![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
|||||
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
|||
| Welcome
to Tech Support Forum home to more then 136,000 problems solved. Issues
have included: Spyware, Malware, Virus Issues, Windows, Microsoft,
Linux, Networking, Security, Hardware, and Gaming Getting your
problem solved is as easy as: 1. Registering for a free account 2. Asking your question 3. Receiving an answer Registered members: * See fewer ads. * And much more..
|
| Want to know how to post a question? click here | Having problems with spyware and pop-ups? First Steps |
|
|||||||
| General Computer Security Get Help With System Security - This forum is not for malware removal assistance. For malware removal assistance, read the sticky topic at the top of the HijackThis Log Help forum, or the "First Steps" link at the top right of each page. |
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools |
|
|
#1 (permalink) |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 14
OS: XP
|
Trojan.Popuper?
Hi,
This is pretty much a query. Spyware Doctor is detecting High Risk Trojan.Popuper 's in my guitar pro 5 folder in program files. However, if I scan with Mcafee 2008 nothing is detected. The files detected are as follows: c:/program files/guitar pro 5//rse/dll/F09.dll c:/program files/guitar pro 5/rse/dll_nosse/F09.dll I was wondering if these are just false positives or if my guitar pro folder has become infected? I do know that each musical note for the sound engine is in this format (e.g. C01.dll, C02.dll, D01.dll, D02.dll, etc) so i'm finding it a bit confusing. Thanks in advance for any help. |
|
|
|
|
#2 (permalink) |
|
Moderator, Analyst, Security Team
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Rhode Island, USA
Posts: 2,502
OS: XP Home SP3, XP Media Center Edition SP3
|
Re: Trojan.Popuper?
It's probably a false positive. But, if you'd like to be sure, you can have it scanned at:
http://virusscan.jotti.org/ or http://www.virustotal.com/xhtml/index_en.html or both.
__________________
My services are free. However, you can donate to TSF to help keep it running and prospering. ASAP ![]()
|
|
|
|
|
#3 (permalink) |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 14
OS: XP
|
Re: Trojan.Popuper?
Thanks for the response. It looks like you're right, I think these are false positives as I believe Mcafee is the best at what it does. The thing that makes me suspicious is that I had a popup saying I am running version of windows with security vulnerability, then it asked me to download a file with ate-my-computer in the filename!? Also, windows didn't recognize the file type. I thought it might be related somehow. Any ideas?
|
|
|
|
|
#4 (permalink) |
|
Moderator, Analyst, Security Team
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Rhode Island, USA
Posts: 2,502
OS: XP Home SP3, XP Media Center Edition SP3
|
Re: Trojan.Popuper?
Perhaps it would be better to follow the instructions here: If you think your computer is infected....
After running through all 5 steps, please post the requested logs in the HijackThis Log Help forum, not here. If you have trouble with one of the steps, simply move on to the next one, and make note of it in your reply. Please note that the HijackThis Log Help forum is extremely busy, and it may take a while to receive a reply
__________________
My services are free. However, you can donate to TSF to help keep it running and prospering. ASAP ![]()
|
|
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
|
|