Welcome to Tech Support Forum home to more then 136,000 problems solved. Issues have included: Spyware, Malware, Virus Issues, Windows, Microsoft, Linux, Networking, Security, Hardware, and Gaming Getting your problem solved is as easy as:
1. Registering for a free account
2. Asking your question
3. Receiving an answer

Registered members:
* Get free support
* Communicate privately with other members (PM).
* Removal of this message
* See fewer ads.
* And much more..

 



Want to know how to post a question? click here Having problems with spyware and pop-ups? First Steps
Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Security Center > General Computer Security
User Name
Password
Site Map Register Donate Rules Blogs Mark Forums Read


General Computer Security Get Help With System Security - This forum is not for malware removal assistance. For malware removal assistance, read the sticky topic at the top of the Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help forum, or the "First Steps" link at the top right of each page.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-26-2008, 12:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
OS: XP


Spam<? not sure> analyze and trace, please help!

Can any one tell the IP address where the email originated? is from mx1.hitachi.com on 12.166.46.40 or actually from tiffco.net on 172.16.124.134? cmb.csvdsite.com is my mail server. Is the Spam?

Here is the part of the email header:

Received: from mx1.hitachi.com ([12.166.46.40])
by cmb.csvdsite.com with esmtp (Exim 4.69)

(envelope-from <dwenston@hitachi.com>)

id 1KM5zx-0007xO-55

for Master@csvdsite.com; Thu, 24 Jul 2008 13:52:10 -0400

X-SBRS: None

Received: from py1mxmbxp02.tiffco.net ([172.16.124.134])
by mx1.hitachi.com with ESMTP; 24 Jul 2008 15:20:07 -0400

X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft Exchange V6.5

Content-class: urn:content-classes:message
MIME-Version: 1.0

Content-Type: multipart/mixed;
boundary="----_=_NextPart_001_01C8EDBF.0CA32277"

Message-ID: <7B97050E5A3FB48A4E1267A2283A44332FEC761@py1mxmbxp02.tiffco.net>

X-MS-Has-Attach:

X-MS-TNEF-Correlator:



Thanks for any help.....

Last edited by iecwillow; 07-26-2008 at 12:33 AM.
iecwillow is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Important Information
Join the #1 Tech Support Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

TechSupportForum.com is a leading support website for your computer needs. We offer free, friendly and personalized computer support. Why pay to have your computer fixed when you can do it for free.

Join TechSupportforum.com Today - Click Here

Old 07-26-2008, 12:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
dai
Manager, Hardware Forums
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 56,539
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm


Re: Spam<? not sure> analyze and trace, please help!

1 12.166.46.40 Succeed USA - New Jersey TIFFANY-53-46 TIFFANY AND CO 12.166.46.0 12.166.46.255 Yes TIFFANY AND CO 15 SYLVAN WAY, PARSIPPANY rneuner@tiffany.com abuse@att.net +1-919-319-8130 ARIN mx1.tiffany.com
__________________
dai is online now  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2008, 01:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
OS: XP


Re: Spam<? not sure> analyze and trace, please help!

Thank you.

Yes, by checking IP location, 12.166.46.40 is belongs to tiffany, that's why I feel really weird why the email address and mail server shows hitachi.com.

If this email was sending from 12.166.46.40, what is the py1mxmbxp02.tiffco.net ([172.16.124.134]) here for? an original workstation of tiffany LAN which named as tiffco.net? I can not locate 172.16.124.134, shows as private LAN. However, by checking the data of http://tiffco.net, it shows a Consulting Services company in Texas, so the tiffco.net here on 172.16.124.134 should just a name of the LAN of tiffany, it has nothing related to web tiffco.net, right?
iecwillow is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:08 PM.



Copyright 2001 - 2009, Tech Support Forum
Home Tips Plus | Outdoor Basecamp | Automotive Support Forum

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85