Welcome to Tech Support Forum home to more then 136,000 problems solved. Issues have included: Spyware, Malware, Virus Issues, Windows, Microsoft, Linux, Networking, Security, Hardware, and Gaming Getting your problem solved is as easy as:
1. Registering for a free account
2. Asking your question
3. Receiving an answer

Registered members:
* Get free support
* Communicate privately with other members (PM).
* Removal of this message
* See fewer ads.
* And much more..

 



Want to know how to post a question? click here Having problems with spyware and pop-ups? First Steps
Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Security Center > General Computer Security
User Name
Password
Site Map Register Donate Rules Blogs Mark Forums Read


General Computer Security Get Help With System Security - This forum is not for malware removal assistance. For malware removal assistance, read the sticky topic at the top of the Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help forum, or the "First Steps" link at the top right of each page.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-20-2007, 10:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
christopher2405's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sunderland
Posts: 159
OS: Windows XP Home SP3, Windows Vista Home Basic

My System

Send a message via MSN to christopher2405
english.ircfast.com

Could someone please tell me if english.ircfast.com is a site linking to malware or a genuine site.

I don't know where they came from (probably my brother) but 4 icons have appeared on my desktop that link to a variation of the above. The icons are:
  1. Download Programs
  2. Translator
  3. Videos
  4. Games
I only tried one link (Translator), but it just redirected to Google translator. I also noticed that my homepage changed to a variation of english.ircfast.com, and was talking about malware removal.

Please help me!
christopher2405 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Important Information
Join the #1 Tech Support Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

TechSupportForum.com is a leading support website for your computer needs. We offer free, friendly and personalized computer support. Why pay to have your computer fixed when you can do it for free.

Join TechSupportforum.com Today - Click Here

Old 06-20-2007, 01:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Moderator/ Rangemaster TSF Academy; Analyst, Security Team; Oor Wullie; TSF Surgeon and Resident Comic
 
Glaswegian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 25,512
OS: Win XP Pro SP3 / Win 7 Pro

My System

Blog Entries: 10
Re: english.ircfast.com

Hi Christopher

As far as I can see, it appears to be a download site, available in a variety of languages. The software on offer is stuff that's freely available at other genuine sites - there doesn't appear to be any cracks etc. They do offer quite a few P2P programmes though. McAfee haven't rated it yet, but it seems OK. Have you tried to change your homepage back to whatever you want? I would just drop those icons in the bin.
__________________
Iain - Defender of the Haggis and all things Scottish.
I don't help by PM - post in the Forums.



PC Safety & Security::PC running a bit slow?::Donate::Photographers Corner
Glaswegian is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2007, 01:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Roaming To Help
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5,642
OS: Many


Quote:
Originally Posted by christopher2405 View Post
I don't know where they came from (probably my brother) but 4 icons have appeared on my desktop that link to a variation of the above. The icons are:
  1. Download Programs
  2. Translator
  3. Videos
  4. Games
I only tried one link (Translator), but it just redirected to Google translator. I also noticed that my homepage changed to a variation of english.ircfast.com, and was talking about malware removal.
This sort of thing, especially desktop icons is from installation of a program usually.
Kalim is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2007, 09:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
christopher2405's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sunderland
Posts: 159
OS: Windows XP Home SP3, Windows Vista Home Basic

My System

Send a message via MSN to christopher2405
Thumbs Up Re: english.ircfast.com

OK thanks, yeah, my homepage can be successfully changed back. Post back if there are any more issues.
christopher2405 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 10:37 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
christopher2405's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sunderland
Posts: 159
OS: Windows XP Home SP3, Windows Vista Home Basic

My System

Send a message via MSN to christopher2405
Re: english.ircfast.com

***UPDATE***

I have NIS 2007 scheduled to run every Friday at 3.30pm. This Friday, Norton found my usual tracking cookie, and removed it, however it also found IRCFAST, which it classified under Security Risk - High.

Norton cannot remove this manually, but tells the user it should be removed.

Thanks for help, hope this helps any future queries.
christopher2405 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2007, 01:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Roaming To Help
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5,642
OS: Many


Hi Christopher

Norton rates the software as Adware due to it's behavior:




Removal instructions: http://www.symantec.com/security_res...851-99&tabid=3

So it would be best to get rid of it, following their instructions. If you encounter any problems then post back and one of the experienced guys will help you.
Kalim is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2007, 06:46 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
christopher2405's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sunderland
Posts: 159
OS: Windows XP Home SP3, Windows Vista Home Basic

My System

Send a message via MSN to christopher2405
Re: english.ircfast.com

Thanks, all clear now (I think). Icons wre still there afterwards, but could easily be deleted in the usual fashion.
christopher2405 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 11:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2
OS: Vista32 + Windows xp pro


Re: english.ircfast.com

Hey. I got this when i downloaded a driver for my mouse at the website. Because i had to navigate around with only my keyboard i think i accidently said Agree to something i shoulden. However the only sympton i got here is that if i am entering a website in Firefox without "WWW" and "COM" etc it will redirect to the website mentioned above.

I would very much like any advise on how to remove this stuff. I allready tryed reinstalling firefox, even to another directory. And as the user above i changed my start page back to normal without any problems.

Thanks in advance.
Anubis2108 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:07 PM.



Copyright 2001 - 2009, Tech Support Forum
Home Tips Plus | Outdoor Basecamp | Automotive Support Forum

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85