Welcome to Tech Support Forum home to more then 136,000 problems solved. Issues have included: Spyware, Malware, Virus Issues, Windows, Microsoft, Linux, Networking, Security, Hardware, and Gaming Getting your problem solved is as easy as:
1. Registering for a free account
2. Asking your question
3. Receiving an answer

Registered members:
* Get free support
* Communicate privately with other members (PM).
* Removal of this message
* See fewer ads.
* And much more..

 



Want to know how to post a question? click here Having problems with spyware and pop-ups? First Steps
Go Back   Tech Support Forum > The Relaxation Room > Offline
User Name
Password
Site Map Register Donate Rules Blogs Mark Forums Read


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-07-2003, 02:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Fox
TSF Enthusiast
 
Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,752
OS: XP Pro, CentOS

My System

Send a message via ICQ to Fox Send a message via AIM to Fox Send a message via MSN to Fox Send a message via Yahoo to Fox Send a message via Skype™ to Fox
"freescratchandwin"

Okay, today when I went on this webpage, a thing popped up, taking over the entire screen. It ran a program that asked if i wanted to install this "freescratchandwin" thing. The thing was, there was only one option: to install it! After thinking for a moment, I control+alt+deleted the rogue program. Here I am, thinking that I have slain the beast, when I spot this little grey icon sitting there innocently in my task bar. I right click it, and sure enough: freescratchandwin! So I go to there website. No contact information there (somehow I thought there wouldn't be). Then I do a WHOIS on freescratchandwin.com and see this name and address:

Administrative Contact:
Begg-Smith, Jason prodesigning@hotmail.com
Thin Air Inc
#12-6320 Lorimer Rd
Whistler, British Columbia V0N1B6
Canada
6049057796 Fax --

ok, the email is sent, but now the god****ed thing is still popping up ads every 2 minutes! I look in task list, nothing abnormal there.
Fox is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Important Information
Join the #1 Tech Support Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

TechSupportForum.com is a leading support website for your computer needs. We offer free, friendly and personalized computer support. Why pay to have your computer fixed when you can do it for free.

Join TechSupportforum.com Today - Click Here

Old 03-07-2003, 03:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Fox
TSF Enthusiast
 
Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,752
OS: XP Pro, CentOS

My System

Send a message via ICQ to Fox Send a message via AIM to Fox Send a message via MSN to Fox Send a message via Yahoo to Fox Send a message via Skype™ to Fox
Oh yes, and also my start page was changed to this dumbass search site xzoomy.com (kinda reminds me of xupiter.com)
Fox is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2003, 07:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Faugh a ballagh
 
Jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pasco, FL
Posts: 8,477
OS: Windows Vista

My System

Blog Entries: 2
You try looking in the startup locations for it? Take it out of there? I hate companies like that. I wish they would go under.
__________________
Posting Tips | Advice for New People | Common Fixes |
Agus na damnaithe fágtha gan focal
Glaoigh ormsa i measc na naomh
Jason is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2003, 05:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Funkee Superstar!
 
DJ Specs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,692
OS: Windows XP Home


Send a message via ICQ to DJ Specs Send a message via AIM to DJ Specs
Oh, the prick is in my neck of the woods... want me to go kick his ***?
__________________
Forever Young!
http://www.djspecs.com
DJ Specs is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2003, 06:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Fox
TSF Enthusiast
 
Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,752
OS: XP Pro, CentOS

My System

Send a message via ICQ to Fox Send a message via AIM to Fox Send a message via MSN to Fox Send a message via Yahoo to Fox Send a message via Skype™ to Fox
Quote:
You try looking in the startup locations for it? Take it out of there? I hate companies like that. I wish they would go under.
I deleted it's registry entries and such. Thanks for the suggestion. I am still waiting for his email apology, though I don't expect to see it any time soon :-)

Oh well, time to submit his email to spamusilly.com
Fox is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2003, 06:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Fox
TSF Enthusiast
 
Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NJ
Posts: 7,752
OS: XP Pro, CentOS

My System

Send a message via ICQ to Fox Send a message via AIM to Fox Send a message via MSN to Fox Send a message via Yahoo to Fox Send a message via Skype™ to Fox
whoops, got that one wrong: it's spamyousilly.com

Great site, great site.
Fox is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:34 AM.



Copyright 2001 - 2009, Tech Support Forum
Home Tips Plus | Outdoor Basecamp | Automotive Support Forum

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85