Welcome to Tech Support Forum home to more then 136,000 problems solved. Issues have included: Spyware, Malware, Virus Issues, Windows, Microsoft, Linux, Networking, Security, Hardware, and Gaming Getting your problem solved is as easy as:
1. Registering for a free account
2. Asking your question
3. Receiving an answer

Registered members:
* Get free support
* Communicate privately with other members (PM).
* Removal of this message
* See fewer ads.
* And much more..

 



Want to know how to post a question? click here Having problems with spyware and pop-ups? First Steps
Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Security Center > General Computer Security
User Name
Password
Site Map Register Donate Rules Blogs Mark Forums Read


General Computer Security Get Help With System Security - This forum is not for malware removal assistance. For malware removal assistance, read the sticky topic at the top of the Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help forum, or the "First Steps" link at the top right of each page.

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-11-2008, 04:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
OS: vista


Exclamation question about websites

hello all,

Someone told me to go to this dumb website called warester.com

Now I'm not sure what this website is or does, but I think its fake. After going to it I became worried about it, just in case anything did happen to my PC. Its one of those websites that is just plain odd, and whenever you go to it it says "a picture has been uploaded to this site within the last 48 hours." I didnt click ok, I used ctrl alt del and got out of it. I use avast, windows defender and spyware terminator, and none of them went off saying anything happened. Just in case I did a system restore to two hours before all of this. Can someone tell me if I'm ok or what I should do to be sure? I havent seen any problems at all, in fact I dotn know if the website is bad, I'm just not sure. '

Thanks again.
yoyo78 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Bookmark on Thread SoupReddit!
Sponsored Links
Old 11-11-2008, 08:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
OS: vista


Re: question about websites

Also: I messaged that girl who showed off the website (its not her website) and she said its "some spam/hacker" stuff. Now I don't think shes too computer savvy, but some help would be greatly appreciated. I need to know if after me visiting the site for like 2 seconds (not entering any info), leaving, doing a system restore and running all my scans if I'm still ok. Like I said before, nothing bad has happened yet, and no results in the scans but I want to be sure.
yoyo78 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Bookmark on Thread SoupReddit!
Old 11-11-2008, 09:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Manager, Security Center, TSF Academy; Analyst, Security Team
 
tetonbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Transylvania County, North Carolina, USA
Posts: 32,560
OS: 2000 Pro; XP Pro; XP Home


Re: question about websites

Looks like a social engineering fraud site...designed to get people to give personal information or buy things they don't need. Stay away.

If you've done a system restore, and all your protection apps say you're ok, you should be.

You may also want to run an online scan.

Online Scanner

More info here:

PC Safety and Security--What Do I Need?
__________________
Practice Safe Surfing
Because what you don't know, CAN hurt you.
Proud Member of ASAP since 2005
Proud Member of UNITE since 2006


Please do not ask for help via Private Message.
tetonbob is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Bookmark on Thread SoupReddit!
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:23 AM.



Copyright 2001 - 2009, Tech Support Forum
Home Tips Plus | Outdoor Basecamp | Automotive Support Forum

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84