Welcome to Tech Support Forum home to more then 136,000 problems solved. Issues have included: Spyware, Malware, Virus Issues, Windows, Microsoft, Linux, Networking, Security, Hardware, and Gaming Getting your problem solved is as easy as:
1. Registering for a free account
2. Asking your question
3. Receiving an answer

Registered members:
* Get free support
* Communicate privately with other members (PM).
* Removal of this message
* See fewer ads.
* And much more..

 



Want to know how to post a question? click here Having problems with spyware and pop-ups? First Steps
Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Security Center > General Computer Security
User Name
Password
Site Map Register Donate Rules Blogs Mark Forums Read


General Computer Security Get Help With System Security - This forum is not for malware removal assistance. For malware removal assistance, read the sticky topic at the top of the Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help forum, or the "First Steps" link at the top right of each page.

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-31-2008, 10:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
OS: winxp


Is this spyware or not?!

It's a new thing that is happening, and slowing my system substantially. Nearly every site I try to go to, this security window is popping up:

Quote:
Security Warning
The current Web page is trying to open a site in your Trusted sites list. Do you want to allow this?

Current site: [whichever I am on]
Trusted site: C:\WINDOWS\system32\xpsp3res.dll

yes(to allow) no(to deny)

Warning: allowing this can expose your computer to security risks. If you don't trust the current Web page choose no.
Why is every web page trying to open this file, and what is it? Do I have a virus or malware?
cjean is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Important Information
Join the #1 Tech Support Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

TechSupportForum.com is a leading support website for your computer needs. We offer free, friendly and personalized computer support. Why pay to have your computer fixed when you can do it for free.

Join TechSupportforum.com Today - Click Here

Old 10-31-2008, 11:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Banscare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: St John's NL
Posts: 190
OS: XP Pro 64bit

My System

Re: Is this spyware or not?!

"xpsp3res.dll (Service Pack 3 Messages) is a component from the software Microsoft� Windows� Operating System version 5.1.2586 by Microsoft Corporation. xpsp3res.dll version 5.1.2586 has a file size of 2,048 bytes, and is most commonly found under the directory "$NtUninstallKB890046$" with a creation date of September 7, 2005. This is not a known spyware, adware, or trojan component. Microsoft Windows is the most widely used PC operating system."
__________________
Ban
Computer Support Specialist
(MCP, MCSE)
Banscare is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Old 10-31-2008, 12:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
OS: winxp


Re: Is this spyware or not?!

Yes, but why do I keep getting the security warning that "the current web page is trying to open a site in your Trusted Sites list"? I realize that xpsp3res.dll is not in itself a spyware program. Why is every other web page trying to open it?
cjean is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Old 10-31-2008, 03:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Manager, Security Center, TSF Academy; Analyst, Security Team
 
tetonbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Transylvania County, North Carolina, USA
Posts: 35,158
OS: 2000 Pro; XP Pro; XP Home


Re: Is this spyware or not?!

Sounds to me like an issue with your Trusted Sites settings.

Ex Brit at McAfee support forums offered this to a user with a similar issue. It worked for that user.

http://forums.mcafeehelp.com/showpos...12&postcount=2

Quote:
Go to I.E. Tools/Internet Options/Security set all zones to default but particularly the Trusted Zones, uncheck the item shown in the attached picture and click Apply, then OK and see if that helps.
__________________
Practice Safe Surfing
Because what you don't know, CAN hurt you.
Proud Member of ASAP since 2005
Proud Member of UNITE since 2006

Microsoft MVP - Consumer Security 2009
tetonbob is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Old 11-11-2008, 07:07 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 14
OS: Windows xp sp 3+Red Hat Linux 6.2E


Re: Is this spyware or not?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by cjean
Security Warning
The current Web page is trying to open a site in your Trusted sites list. Do you want to allow this?

Current site: [whichever I am on]
Trusted site: C:\WINDOWS\system32\xpsp3res.dll

yes(to allow) no(to deny)

Warning: allowing this can expose your computer to security risks. If you don't trust the current Web page choose no.
False positives. Unless microsoft is trying to infect you lol.

According to my Aviri yahoo.com is back-doored lol. So i uninstalled it.
False positives can occure when heuristic pick up patterns in scripts patterns that it sees as suspicious. Like funky javascript.

Anyway....
Code:
C:\WINDOWS\system32\xpsp3res.dll
Hmm looks suspicious possibly... couldn't tell you much not enough info you have submitted to go on.

Last edited by koala; 11-11-2008 at 08:24 AM. Reason: fixed quote tags
Chr1$ is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Old 11-11-2008, 08:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
Manager, Security Center, TSF Academy; Analyst, Security Team
 
tetonbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Transylvania County, North Carolina, USA
Posts: 35,158
OS: 2000 Pro; XP Pro; XP Home


Re: Is this spyware or not?!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chr1$ View Post

Anyway....
Code:
C:\WINDOWS\system32\xpsp3res.dll
Hmm looks suspicious possibly... couldn't tell you much not enough info you have submitted to go on.
Look to your own machine.

I have several instances of this file on my machines, including one in system32
__________________
Practice Safe Surfing
Because what you don't know, CAN hurt you.
Proud Member of ASAP since 2005
Proud Member of UNITE since 2006

Microsoft MVP - Consumer Security 2009
tetonbob is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Old 11-12-2008, 03:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 14
OS: Windows xp sp 3+Red Hat Linux 6.2E


Re: Is this spyware or not?!

Well of cource i have it to lol

but OMG
Quote:
Current site: [whichever I am on]
''Trusted site: C:\WINDOWS\system32\xpsp3res.dll''
Why the hell would it say that for a trusted site ? unless i'm reading what he put wrong. ???? Could anyone elaborate with real confirmation ?
Chr1$ is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:54 AM.



Copyright 2001 - 2009, Tech Support Forum
Home Tips Plus | Outdoor Basecamp | Automotive Support Forum

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85