![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
|||||
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
|||
| Welcome
to Tech Support Forum home to more then 136,000 problems solved. Issues
have included: Spyware, Malware, Virus Issues, Windows, Microsoft,
Linux, Networking, Security, Hardware, and Gaming Getting your
problem solved is as easy as: 1. Registering for a free account 2. Asking your question 3. Receiving an answer Registered members: * See fewer ads. * And much more..
|
| Want to know how to post a question? click here | Having problems with spyware and pop-ups? First Steps |
|
|||||||
| Video Card Support video card support forum; XFX, eVGA, ATI, PNY, Asus, Diamond |
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools |
|
|
#1 (permalink) |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4
OS: WinXP
|
ATI 9600 Pro - or is it?
Hi,
i bought this item from ebay, and shortly after i had paid i was sent an email informing me that the ebayer had been removed and the listening removed too, i had already purchased the item. I recieved the graphics card today but i have had some problems with it. It doesnt work as described. The product was described as an ATI 9600 Pro graphics card, yet windows does not detect it, with official ati drivers installed. Also the driver cd supplied has a virus on it and Windows only detects 16mb of ram on it. The seller has offered to let me return the product and they will reimburse delivery costs if it is faulty and replace the item. however with them being removed from ebay i'm not sure weather to trust him, and weather i would be able to get more information on exactly why he was removed, or what to do. here are some photos of the card, it doesnt look like anyother 9600pro i can find anywhere on the net www.football-gamer.co.uk/alex002.jpg www.football-gamer.co.uk/alex003.jpg www.football-gamer.co.uk/alex004.jpg www.football-gamer.co.uk/alex005.jpg www.football-gamer.co.uk/alex006.jpg also i have emailed ATI & Ebay about this, should i email paypal too? The seller is trying to get me to give him my phone number so he can talk, i gave him my msn address (it was my email address anyhow) |
|
|
|
| Important Information |
|
Join the #1 Tech Support Forum Today - It's Totally Free!
TechSupportForum.com is a leading support website for your computer needs. We offer free, friendly and personalized computer support. Why pay to have your computer fixed when you can do it for free. Join TechSupportforum.com Today - Click Here |
|
|
#2 (permalink) |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
OS:
|
Hi,
Run, don't walk to Paypal and put them on the case, because they have his bank account access to be eligible to use Paypal. Do follow through also with Ebay, but doubt if that will do you much good, but what can you lose? I have a ATI 9600 Pro and it does not look anything like this card. Mine is made by GeCube (a subsidiary of Gigabyte) and is a great card. If you can get it up and running, download this free program and it will tell you what the card is and how much memory it has: Aida32 is now called EVEREST Home Edition (it's still free). http://www.lavalys.com/index.php?page=products_index I would also advise against providing your home phone number at this time unless advised to do so by Paypal or Ebay. It might be wiser if you want to talk to him to ask them for his number and call him instead of having him call you and have your number. Just my thoughts. |
|
|
|
#4 (permalink) |
|
TSF Enthusiast
|
Yea, I was just about to suggest you download Everest to check. But I can tell you that it's not a 9600Pro because all 9600s are 1.5,0.8 volt only AGP boards and the board in your pictures has a 3.3 volt slot. If you're interested in such details there are example diagrams here. But in plain english, you can tell it's not a 9600 (or even a 9550) because of the two slots in the edge connector. 9600s only have the slot which is farther away from the back plate. Please post what Everest says it really is. I'd love to see it. Oh, and by the way, I wouldn't take the total lack of a manufacturer to be a good sign.
EDIT: Crap! I really must be a slow typist! Bud, they should pay you to take a Xabre! Last edited by UncleMacro; 02-11-2005 at 06:09 PM. |
|
|
|
|
|
#5 (permalink) | |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 4
OS: WinXP
|
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#6 (permalink) | |
|
TSF Enthusiast
|
Quote:
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#8 (permalink) | |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 15
OS: XP Pro
|
Ouch!
Quote:
Looks like I got bit too, The same board but in a static bag. My CD looks better. I can't get windows XP to reconize it eather. Ken |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#10 (permalink) |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
OS:
|
Hi,
Gee, so sorry to hear of your problem. What a jerk that guy must be...that is fraud. Please, if either of you who has had that problem gets your money back rhrough Paypal or Ebay, let us know. Just need to know how good their guarantee is for stuff like this. Mark |
|
|
|
#11 (permalink) | |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 15
OS: XP Pro
|
Quote:
I let you know, but I think he will make it right. Ken |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#12 (permalink) | |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1
OS: WinXP
|
Quote:
I contacted the seller through email and he told me to send the item back and if he couldn't get it to work then he would refund me. This is what I received from him today: Code:
Note from Seller: Chad, We received your card and tested it the drivers installed with no problem and the DVI port worked normal. We didn't however receive the cable back We have issued the refund that you have requested and we hope that we get to do business again soon |
|
|
|
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
|
|