Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

Boot disks wont work

This is a discussion on Boot disks wont work within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. when I try to use windows xp boot disks I get to the 5th disk and it says: file ntfs.sys


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-01-2009, 10:46 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: leeds ME
Posts: 40
OS: Windows XP SP3


Send a message via AIM to 27duuude

when I try to use windows xp boot disks I get to the 5th disk and it says:

file ntfs.sys caused an unexpected error (4101) at line 5025 in d:\xpsp1\Base\Boot\setup\setup.c.
press any key to continue

I press a key and it restarts the computer. I have remade the disks but it still says the same thing.
please help
27duuude is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-01-2009, 11:54 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Coolfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5,246
OS: Windows XP Pro / Windows Vista / Windows 7



Where did you get these boot disks from?
__________________
I subscribe to all threads I post in. But, if in case I don't or I forget, and I don't post back within 24 hours, please PM me. I will get back to your thread ASAP.
Coolfreak is offline  
Old 07-01-2009, 12:33 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4,099
OS: Windows 7



You can easily find plenty of places to get them, even on Microsoft's website:

https://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

I'm guessing you don't have a cd drive or windows xp cd, so what do you need the boot disks for?
__________________
Tosh
tosh9i is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-01-2009, 01:12 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Coolfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5,246
OS: Windows XP Pro / Windows Vista / Windows 7



Ah - alright. I understand now. I was a bit confused for a minute there.
__________________
I subscribe to all threads I post in. But, if in case I don't or I forget, and I don't post back within 24 hours, please PM me. I will get back to your thread ASAP.
Coolfreak is offline  
Old 07-01-2009, 01:16 PM   #5
Troubled
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,854
OS:



Your 5th disk is corrupted. So,download a new set from the link that tosh9i provided or better yet if you have a CD drive, borrow a XP install CD.
deleted010511 is offline  
Old 07-01-2009, 05:36 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: leeds ME
Posts: 40
OS: Windows XP SP3


Send a message via AIM to 27duuude

I have a program that I downloaded from the microsoft website that puts the files on the blank floppy disks I have. Ive tried redoing them but they still dont work. Im also using a laptop that was originaly designed for windows 98 and I dont have a windows xp install cd.
27duuude is offline  
Old 07-01-2009, 05:46 PM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4,099
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by 27duuude View Post
I have a program that I downloaded from the microsoft website that puts the files on the blank floppy disks I have. Ive tried redoing them but they still dont work. Im also using a laptop that was originaly designed for windows 98 and I dont have a windows xp install cd.
Other than the fact a computer designed for Windows 98 is an antique, I'm more concerned as to why you're using boot disks. What do you hope to accomplish after you succesffuly booted up with the disks? Are you going to format your hard drive or reinstall windows xp without the cd etc.?
__________________
Tosh
tosh9i is offline  
Old 07-01-2009, 06:14 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: leeds ME
Posts: 40
OS: Windows XP SP3


Send a message via AIM to 27duuude

I erased most of the hard drive before I started trying to using the boot disks. I was hoping to get windows xp on it but the first few times I tried I didn't realize that the manufacturer of the blank floppy disks didnt format one correctly so then I tried to use a windows 98 boot disk. But when it finished it said that it would restart and the next time it started it would show the start screen menu when it started but it said the same thing it did after I erased most of the hard drive witch was:
Invalid system disk
Replace the disk, and then press any key
Then, for a reason I can't remember, I tried accessing the files to the first boot disk witch wasn't formated correctly and I correctly formated it, I then attempted to use the boot disks again, after I remade them, and Im now stuck here. Ive tried to get my hands on a dowloadable version of windows xp install cd but cant find one. I do have a cd/dvd drive for the laptop.
27duuude is offline  
Old 07-01-2009, 07:23 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 447
OS: XP Pro SP3



I bet the computer is so far out of date, (processor and Ram) if you do get xp on it, you wont be happy with how it runs.
Give that one to the kids, or put linux SLAX on it or Linux Mandrivia...Those are freebies and to get XP legally on that computer it likely will cost you.
rosiesdad is offline  
Old 07-01-2009, 07:43 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: leeds ME
Posts: 40
OS: Windows XP SP3


Send a message via AIM to 27duuude

#1 I'm 12 and
#2 The computer is going to my 9 year old brother.
27duuude is offline  
Old 07-01-2009, 07:56 PM   #11
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Coolfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5,246
OS: Windows XP Pro / Windows Vista / Windows 7



What are the specs of this PC?
__________________
I subscribe to all threads I post in. But, if in case I don't or I forget, and I don't post back within 24 hours, please PM me. I will get back to your thread ASAP.
Coolfreak is offline  
Old 07-01-2009, 08:01 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: leeds ME
Posts: 40
OS: Windows XP SP3


Send a message via AIM to 27duuude

Pentium II CPU and 128 MB of RAM
27duuude is offline  
Old 07-01-2009, 08:02 PM   #13
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4,099
OS: Windows 7



I doubt that this will be of much help, but skim through it and pay attention to the last post:

https://www.pcreview.co.uk/forums/thread-114383.php
__________________
Tosh
tosh9i is offline  
Old 07-01-2009, 08:07 PM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4,099
OS: Windows 7



Compaq Armada 7400 - PII 300 MHz - 13.3 " - 128 MB Ram - 6.4 GB HDD

It basically "meets" the Recommended System Requirements of Windows XP:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows...m_requirements
__________________
Tosh
tosh9i is offline  
Old 07-01-2009, 08:18 PM   #15
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
Geekgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 15,478
OS: XP Home SP3 x3 /XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 Pro 64-BIT



You specs are low, probably wont run worth crap. Besides do you have a legal license key for it or where are you getting the key from? If you had one you should have a cd to install with, they usually come hand in hand.
__________________
Geekgirl is offline  
Old 07-02-2009, 10:43 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: leeds ME
Posts: 40
OS: Windows XP SP3


Send a message via AIM to 27duuude

Quote:
Originally Posted by tosh9i View Post
Compaq Armada 7400 - PII 300 MHz - 13.3 " - 128 MB Ram - 6.4 GB HDD

It basically "meets" the Recommended System Requirements of Windows XP:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows...m_requirements
Actually its got a 10 GB HDD and I was wondering if I could replace the corrupted files with files I found on my other computer?
27duuude is offline  
Old 07-02-2009, 11:05 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: leeds ME
Posts: 40
OS: Windows XP SP3


Send a message via AIM to 27duuude

Quote:
Originally Posted by tosh9i View Post
I doubt that this will be of much help, but skim through it and pay attention to the last post:

https://www.pcreview.co.uk/forums/thread-114383.php
I've tried what that guy did : He tried to use a windows xp install cd but It said that NTLDR was missing like his computer said but I made mine from the i386 file but I think the problem was that I was using the service pack files and mine is an SP2 and the boot disks are meant for windows xp SP1 so Ill try the ones without SP1.
27duuude is offline  
Old 07-02-2009, 11:39 AM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: leeds ME
Posts: 40
OS: Windows XP SP3


Send a message via AIM to 27duuude

screw windows xp can somone help me with windows 98 boot disk its restarting the setup process everytime i restart it.
27duuude is offline  
Old 07-02-2009, 12:21 PM   #19
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4,099
OS: Windows 7



Try this page:

https://www.bootdisk.com/
__________________
Tosh
tosh9i is offline  
Old 07-02-2009, 12:38 PM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: leeds ME
Posts: 40
OS: Windows XP SP3


Send a message via AIM to 27duuude

thats where I got my windows 98 boot disk I put it in, I selected choice 2, and when it was done it showed a command prompt and the directory was disk A and when I went to choice 3 it showed the readme file but when I exited it, it said that it would restart and it would show the startup menu but it just did the same thing.
27duuude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts