Welcome to Tech Support Forum home to more then 136,000 problems solved. Issues have included: Spyware, Malware, Virus Issues, Windows, Microsoft, Linux, Networking, Security, Hardware, and Gaming Getting your problem solved is as easy as:
1. Registering for a free account
2. Asking your question
3. Receiving an answer

Registered members:
* Get free support
* Communicate privately with other members (PM).
* Removal of this message
* See fewer ads.
* And much more..

 



Want to know how to post a question? click here Having problems with spyware and pop-ups? First Steps
Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Security Center > General Computer Security
User Name
Password
Site Map Register Donate Rules Blogs Mark Forums Read


General Computer Security Get Help With System Security - This forum is not for malware removal assistance. For malware removal assistance, read the sticky topic at the top of the Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help forum, or the "First Steps" link at the top right of each page.

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-21-2009, 02:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Tech, Games Team
 
Zealex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 2,166
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 32 bit SP2

My System

is STOPzilla legit?

this website had an add saying STOPzilla,I have been taught not to click on any adds....is that site safe and the program legit??and in general are all adds safe on here?
Zealex is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Important Information
Join the #1 Tech Support Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

TechSupportForum.com is a leading support website for your computer needs. We offer free, friendly and personalized computer support. Why pay to have your computer fixed when you can do it for free.

Join TechSupportforum.com Today - Click Here

Old 05-21-2009, 05:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Moderator, Analyst, Security Team ; Rangemaster, TSF Academy
 
amateur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 7,512
OS: XP SP3


Re: is STOPzilla legit?

Hi,

Quote:
I have been taught not to click on any adds
You've been taught correctly. I personally wouldn't click on any ads on any web page.

I have never used StopZilla. It may be a legitimate program, but I'm sure there are better alternatives. It doesn't seem to rate very well.

http://reviews.cnet.com/internet-sec...-30633015.html

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2162968,00.asp
__________________
My services are free. However, you can donate to TSF to help keep it running.




Member of ASAP since 2005
Member of UNITE since 2006
amateur is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Old 05-21-2009, 06:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Tech, Games Team
 
Zealex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 2,166
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 32 bit SP2

My System

Re: is STOPzilla legit?

i just googled stopzila and checked mcafee review, says mcafee secure...but when you read the reviews of it you begin to wonder lol.
http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/sto...8&locale=en-US
*1+* for mcafee?
Zealex is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Old 05-21-2009, 06:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Moderator, Analyst, Security Team ; Rangemaster, TSF Academy
 
amateur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 7,512
OS: XP SP3


Re: is STOPzilla legit?

SiteAdvisor only checks the site, not the program itself.

Quote:
We tested this site and didn't find any significant problems
__________________
My services are free. However, you can donate to TSF to help keep it running.




Member of ASAP since 2005
Member of UNITE since 2006
amateur is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Old 05-21-2009, 07:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Tech, Games Team
 
Zealex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 2,166
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 32 bit SP2

My System

Re: is STOPzilla legit?

speaking of mcafee I'm going to make a thread about it cause my dad comp uses mcafee and something is odd about it..anyways I though site advisor checked downloads too
Zealex is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Old 05-21-2009, 07:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Moderator, Analyst, Security Team ; Rangemaster, TSF Academy
 
amateur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 7,512
OS: XP SP3


Re: is STOPzilla legit?

Quote:
I though site advisor checked downloads too
Scroll down the page and you'll see what it checks and what it doesn't.

http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/sto...8&locale=en-US

Quote:
Downloads indicates SiteAdvisor's overall rating about the impact a site's downloadable software had on our testing computer. Red flags are given to sites that have virus-infected downloads or that add unrelated software which many people would consider adware or spyware. The rating also takes note of the network servers a program contacts during its operation, as well as any modifications to browser settings or a computer's registry files.
It doesn't evaulate the software itself.
__________________
My services are free. However, you can donate to TSF to help keep it running.




Member of ASAP since 2005
Member of UNITE since 2006
amateur is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:06 PM.



Copyright 2001 - 2009, Tech Support Forum
Home Tips Plus | Outdoor Basecamp | Automotive Support Forum

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85