Welcome to Tech Support Forum home to more then 136,000 problems solved. Issues have included: Spyware, Malware, Virus Issues, Windows, Microsoft, Linux, Networking, Security, Hardware, and Gaming Getting your problem solved is as easy as:
1. Registering for a free account
2. Asking your question
3. Receiving an answer

Registered members:
* Get free support
* Communicate privately with other members (PM).
* Removal of this message
* See fewer ads.
* And much more..

 



Want to know how to post a question? click here Having problems with spyware and pop-ups? First Steps
Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Security Center > General Computer Security
User Name
Password
Site Map Register Donate Rules Blogs Mark Forums Read


General Computer Security Get Help With System Security - This forum is not for malware removal assistance. For malware removal assistance, read the sticky topic at the top of the Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help forum, or the "First Steps" link at the top right of each page.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-26-2005, 01:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
OS: WIN XP


What does this extra IP mean???

I am not computer savvy, but I help run a couple of message board forums(phpbb, getphbb, and aimoo) and have access to checking IP's. For the past several months, I have noticed this IP also on at the same time I am. It is 66.249.65.9 . When I did an IP tracker, I see that the ISP is CALIFORNIA MOUNTAIN VIEW GOOGLE INC . This IP would come on as a guest a lot and go through many forums, many I had recently been to, even ones that members do not have access to. I just assumed it was a Google search bot scanning words for Google searches. The last board I was on was hacked and gone. The new forum I'm on I am seeing this same IP situation. Now I am getting concerned there is something else going on?? Anyone know what it is and what I can do about it???

Thanks in Advance!
princessel is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Important Information
Join the #1 Tech Support Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

TechSupportForum.com is a leading support website for your computer needs. We offer free, friendly and personalized computer support. Why pay to have your computer fixed when you can do it for free.

Join TechSupportforum.com Today - Click Here

Old 12-26-2005, 06:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Asst Manager Security, Expert Analyst, Moderator, Security Team; Rangemaster, Moderator, TSF Academy
 
sUBs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 24,478
OS: N/A


This may help..

http://openrbl.org/query?66.249.65.9

http://www.google.com/webmasters/bot.html
__________________

Question - what have you done for the community today?

Last edited by sUBs; 12-26-2005 at 06:49 AM.
sUBs is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2005, 06:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
OS: WIN XP


Phew!!! So it is a Google bot then, that's a relief.
princessel is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2005, 12:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
mlegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: seacoast NH
Posts: 43
OS: XP Pro & Home, Win2kPro, Win98


I like to use DNSStuff to look up IPs I need to trace for forum use and network issues.

DNSStuff for 66.249.65.9 and is Google crawling to index the site
mlegg is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2005, 08:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3
OS: WIN XP


I like the DNS site it has a lot of other interesting info like domain name lookup. Thanks!
princessel is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:37 PM.



Copyright 2001 - 2009, Tech Support Forum
Home Tips Plus | Outdoor Basecamp | Automotive Support Forum

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85