Welcome to Tech Support Forum home to more then 136,000 problems solved. Issues have included: Spyware, Malware, Virus Issues, Windows, Microsoft, Linux, Networking, Security, Hardware, and Gaming Getting your problem solved is as easy as:
1. Registering for a free account
2. Asking your question
3. Receiving an answer

Registered members:
* Get free support
* Communicate privately with other members (PM).
* Removal of this message
* See fewer ads.
* And much more..

 



Want to know how to post a question? click here Having problems with spyware and pop-ups? First Steps
Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Security and Firewalls
User Name
Password
Site Map Register Donate Rules Blogs Mark Forums Read


Security and Firewalls Protecting you against unwanted people and programs

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-24-2008, 01:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
DevilStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 55
OS: XP


Can someone tell me what this is ?

In Norton log viewer in connections I have this showing up all the time and following from a previous post iv found out that this is whats making my modem lights flash constantly. It does send a few bytes occasionally.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg LogView.jpg (31.8 KB, 8 views)

Last edited by DevilStar; 01-24-2008 at 01:36 PM.
DevilStar is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Important Information
Join the #1 Tech Support Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

TechSupportForum.com is a leading support website for your computer needs. We offer free, friendly and personalized computer support. Why pay to have your computer fixed when you can do it for free.

Join TechSupportforum.com Today - Click Here

Old 01-24-2008, 02:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
DevilStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 55
OS: XP


Re: Can someone tell me what this is ?

Also this
Attached Images
File Type: jpg LogView2.jpg (203.4 KB, 5 views)
DevilStar is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2008, 03:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
DevilStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 55
OS: XP


Re: Can someone tell me what this is ?

Also this
DevilStar is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2008, 07:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Littleton, Colorado USA
Posts: 470
OS: xp 64 sp2 Fedora Core 8 (vmware xp core 8 x32) Minix


Re: Can someone tell me what this is ?

If you do a "dig -x 68.75.24.104" , then the site is a dsl connection on ameritech.net.

104.24.75.68.in-addr.arpa. 172800 IN PTR adsl-68-75-24-104.dsl.wotnoh.ameritech.net


If you do a whois "ameritech.net" (without the quots). This URL is returned: http://www.aboutus.org/AMERITECH.NET

Looks like some kinda spyware bot trying to connect to to the world. I would get some kind of spyware anti-virus software and scan you system. Your browser is probably the culprit.

If somebody has a better idea, please publish here.
lensman3 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2008, 08:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
DevilStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 55
OS: XP


Re: Can someone tell me what this is ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by lensman3 View Post
If you do a "dig -x 68.75.24.104" , then the site is a dsl connection on ameritech.net.

104.24.75.68.in-addr.arpa. 172800 IN PTR adsl-68-75-24-104.dsl.wotnoh.ameritech.net


If you do a whois "ameritech.net" (without the quots). This URL is returned: http://www.aboutus.org/AMERITECH.NET

Looks like some kinda spyware bot trying to connect to to the world. I would get some kind of spyware anti-virus software and scan you system. Your browser is probably the culprit.

If somebody has a better idea, please publish here.
Thanks for the info. Iv run a few virus/spyware programs and it never picks it up
DevilStar is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2008, 09:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
DevilStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 55
OS: XP


Re: Can someone tell me what this is ?

Managed to catch it when its at its worst. At this point my modem activity light goes solid green and I cant surf the net. This time its the same address but a different ip. Is there any way I can block this ?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg caughtit.jpg (31.2 KB, 7 views)
DevilStar is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2008, 09:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Littleton, Colorado USA
Posts: 470
OS: xp 64 sp2 Fedora Core 8 (vmware xp core 8 x32) Minix


Re: Can someone tell me what this is ?

There are some new bots out there that are really tricky. They hide very well, but the slam the email hubs very hard. They hide from windows "task master" completely and if you try to delete them they harm your PC. They have taken virus's to the next level. They primarily are spam bots and they will check in from time to time to get new "letters" to send out.

It sounds like you have scanned your machine so that software should have found them.
lensman3 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2008, 03:41 AM   #8 (permalink)
Moderator, Microsoft Support
 
Go The Power's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: South Australia
Posts: 11,006
OS: Windows XP Home SP2


Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via MSN to Go The Power Send a message via Skype™ to Go The Power
Re: Can someone tell me what this is ?

I would recommend that you go here; read and follow the instructions very carefully; then, post all the requested logs and information; as instructed, to here. (Just click on the coloured links.)

Once done, please be patient, as the Security Team Analysts are usually very busy; one of them will answer your request as soon as they can.


Good luck

Please also remember DO NOT post your logs in this thread, please start a new thread here. (Just click on the coloured link.) and post the logs.
__________________


Go The Power is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:48 PM.



Copyright 2001 - 2009, Tech Support Forum
Home Tips Plus | Outdoor Basecamp | Automotive Support Forum

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85