Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

wireless adapter not present/unplugged

94K views 20 replies 3 participants last post by  joeten 
#1 ·
hello all. newbie here. so far from reading other posts i see many having same issues. like many others i too had to restore my acer aspireone model # AOA150..if im looking at the right info under laptop. os is windows xp and service pack 3.

after restoring tofactory settings most isworking fine. right now on internet via ethernet.

my problem is that i cannot get wireless internet going. i have tried to reinstall the atheros driver,which i think is the correct driver for this wireless connection. when i click install get a message "atheros 802.11.a/b/g wireless adapter...device may not be present or could have been ejected/unplugged from the system. insert or reinsert now".

i tried different drivers like from acer website but same results. the device does not show under device manager. been going at it for days. thought id ask for some advice. thanks in advance for any assistance i can get.

#3 ·
i installed chipset,audio & video & LAN from the acer erecovery folder on desktop. but wouldnt lan alrready ben installed since ethernet connection is working? wehn trying to install camera it asked to insert device. but camera is internal. anyway tried to install atheros wireless lan and got same results..when you say install wifi, is this same as wireless lan? thanks for reply.

#8 ·
.....also tought idmention that the little wireless indicator light on the bottom right hand side does not turn on; but when i push switch get message that "wilreless lan enabled/disabled". so iguess the switch works, but it doesnt sem to activate or disactivate wirless device..just mention it in case it means something.

#12 ·
1) Check device manager & expand the option that says network adapters.