If I create a new file or edit an existing file, they are updated to the server when logging off. However if we delete a file it is not deleted from the server and reappears on their profile after the computer is restarted (Note, if you simply log off and on, the files do not reappear, the computer has to be restarted)
As for permissions. The users with the issue have the same permissions as all other staff members onsite. To be specific, these are:
The profile folder is held on a logical drive on one of my servers. The path to the staff profiles on that server is H:\home\staff\%user
The Home folder on the route of the H Drive is shared out. An all staff members group have modify permission on This Folder Only. The only options ticked off here are Full Control, Delete Subfolders and Files, Change Permissions and Take Ownership. The All Staff group have Full Control on the Share Permissions
The Staff folder within Home is not shared out. The permissions for the All Staff Group on this are for This Folder Only. The granted permissions are: Traverse Folder/Execute File, List Folder/Read Data, Read Attributes, Read Extended Attributes, Read Permissions.
The Individual Profile Folders are also not shared out. Looking at a sample folder of one of the problem users, her login has Full Control permissions on her profile folder. The permissions for her on her profile folder are identical to all other user permissions on their own individual folders, but its only a handful of people having this problem.
As I said, the people with this problem are working here a long time, I feel it might be a legacy issue. I also feel that the problem lies in the fact that the files reappear only after the computer is rebooted, and not just if the user logs off/on again.
Thanks for the reply. Any more suggestions would be greatly appreciated.