Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

User Tag List

Access wants to use mail.ocx but can't find it. WHAT IS IT?

This is a discussion on Access wants to use mail.ocx but can't find it. WHAT IS IT? within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, I am doing IT support at the small business and they have a program that accesses this Access Database.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-25-2016, 07:34 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 1
OS: XP Service Pack 3



Hello,

I am doing IT support at the small business and they have a program that accesses this Access Database. I am fairly new here and learning how they do things. My boss said that sometimes when they input something wrong in the database the program will then not work until the data is edited. The program was not working so I go to go into the Access database and I get this error message.

"Your Microsoft Office Access database or project contains a missing or broken reference to the file 'mail.ocx' version 1.0."

It then says to go into the Visual Basic Editor into references and to find the file saying missing and to redirect it to where this file is. I have looked on google and I can't seem to find anything about this mail.ocx. The reference that it refers to is it says "MISSING: TTC mail custom control". And the file should be in C:\WINNT\system32\mail.ocx. I looked in the system32 files where it says it should be and it isn't there. I am also not even running WIN NT... I don't think someone just deleted this file because it isn't somewhere anyone would go to in the system32. I can't even find what this file does or what uses it or what installed it. I just know that Access apparently wants access to it.

Does anyone know anything about this issue or how I can resolve it?

I already ran CC Cleaner and am about to do virus and malware scan after I defrag the disk. Virus scans everyday and hasn't found anything. This computer barely ever goes online but it is connected to the internet. It is also running IE 8 on XP. It is an older computer. It is using Symantec Endpoint Protection. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

Rob
Robdiqulous is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-25-2016, 04:07 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 40,531
OS: Windows 10 64 bit

My System


Open the database.
Press Alt+F11 to activate the Visual Basic Editor.
Select Tools | References...
The references that are in use have their check box ticked; they are listed at the top.
Clear the check box for those that begin with MISSING:, then click OK.
Select Debug | Compile <projectname> to see if the code is OK now.
__________________
Please press the Like link to right of any post you found helpful.
spunk.funk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer won't post BIOS
I have a friends old PC and was reinstalling XP at their request as they've had trouble and thought it might help. I formatted, reinstalled XP and then restarted after installing the drivers which were missing. After the restart I was unable to install any virus software, and after about five...
gemmers Motherboards, Bios & CPU 5 10-10-2013 03:17 PM
Horrible net speeds suddenly
Ok , I have had trouble with Mediacom in the past when they overload nodes. The past few months my connection has been great considering it's mediacom. I was getting 20-30 mb dl and 2mb upload which is right for my 20 mb line I pay for. Last night though all of the sudden I am getting 1-3 mb dl and...
Drivethrujerod Networking Support 26 12-17-2012 04:43 PM
[SOLVED] Need Help, Cannot upload to the internet at all
So for the past several months I have not been allowed to upload to the internet. When i click upload, it starts to upload, but quickly stops and i can see the upload speed count down to 0. My entire internet then disconnects and after 30sec - 1 min the internet returns. If i am very lucky and have...
NeedHelpzzz Networking Support 20 11-22-2012 10:07 AM
Need to deny access to folders on my main computer using admin accounts
I've been looking around and googling for 3 hours trying to discover a way to set up my network shares so that only certain computers can access certain folders/files. My home network is all Windows 7 computers (4 total), and are Ultimates except for my laptop, which is Home Pro. So that's 3...
rmarier83 File and Application Sharing 2 09-25-2012 08:22 AM
Removed Virus but still having problems
Hello, I'm working on a computer that has a problem. It firsted started off with AntiVirus AntiSpyware 2011 issues. Changed all the files to hidden, and Read-only. Disabled the Task manger. Once it got the Internet it would re-install. Went through the register and deleted all keys that...
sblair_5 Resolved HJT Threads 45 05-27-2011 08:05 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2018, Tech Support Forum

Windows 10 - Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts