Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

[SOLVED] Thunderbird Emails not Downloading

24K views 5 replies 3 participants last post by  wmorri 
#1 ·
Hi this is my first time on this Tech Support, so tell me if I'm asking a common question that the answer can be found elsewhere.
I am using Thunderbird, have since Outlook Express didn't work July 07.
All was working OK, I leave my computer on all the time, connected to internet and Thunderbird on, I went out at 6pm came home around 9pm and my computer had restarted? Maybe there was a power failure while I was out? So I opened up Thunderbird email again, to check out what new emails I'd received, but I kept getting "Alert" messages for all 7 of my email addresses. "Could not connect to the server. Connection was refused" After I'd called my ISP Optusnet.com.au and told them the probelms, they wouldn't support my problem because I'm using Thunderbird, not Outlook Express, they suggested I remove all email accounts and re-enter them, and that would fix it. So I removed the email accounts and re-entered them again. I could not see any place in the set-up area to add in any passwords, so I guess you don't need them for Thunderbird? So I re-added all 7 email account settings. But the emails still will not download from the server. They are on the server as the Technical Support at Optusnet, checked for me.
He stated I needed to type in the incoming and outgoing server as mail.optusnet.com.au, which I did for that part, even though it shows on the finished form for outgoing server name : suzee3-mail.optusnet.com.au.
Is that OK? Previously I set my email default to my most commonly used email user name as suzee3. That is the only email address that Optusnet will do the free spam filter on, not on any of my other 6 email addresses with Optusnet.