Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows Servers

Anti Virus Software for SBS 2008

This is a discussion on Anti Virus Software for SBS 2008 within the Windows Servers forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category.

Closed Thread

Old 07-02-2010, 07:57 AM   #1
Registered Member

Hi,

I'm fairly new to server operating systems, though I've been involved with PC's and Windows for as long as I can remember. I wouldn't dream of connecting any PC to the internet without installing some Anti Virus software on it first. However, having read loads of posts and articles on the net about Anti Virus software for servers, peoples opinion seems to be divided on whether you need it (or should actually use it).

Some people say Anti Virus software can (will?) significantly slow your server down. I know that some of the top PC Anti-Virus software is notorious for slowing a PC down. Over the years the more these Anti-Virus vendors have tried to make their software do the slower your PC gets. Yes, you can disable features and tell it not to scan certain folders or files to speed it up but there is still a performance cost of having AV software installed on any PC.

But not to have ANY Anti Virus protection just seems CRAZY!

I read an independent review about Microsoft’s relatively new "Security Essentials" being very good with low overheads and I use that on most of my client PC's with excellent results (so far). However I know it doesn't run on a server OS.

I've heard that Microsoft’s "Live OneCare for Server" has been discontinued.

I don’t use IE on my server often to browse the net but do occasionally. I have remote users connecting for OWA and RWW plus VPN. Lots of things connect to my server yet I have no Anti Virus protection.

So, come on all you SBS users and Server users, what do you use for your Anti Virus Protection?

Old 07-02-2010, 08:15 AM   #2
- Microsoft Support