Welcome to Tech Support Forum home to more then 136,000 problems solved. Issues have included: Spyware, Malware, Virus Issues, Windows, Microsoft, Linux, Networking, Security, Hardware, and Gaming Getting your problem solved is as easy as:
1. Registering for a free account
2. Asking your question
3. Receiving an answer

Registered members:
* Get free support
* Communicate privately with other members (PM).
* Removal of this message
* See fewer ads.
* And much more..

 



Want to know how to post a question? click here Having problems with spyware and pop-ups? First Steps
Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Security Center > General Computer Security
User Name
Password
Site Map Register Donate Rules Blogs Mark Forums Read


General Computer Security Get Help With System Security - This forum is not for malware removal assistance. For malware removal assistance, read the sticky topic at the top of the Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help forum, or the "First Steps" link at the top right of each page.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-19-2009, 02:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Troubled
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: 530
Posts: 3,520
OS: 7 x64, XP x32


Blog Entries: 1
Is this a trustworthy site?

I stumbled upon this site while browsing Google - ftp://ftp.f-secure.com/anti-virus/tools/

Are those tools useful, are they legit, can they help me if I have they issues they "fix", will they hurt my computer if I test one to see?

Thoughts, feelings, comments?
TJ Belfiore is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Important Information
Join the #1 Tech Support Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

TechSupportForum.com is a leading support website for your computer needs. We offer free, friendly and personalized computer support. Why pay to have your computer fixed when you can do it for free.

Join TechSupportforum.com Today - Click Here

Old 05-19-2009, 04:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 95
OS: XP


Re: Is this a trustworthy site?

How did you get on that site? Did you clicked on a link from the real F-secure.com and then got transferd to that site you linked in your 1st post?
If so it should be legit.

http://www.mywot.com/en/scorecard/f-secure.com#page-1
Steviee is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 10:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
TSF Enthusiast
 
lorjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 2,205
OS: Windows 2K, XP Pro sp3, Windows Vista, Windows 7, Ubuntu


Re: Is this a trustworthy site?

I've never used Fsecure, they don't get good reviews but it does look legit.
__________________


Those who can't write, write manuals.
Don't trouble trouble until trouble troubles you...
lorjack is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 10:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Manager, Security Center, TSF Academy; Analyst, Security Team
 
tetonbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Transylvania County, North Carolina, USA
Posts: 35,673
OS: 2000 Pro; XP Pro; XP Home


Re: Is this a trustworthy site?

Those are all dedicated tools for a specific purpose. Not recommended to just test things in such a manner.

ftp link is on their own page

http://www.f-secure.com/en_EMEA/secu...removal-tools/

f-secure is indeed a legit security vendor.
__________________
Practice Safe Surfing
Because what you don't know, CAN hurt you.
Proud Member of ASAP since 2005
Proud Member of UNITE since 2006

Microsoft MVP - Consumer Security 2009
tetonbob is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 01:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Troubled
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: 530
Posts: 3,520
OS: 7 x64, XP x32


Blog Entries: 1
Re: Is this a trustworthy site?

Okay, so I'll keep all those. I used DownThemAll and nabbed them all! - (For future use). Thanks everyone!
TJ Belfiore is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 02:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
Manager, Security Center, TSF Academy; Analyst, Security Team
 
tetonbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Transylvania County, North Carolina, USA
Posts: 35,673
OS: 2000 Pro; XP Pro; XP Home


Re: Is this a trustworthy site?

Erm....not exactly what I said. They are dedicated tools for specific purposes. Freely available, so no reason to stash them if not needed.
__________________
Practice Safe Surfing
Because what you don't know, CAN hurt you.
Proud Member of ASAP since 2005
Proud Member of UNITE since 2006

Microsoft MVP - Consumer Security 2009
tetonbob is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009, 02:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Troubled
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: 530
Posts: 3,520
OS: 7 x64, XP x32


Blog Entries: 1
Re: Is this a trustworthy site?

Yeah, there's reason to stash them but I see no "harm" in it. Is there? Just curious. I've collected many virus-removal programs (all legit, like from Microsoft, etc) on my computer - is this not safe?
TJ Belfiore is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:49 PM.



Copyright 2001 - 2009, Tech Support Forum
Home Tips Plus | Outdoor Basecamp | Automotive Support Forum

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85