Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows Servers

[SOLVED] Mapped drive access is slow

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Mapped drive access is slow within the Windows Servers forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. hi , i am facing a very strange issue with windows 2003 server AD eviornment as i have users that


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-15-2007, 07:28 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
mohitgoyal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: India
Posts: 55
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium



hi ,
i am facing a very strange issue with windows 2003 server AD eviornment as i have users that uses mapped drive from the domain server.Some of my users are facing the issue of unexpected deply in opening their files. This is hampering thier work...i had tried to uninstall the service pack from thier machine but still the same. The client machine configuration is Windows XP Pro service pack 2, 1 GB RAM, Fast Ethernet 10/100 card.
Can anyone hep me out.

__________________
mohitgoyal is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 04:49 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,042
OS: Windows Server 2003



How are the drives being mapped (script, or manually)?

How is the servers performance, durring the lag time?

Are client machines in the same building? How many users connecting? How many switches/hubs does this go through.

It sounds like a server side issue?

See if the disk can be defragged?

__________________
Because you can read this thank a teacher, because it's English thank a soldier.
newhouse1390 is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 06:39 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
mohitgoyal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: India
Posts: 55
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium



hello

dirves are being mapped through script and yes i had noticed that whice the user tries to access the file from mapped drive i had noticed accessive hike in useage of network resources.
yes all clients are inthe same building and there are around 20 users connected to this perticular sever.
there are 7 to 8 switches and no hubs installed int he network.

Are suspecting any kind of virus activity in the server...
for your information such kind of problem is not being faced by any of the other user..for this i had scanned user`s system for antivirus but all clean.

i had recently defragmented server and after that this issue had arised.

even i will try to do defrag the server again
__________________
mohitgoyal is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 06:48 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
mohitgoyal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: India
Posts: 55
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium



hi i had attached a screen shot of the LAN while the user is accessing the file form it`s mapped drive.
Attached Files
File Type: doc mapped drive access.doc (26.5 KB, 687 views)
__________________
mohitgoyal is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 07:58 AM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,042
OS: Windows Server 2003



The network utilization that you are seeing is not out of the norm. In fact I hit almost 2.5% when accessing my network drives.

Though I do not think this would be virus related, it would be worth looking into.

Nothing has changed in the network topology that could bring this issue up. You say it happened when you defragged this disk?

What if you map the drive manually rather that going throgh a script (just one time to test). See if when you mapped the drive yourself if you get any better results. The reason I want you to try this is to make sure that the Full path is given in the script...
__________________
Because you can read this thank a teacher, because it's English thank a soldier.
newhouse1390 is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 12:10 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
mohitgoyal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: India
Posts: 55
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium



i had already scanned the drive but that was clean....as you said i had mapped the drive manually but the issue is same nothing changed.

i am not able to make out where it gone wrong..earlier that was working fine....
__________________
mohitgoyal is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 02:30 PM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,042
OS: Windows Server 2003



Do you have trouble accessing the data locally? Could this be an issue with the NIC?

If this is a Production Server after hours plug machine to machine via the network (no switch/router) and see if this exists? Is that possible for you? If not you may want to just by another NIC to see if that doesn't fix...I don;t think that are too expensive.
__________________
Because you can read this thank a teacher, because it's English thank a soldier.
newhouse1390 is offline  
Old 06-19-2007, 06:55 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 109
OS: SBS2k3R2, WIN2k3, XP, 2000, NT

My System


Hello mohitgoyal

If you are mapping the drive to the computer name try to map it to the IP (\\172.16.200.15\data instead of \\server\data) or vice versa.

also flush your clients dns cache. its just to me sounds like dns/wins issue.
are you running wins? if so map the drives to the servers fully qualified domain name (\\server.domain.local\data).
is the clients default dns server your domains dns server? it could be timing out from another server and then resolving the name with a secondary dns server which is working?

the over expected network activity is normal as everytime a client asks for a resource from the server the server checks the ACL (Access Control List) for permissions, not just at loggon. this enabled administrators to change resource permissions in real-time and are effective immediantly.

Good Luck.

Ed
__________________
ecrocombe is offline  
Old 06-19-2007, 07:56 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Central PA
Posts: 27
OS: WinXP Pro SP2 / Win Server 2003 Ent SP2



I was thinking DNS too. Maybe you have external DNS servers set for the clients along with local DNS. They might have to timeout before it can find the server name.
__________________
loesch8102 is offline  
Old 06-20-2007, 05:46 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
mohitgoyal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: India
Posts: 55
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium



hey,
i am not using WINS server...and have tried by FQDN and mapping via IP address...but still the same..but yes as loesch8102 suggested i have ane ISP DNS configured in clent machine as secondary server... i think i can remove it and can check it out...and wil update you guys
__________________
mohitgoyal is offline  
Old 06-20-2007, 09:04 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 109
OS: SBS2k3R2, WIN2k3, XP, 2000, NT

My System


hi mohitgoyal,

client's should proberly not be targeting an external dns server directly even if its only the seconday dns server as it does cause a security flaw and has an impact on your networks performance and stablility.

did you try any of my last suggestions??

Ed
__________________
ecrocombe is offline  
Old 06-27-2007, 09:41 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
mohitgoyal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: India
Posts: 55
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium



hi,
this issue was solved upto certian extent but recently we had switched to leased line and it has become mendatory for us to use thier DNS IP address for successful access of internet abd if i do the same then same issue persists.More over machine of my boss which do nto have the External DNS setting is also giving same issue...this kind of problem has really pissed me off.
please help me out of it.
__________________
mohitgoyal is offline  
Old 06-27-2007, 09:48 AM   #13
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,042
OS: Windows Server 2003



Have we looked into the possibility of this being a bad NIC?
__________________
Because you can read this thank a teacher, because it's English thank a soldier.
newhouse1390 is offline  
Old 06-27-2007, 09:51 AM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,042
OS: Windows Server 2003



Test this solution...

http://www.mcmaster.ca/ctl/slwebclient.htm
__________________
Because you can read this thank a teacher, because it's English thank a soldier.
newhouse1390 is offline  
Old 06-27-2007, 03:56 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
mohitgoyal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: India
Posts: 55
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium



hey thankz a lot buddy...it resolved my issue.....thanks a tonz......
God bless you.
__________________
mohitgoyal is offline  
Old 06-27-2007, 06:49 PM   #16
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,042
OS: Windows Server 2003



Glad we could get it working again.

__________________
Because you can read this thank a teacher, because it's English thank a soldier.
newhouse1390 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Various Malware - Downloaders
Please help i have been trying unsuccessfully for the past two weeks to remove the various malware that has infected my other computer. It all started when the computer involved which is running Windows 98SE accidentally downloaded the drsmartload.exe virus. Since then i have had constant pop-ups...
Rabbit77 Resolved HJT Threads 14 03-28-2006 06:41 PM
Ad-ware opens tabs in Firefox
Ive tried everything, run every scanner i could find, there are no processes that shouldnt be there in task manager. Nothing in startup or in services of MSCONFIG. Im stumped. Every couple minutes a new tab will open in firefox(Or if Ff is not open then it will open) With and address that will have...
Twisted-Metal Resolved HJT Threads 21 01-27-2006 10:04 AM
urgent...adware n trojanhorse prob
hello...this is wat i get from hijackthis... pls do help me to solve da prob as soon as possible as i got asgmnt to rush to... this prob spoil my mood n i really worry this will affect my laptop performance in future... is this prob solveable or its better i reformat my laptop??? Logfile of...
meena Inactive Malware Help Topics 19 11-27-2005 12:55 AM
as.yieldmanager issues
Haven't been able to kill this thing. I've been reading through tons of forums and i think I've got all the software now...hijackthis, cclean, ewido, adaware, spybot, etc. Nothing is killing this damn thing. Please help - also, I think we should send this stuff to our congess and reps. Maybe...
devoid Resolved HJT Threads 8 11-12-2005 03:24 PM
hijackthis log
gfile of HijackThis v1.99.1 Safe. Safe. Shows the version of HijackThis an. The newest version is: v1.99.1! This should be the newest version. (v1.99.1) Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600) MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180) Safe....
kingsburytony Resolved HJT Threads 8 10-24-2005 04:56 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:49 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts