Welcome to Tech Support Forum home to more then 136,000 problems solved. Issues have included: Spyware, Malware, Virus Issues, Windows, Microsoft, Linux, Networking, Security, Hardware, and Gaming Getting your problem solved is as easy as:
1. Registering for a free account
2. Asking your question
3. Receiving an answer

Registered members:
* Get free support
* Communicate privately with other members (PM).
* Removal of this message
* See fewer ads.
* And much more..

 



Want to know how to post a question? click here Having problems with spyware and pop-ups? First Steps
Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Gaming Forum > Gaming Discussion
User Name
Password
Site Map Register Donate Rules Blogs Mark Forums Read


Gaming Discussion General discussion for computer and console gaming.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-22-2009, 10:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 71
OS: Vista Premium 32 SP2

My System

Quick warning for Razer users.

Just a FYI, the drivers offered on the Razer website seem to have been infected with trojans. Might pay for you to check your system if you have recently downloaded from their site.

Source: http://www.theregister.co.uk/2009/09/21/razer_distributes_malware/
Origin is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Important Information
Join the #1 Tech Support Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

TechSupportForum.com is a leading support website for your computer needs. We offer free, friendly and personalized computer support. Why pay to have your computer fixed when you can do it for free.

Join TechSupportforum.com Today - Click Here

Old 09-22-2009, 10:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Senior Tech, Games Team
 
5NIPER_WOLF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 3,251
OS: Windows VISTA Home Premium 64-Bit/Fedora 11/Mandriva/WinXP SP3

My System

Blog Entries: 3
Re: Quick warning for Razer users.

This has been a problem for other companies too, such as Logitech.

The problem is, the drivers that are used will search online and download updates, this can be seem as a trojan for some anti-virus programs.

I absolutely assure you no company would willingly infect people's PC's.

However, this is not to say your computer isn't infected, you should remove the infected software, scan your system and then reinstall the software too eliminate the virus.
__________________

Apps - CCleaner FireBug Network Mapper WinDirStat Process Explorer SpeedFan
Info - Very Important NVIDIA Drivers ATI Drivers PSU Info
I do not give support with MSN/E-mail or Private Messages.
5NIPER_WOLF is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 11:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 12,356
OS: XP/7/Ubuntu

My System

Re: Quick warning for Razer users.

Although it is known that antivrus programs can sometimes falsely report drivers as being infected, this problem of Razer's infected drivers (from 19-Sept onwards) has been confirmed, and is being looked into.

Quote:
...Rik Ferguson, a senior security adviser in Europe with anti-virus firm Trend Micro, warned users could be at risk.

"A large amount of the device drivers offered for download at the Razer support site were infected with a Trojan," Ferguson wrote Monday. "It is unclear how long the problem has been ongoing, so in the meantime, if you downloaded anything from Razer recently, head over to HouseCall and run a full system scan and clean up if necessary."

According to Ferguson, the trojan was activated when users clicked on a link used to download drivers from the website. A recent analysis by VirusTotal shows the malware is detected by just seven of the 41 major AV products. The trojan then caused users to download a file named usbctl.exe, which installed another piece of malware known as WORM.ASPXOR.AB in a computer's system directory.
__________________

New members: Subscribe to your thread (Thread Tools) to
receive an instant email notification when you get a reply.

TSF Folding@Home Team 85015 - details here
koala is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 06:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Pass The Oreos
 
ArmaTheGreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cainta, PH
Posts: 570
OS: Windows XP SP2

My System

Re: Quick warning for Razer users.

Maybe it's an error from the drivers that security softwares thinks it's harmful. But in Razer's case it is really a malicious program.
__________________
Regards,

Arma The Greek
"Look using your eyes but see with your mind."
ArmaTheGreek is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!Reddit!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:16 AM.



Copyright 2001 - 2009, Tech Support Forum
Home Tips Plus | Outdoor Basecamp | Automotive Support Forum

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85