Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows Servers

What does "log on locally" mean?

This is a discussion on What does "log on locally" mean? within the Windows Servers forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category.

Closed Thread

Old 09-15-2009, 07:24 PM   #1
Registered Member

I'm studying for a Microsoft exam and I am confused. When someone can “log on locally”, what exactly does that mean? Does this mean that the user would have to choose the computer name as opposed to the domain to log on locally, or does it mean that the user can log on using a cached authentication if the domain controller is not available? From my reading it states that someone in the “power users” group can log on locally. Wouldn't you have to physically create a local account in the Users and Computers area for a person to be able to log on locally? How does the “power users” group do that?

Old 09-17-2009, 11:27 AM   #2
Registered Member

its mean which users has the rights to login and use the machine, its the first step before what permission they have on the machine.

this policy you can find it by run gpedit.msc
navigate under computer configuration to:
windows settings
security settings
local policies
user right assignment
in the right pane you will find "log on locally"
double click it and you will see which users and groups have the right to login to the computer.

in a Domain Controller (DC) the for example a domain user account cannot login to the (DC) but can be login to any other computer if there is no restriction.

more info:
Allow log on locally