Welcome to Tech Support Forum home to more then 136,000 problems solved. Issues have included: Spyware, Malware, Virus Issues, Windows, Microsoft, Linux, Networking, Security, Hardware, and Gaming Getting your problem solved is as easy as:
1. Registering for a free account
2. Asking your question
3. Receiving an answer

Registered members:
* Get free support
* Communicate privately with other members (PM).
* Removal of this message
* See fewer ads.
* And much more..

 



Want to know how to post a question? click here Having problems with spyware and pop-ups? First Steps
Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support
User Name
Password
Site Map Register Donate Rules Blogs Mark Forums Read


Laptop Support Support Forum for laptops; Sony, Toshiba, HP, Acer, Dell

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-02-2006, 10:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Enthusiastic TSFer~Joseph
 
Joefireline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Portishead (Bristol) England
Posts: 5,319
OS: Windows 7 64bit(Desktop) / XP Home SP2(laptop)

My System

Send a message via MSN to Joefireline
http://www.portabletech.co.uk/

Hi, I am going to be buying a laptop very soon, I was searching the internet for a good deal with a laptop, I am wanting one which has a fairly good graphics chip (128mb dedicated), a fairly fast processor but not 5 meters thick! I found a site, http://www.portabletech.co.uk/, and there prices seem unbelievably low. (An Acer laptop, sold at £1400 at one place, but only £639.99 here!).
Does anyone know anything about http://www.portabletech.co.uk/? Are they trustworthy and have they got good customer services? Can anyone here tell me about them?
Joefireline is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Important Information
Join the #1 Tech Support Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

TechSupportForum.com is a leading support website for your computer needs. We offer free, friendly and personalized computer support. Why pay to have your computer fixed when you can do it for free.

Join TechSupportforum.com Today - Click Here

Old 04-02-2006, 10:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 102
OS: XP, Vista Home & Ultimate / Ubuntu "Hardy Heron"


Looks a bit flight-by-nightish to me. Something about it makes my "401 Sense" tingle, too. (Nigerian scam artists)

There doesn't seem to be any buzz on the net about it being a scam, though... doesn't mean they're clean (check the copyright date on the webpage - the paint isn't even dry).


All in all it looks like a gamble to me. Any online shop that doesn't even have the ability to take orders online is a bit scary.
Spektyr is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2006, 10:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
Enthusiastic TSFer~Joseph
 
Joefireline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Portishead (Bristol) England
Posts: 5,319
OS: Windows 7 64bit(Desktop) / XP Home SP2(laptop)

My System

Send a message via MSN to Joefireline
Yeah, that's what I was thinking, but if there is someone who has brought off here, and has had good service, and the item has arrived undamaged, then it might be worth a try, I might just phone them.
Joefireline is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2006, 06:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Enthusiastic TSFer~Joseph
 
Joefireline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Portishead (Bristol) England
Posts: 5,319
OS: Windows 7 64bit(Desktop) / XP Home SP2(laptop)

My System

Send a message via MSN to Joefireline
I have read through the terms and conditions, and it all seems fine and reasonable, so I just don't know how the get the laptops in so cheap.
I have e-mailed them; don't know if I will get a reply, if I don't, then I won't buy from them.
Joefireline is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 03:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Enthusiastic TSFer~Joseph
 
Joefireline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Portishead (Bristol) England
Posts: 5,319
OS: Windows 7 64bit(Desktop) / XP Home SP2(laptop)

My System

Send a message via MSN to Joefireline
Update: The site has been suspended, so it must have been dodgy...
"Site suspended at the instruction of

Principal Consumer Services Officer
Trading Standards Service
London Borough of Tower Hamlets
Southern Grove
London E3 4PN

Tel: 020 7364 6687"

Take a look! http://www.portabletech.co.uk/
Joefireline is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:25 PM.



Copyright 2001 - 2009, Tech Support Forum
Home Tips Plus | Outdoor Basecamp | Automotive Support Forum

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85