Welcome to Tech Support Forum home to more then 136,000 problems solved. Issues have included: Spyware, Malware, Virus Issues, Windows, Microsoft, Linux, Networking, Security, Hardware, and Gaming Getting your problem solved is as easy as:
1. Registering for a free account
2. Asking your question
3. Receiving an answer

Registered members:
* Get free support
* Communicate privately with other members (PM).
* Removal of this message
* See fewer ads.
* And much more..

 



Want to know how to post a question? click here Having problems with spyware and pop-ups? First Steps
Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Security Center > General Computer Security
User Name
Password
Site Map Register Donate Rules Blogs Mark Forums Read


General Computer Security Get Help With System Security - This forum is not for malware removal assistance. For malware removal assistance, read the sticky topic at the top of the Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help forum, or the "First Steps" link at the top right of each page.

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-04-2008, 07:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Moderator, Hardware Team
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 19,375
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman
is this a legit website or some form of spyware ?

I have this "install sheild update manager" that keeps popping up and wants to perform some update.........


I cant put my finger on it and have blocked it with my bitdefender from running ............
'

here is the web page its associated with

http://consumer.installshield.com/


can someone shed some light on this ?



thanks folks

joe
__________________



Even a Broken Clock is Right Twice a Day !


Power Supply Selection

LEARN TO BACK-UP YOUR DATA FREE & EASY
YouTube - Runtime Software DriveImage XML tutorial
linderman is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Bookmark on Thread SoupReddit!
Sponsored Links
Old 12-04-2008, 08:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Manager, Security Center, TSF Academy; Analyst, Security Team
 
tetonbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Transylvania County, North Carolina, USA
Posts: 32,560
OS: 2000 Pro; XP Pro; XP Home


Re: is this a legit website or some form of spyware ?

Hi Joe -

InstallShield is a legit site.

Do you happen to have Sonic software installed?

See if this helps:

http://consumerdocs.installshield.co...0838&sliceId=1

http://consumerdocs.installshield.co...1006&sliceId=1

http://consumer.installshield.com/about_um.asp


Sometimes the updater used in various software gets cranky and while there's various ways to address it, the simplest can be to just disable these in msconfig:

See if you have these processes listed "issch" and "isuspm". If so, uncheck them, click apply and restart the computer.

When windows gets to the desktop, tick do not start the configuration utility when windows starts.
__________________
Practice Safe Surfing
Because what you don't know, CAN hurt you.
Proud Member of ASAP since 2005
Proud Member of UNITE since 2006


Please do not ask for help via Private Message.
tetonbob is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Bookmark on Thread SoupReddit!
Old 12-05-2008, 05:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Moderator, Hardware Team
 
linderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 19,375
OS: win 2000 pro / Win XP pro

My System

Send a message via MSN to linderman
Re: is this a legit website or some form of spyware ?

thanks a million Bob ............... I owe yah one
__________________



Even a Broken Clock is Right Twice a Day !


Power Supply Selection

LEARN TO BACK-UP YOUR DATA FREE & EASY
YouTube - Runtime Software DriveImage XML tutorial
linderman is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Bookmark on Thread SoupReddit!
Old 12-05-2008, 07:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Manager, Security Center, TSF Academy; Analyst, Security Team
 
tetonbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Transylvania County, North Carolina, USA
Posts: 32,560
OS: 2000 Pro; XP Pro; XP Home


Re: is this a legit website or some form of spyware ?

Cheers, Joe...glad to help.
__________________
Practice Safe Surfing
Because what you don't know, CAN hurt you.
Proud Member of ASAP since 2005
Proud Member of UNITE since 2006


Please do not ask for help via Private Message.
tetonbob is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Bookmark on Thread SoupReddit!
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:46 PM.



Copyright 2001 - 2009, Tech Support Forum
Home Tips Plus | Outdoor Basecamp | Automotive Support Forum

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84