Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

Activating windows

This is a discussion on Activating windows within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I changed a few settings in my BIOS (Aperture size form 128 to 256, AGP fast write off) and now


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-02-2009, 02:32 PM   #1
Troubled
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 57
OS: Windows XP



I changed a few settings in my BIOS (Aperture size form 128 to 256, AGP fast write off) and now I have to activate windows. I lost my key years ago along with the disc. Is there any way to activate windows or find out what my key is?

Also my computer is artifacting, and the heatsink on my graphics card is real hot. I have no idea why, it is factory overclocked so that might have something to do with it. It usually artifacts when I am playing games, which are usually set at or below the recommended settings. I have a BFG Tech 6800.
Fizban140 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-02-2009, 02:41 PM   #2
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



Is it prompting you for the Product Key or just to activate?
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 02-02-2009, 02:49 PM   #3
Troubled
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 57
OS: Windows XP



It needs a product key, it says the number of times mine can be used has been exceeded. Great, I never thought I would have to buy XP twice for one computer.

But my GPU is making me worried now. It is at 66 Celcius right now.
My PSU seems off too. My 3.3 is at 3.06, 5 is 4.8, 12 is 12.3. This is all according to Everest not my BIOS, BIOS reads a little bit different.
Fizban140 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-02-2009, 03:00 PM   #4
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 54,256
OS: XP, Win 7



You should be able to just call the number on the activaton screen and get it activated. It's a quick and easy call.

You may be able to find the product Key with Belarc Advisor

https://www.belarc.com/free_download.html
__________________
Rich



Old Rich is offline  
Old 02-02-2009, 03:01 PM   #5
Troubled
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 57
OS: Windows XP



It said I need a new product key because mine has been used too many times.
Fizban140 is offline  
Old 02-02-2009, 03:04 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
RockLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Alabama
Posts: 293
OS: Windows 7 Beta Build 7000, XP Pro SP3



For that you have to Call Microsoft and activate over the phone
RockLee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts