains is the drive sata or IDE?
No idea...

I did find this in "system information" in the BIOS:

Product name: H8-1050e

(RAM) Memory size: 12288MB DDR3/1333MHz/Dual Channel
Channel A: XMM1 0MB / XMM2 4096MB (I think XMM1 is the stick I removed)
Channel B: XMM3 4096MB / XMM4 4096MB
MentalParadox is offline  
Old 08-20-2016, 02:36 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
MentalParadox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Brasschaat, Belgium.
Posts: 131
OS: Windows 10 Home, 64bit



Ah! "Device Configuration" says:
Hard Disk
SATA0 2.0TB, ST2000DM001-9YN164
MentalParadox is offline  
Old 08-20-2016, 02:42 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
MentalParadox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Brasschaat, Belgium.
Posts: 131
OS: Windows 10 Home, 64bit



I found an option under "storage options".

SATA emulation. It was set to AHCI, I changed it to IDE.
MentalParadox is offline  
Old 08-20-2016, 02:43 PM   #10
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,521
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


If this has UEFI Bios, this is not that old of a computer. Maybe one or two years old at best
It lists the HDD as as SATA drive 0, so this is a SATA HDD. This computer is made to run later versions of Windows not XP, but we will try and make it work
Boot into Setup (Bios) go to the Security tab, look for Secure Boot, or Safe Boot, Disable this or change it to Setup Mode.
If it is set to UEFI Bios, change it to Legacy Boot sources,move SATA CDDVD drive 1 to First Boot Device. In Integrated Peripherals or Hard Drive look for Hard Drive Mode and if AHCI, change it to IDE or Legacy. Save and Exit.
Or leave all of these settings in tact and you can create a Bootable UEFI Windows install USB Flash drive., Create an ISO image of your Windows disc using IMGBurn and then burn the image to Flash Drive with Rufus, both available in my signature. How To Make UEFI Bootable USB Flash Drive to Install Windows 8 | Next of Windows
If this still fails, remove all but one stick of RAM and try that, if that works, keep adding one stick until the computer BSOD's, then run Memtest on that stick and see if it is bad.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 08-20-2016, 02:53 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
MentalParadox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Brasschaat, Belgium.
Posts: 131
OS: Windows 10 Home, 64bit



The computer was purchased in January 2012.

I'm sorry to go off-track again - but here's something new. I was rebooting the PC again, and decided to have another go at XP (now that I've set SATA emulation to IDE).

And... it works! No more BSOD. I'm in the Windows XP Home Edition Setup, and I'm being asked to press Enter to install, R to repair, or F3 to cancel.

BUT!

None of my keyboard buttons work. It's as if my keyboard is simply not working, or the screen is frozen. I don't know which. I've indeed found hits on Google about people claiming the XP setup disables their keyboards.
MentalParadox is offline  
Old 08-20-2016, 02:59 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
MentalParadox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Brasschaat, Belgium.
Posts: 131
OS: Windows 10 Home, 64bit



I found this solution on the web, not sure if legit: "I had the same problem with my USB keyboard. I disabled USB Legacy support and was able to use my USB keyboard."

And:

"In your BIOS (on start up, press the F1, F2 or DEL button on your keyboard), go to the USB section and make sure that the "Legacy" is marked "enable", and then "Save and Exit".
MentalParadox is offline  
Old 08-21-2016, 03:08 AM   #13
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,521
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Those are conflicting statements, but you should Enable Legacy USB in the Bios.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 08-21-2016, 08:50 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
MentalParadox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Brasschaat, Belgium.
Posts: 131
OS: Windows 10 Home, 64bit



The problem is that this USB legacy option is nowhere to be seen in the BIOS.

This is what I got:

Continue Startup
System Info
Change Language
-----
Diagnostics
Boot Menu
Computer Setup
System Recovery
Network Boot
Utilities
Run UEFI Application

In Boot Menu, I get the options I listed in the earlier post.
In Computer Setup, I get this:

Storage
...Device configuration (only options HDD and Cd-ROM, nothing can be changed)
...Storage Options (SATA Emulation, currently set to IDE)
...DPS Self-test
...Boot Order

Security
...Device Security (everything is available, Audio, Network Controller, SATA)
...USB Security (I figured it had to be this, but everything is set to "Enable" - I see no Legacy option anywhere)
...Slot Security
...Network Boot
...System ID's

And then the Power and Advances tabs. I found nothing about the USB slots and Legacy settings.
MentalParadox is offline  
Old 08-21-2016, 12:58 PM   #15
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,521
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


In the Bios, you may have a setting for Advanced or Integrated Peripherals, that is where the USB option should be.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 08-21-2016, 01:52 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
MentalParadox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Brasschaat, Belgium.
Posts: 131
OS: Windows 10 Home, 64bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by spunk.funk View Post
In the Bios, you may have a setting for Advanced or Integrated Peripherals, that is where the USB option should be.
Sadly, the only options I have are all listed in my previous post. There no such thing as "Advanced or Integrated Peripherals", unfortunately =(
MentalParadox is offline  
Old 08-21-2016, 02:04 PM   #17
Moderator, Editor, Articles Team
 
Deejay100six's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Doncaster, Great Britain
Posts: 11,785
OS: Windows 7 Professional SP1

My System


I may be way off track here but I've been thinking since early in this thread that, because you previously had Windows 7 on this drive, maybe it should be wiped prior to formatting.

If I'm wrong, what do you have to lose but a little more of your time.

Dban or KillDisk would do the job.
__________________
Regards, Dave.


Submit New Articles Here

Help us to help you by posting your System Specs
Deejay100six is offline  
Old 08-21-2016, 02:05 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
MentalParadox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Brasschaat, Belgium.
Posts: 131
OS: Windows 10 Home, 64bit



Here are the menu's I have:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20160821_225616.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	76.3 KB
ID:	290281   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160821_225457.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	85.8 KB
ID:	290289   Click image for larger version

Name:	20160821_225515.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	98.2 KB
ID:	290297  

MentalParadox is offline  
Old 08-21-2016, 02:06 PM   #19
Registered Member
 
MentalParadox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Brasschaat, Belgium.
Posts: 131
OS: Windows 10 Home, 64bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by Deejay100six View Post
I may be way off track here but I've been thinking since early in this thread that, because you previously had Windows 7 on this drive, maybe it should be wiped prior to formatting.

If I'm wrong, what do you have to lose but a little more of your time.

Dban or KillDisk would do the job.
Yeah, good idea. I'll do that right away.
MentalParadox is offline  
Old 08-21-2016, 02:11 PM   #20
Registered Member
 
MentalParadox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Brasschaat, Belgium.
Posts: 131
OS: Windows 10 Home, 64bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by Deejay100six View Post
I may be way off track here but I've been thinking since early in this thread that, because you previously had Windows 7 on this drive, maybe it should be wiped prior to formatting.

If I'm wrong, what do you have to lose but a little more of your time.

Dban or KillDisk would do the job.
Okay, I'm screwed. Looks like the partial install of XP wrecked the computer and I can't boot 7 anymore without system repair. Problem is, when it prompts me to perform a system restore, my keyboard AND mouse do NOT work! I can't do a system restore, so I can't boot 7, so I can't clear out the computer.... this is messed up!

Is there a way to nuke the computer without getting the OS running? Perhaps put Dban or KillDisk on a USB stick and running it before the OS loads? If that's even possible of course...
MentalParadox is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
url:mal virus
I am in need of expert assistance in removal the nemesis virus "url:mal" . I've also seen pop up from Avast blocking "url:mal2". I tried running gmr and something prevents it from completion, so I'm not sure if it will give you the data you need:sad: Thanks in advance.:bang head: Dell...
Larry Crooms Resolved HJT Threads 35 01-14-2014 04:16 AM
virus removal help
:smile::smile: thanks in advance for any help you can provide. i have been a member on the forum for a number of yrs, and you have helped me in the past. i started to see my pc slow down so i did all the standard (cleaning, delete all tmp files, etc) it did not help. then i notice that i was...
stroh Resolved HJT Threads 50 03-04-2012 07:06 AM
HELP PLEASE!!!!!!!
Hi, For 2 weeks now, I have a problem with my laptop. Finally I just found you via https://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f100/malware-removal-help-438072.html] and now I began hoping (please forgive my English!!). Could you please please help me too?? I have this laptop and more or...
Vladia Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 1 01-08-2012 08:16 AM
Some kind of redirect on computer (Monster Marketplace)
I don't know how this happened, but something has gotten into my computer that constantly redirects anything I click on. If I enter a search in the box, that does OK, but whenever I click on anything, there's a high likelihood that what I've clicked on won't come up - quite often, Monster...
Calgirl Resolved HJT Threads 198 05-23-2011 06:01 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts