Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Cases and Cooling

Speedfan / fan speed 0rpm but it works normaly

This is a discussion on Speedfan / fan speed 0rpm but it works normaly within the Cases and Cooling forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. first of all immage: AND YE... SORRY THAT PICTURE IS TO BIG I DON'T KNOW HOW TO UPLOAD SMALLER :S


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-06-2010, 11:22 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10
OS: Windows 7



first of all immage:

AND YE... SORRY THAT PICTURE IS TO BIG I DON'T KNOW HOW TO UPLOAD SMALLER :S



problem is that all 3 Aux fans have 0 rpm but they work normaly, now i can't control them how fast they spin and my computer is then verry HOT :S someone know how can i control them?

__________________
matolife10 is offline  
Old 07-06-2010, 01:10 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
shotgn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 3,897
OS: Win 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System


What are your system specs? Prebuilt=dell hp etc, or custom? mobo ram cpu psu hdd?

Also can you go into bios and post your temps and voltages?

We will try to deal with your heat issues first

__________________
Please post your System specs
CPU-Z - GPU-Z - Speccy - PSU Info and Selection - How to Bench Test - Test your PSU - Memtest86
Do or do not, there is no try -yoda-
shotgn is offline  
Old 07-06-2010, 01:34 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10
OS: Windows 7



well i buildet computer: (sorry for bad english)

NVIDIA GTX 295
motherboard ASSUS P5Q
6gb of ram
Intel core 2 quad q9650
(dont know how to tell in english) 750W ATX 12V
HDD: Samsung 1TB 7.200 32MB SATA-2


i can't play games normaly anymore cuz graphic go over 100C in 30min of gameplay and all cores are to hot.

now i will go to bios and will post.
__________________
matolife10 is offline  
Old 07-06-2010, 02:11 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10
OS: Windows 7



here i will just tell all from tab HARDWARE MONITOR from bios

CPU temperature 52C
MB temperature 46C
CPU fan speed 2481 rpm
CPU Q-fan control: disabled
chassis fan 1 speed: 1467 rpm
chassis fan 2 speed: n/a
chassis Q-fan control: disabled
power fan speed: n/a

CPU voltage: 1.200V
3.3V voltage: 3.312V
5V voltage: 5.136V
12V voltage: 12.208V

something is wrong with my graphic card to it is to hot :S my regular temperature is 70C in desktop with 60% working fans :S and i clean it every month

all my exhaust fans are working at 20% allways (that is auto i can't set up manual :S)

i can only manual graphic fan, system, and 1 intake.
but 1 bigest intake and 2 normal sized exhaust are always at 20% :S:S
__________________
matolife10 is offline  
Old 07-07-2010, 04:28 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
shotgn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 3,897
OS: Win 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System


I would suspect the PSU, Can you get the name or brand off the PSU?
__________________
Please post your System specs
CPU-Z - GPU-Z - Speccy - PSU Info and Selection - How to Bench Test - Test your PSU - Memtest86
Do or do not, there is no try -yoda-
shotgn is offline  
Old 07-09-2010, 02:39 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10
OS: Windows 7



i don't understand english werry good.. so sorry

power suply... toughpower cable mangement 750W, ATX 12V 2.2 & EPS 12W
__________________
matolife10 is offline  
Old 07-09-2010, 10:16 AM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
shotgn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 3,897
OS: Win 7 Ultimate 64bit

My System


How old is psu?

Also have you cleaned out the computer with a can of compressed air?
__________________
Please post your System specs
CPU-Z - GPU-Z - Speccy - PSU Info and Selection - How to Bench Test - Test your PSU - Memtest86
Do or do not, there is no try -yoda-
shotgn is offline  
Old 07-10-2010, 02:56 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10
OS: Windows 7



PSU is 1 year old, yes i did clear it
__________________
matolife10 is offline  
Old 07-10-2010, 04:59 AM   #9
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,271
OS: Win7



Do the other fans hook directly to the power supply or to the motherboard?
If they hook directly to the power supply on a 4 pin molex connector then you can't control them through speedfan.

Check that the heatsink is still tight to the CPU and that 1 or more of the 4 legs has not popped up loose.
Wrench97 is online now  
Old 07-11-2010, 08:56 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by wrench97 View Post
Do the other fans hook directly to the power supply or to the motherboard?
If they hook directly to the power supply on a 4 pin molex connector then you can't control them through speedfan.

Check that the heatsink is still tight to the CPU and that 1 or more of the 4 legs has not popped up loose.
yes it is all it should to be, can i somehow control fans that are pluged in to power suply or i can not. cuz those fans who aree pluged in ps are 2 who blow air out and 2 who blow air in. and so i van control only sys fan and gpu. damn!!!!
__________________
matolife10 is offline  
Old 07-11-2010, 09:10 AM   #11
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,271
OS: Win7



The only way is add a fan controller panel or hook them to the board, Which P5Q board do you have there are a bunch, Deluxe, SE, Pro?
Wrench97 is online now  
Old 07-12-2010, 09:12 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by wrench97 View Post
The only way is add a fan controller panel or hook them to the board, Which P5Q board do you have there are a bunch, Deluxe, SE, Pro?
P5Q pro

and i dont know how to hook them on the board, cuz they are wierdly pluged in PS, its like 2 pins...

only sys fan is pluged in board but if i unplug others from PS i cant plug them in board...

i will buy fan controler but idk... can i unplug those who are pluged in PS and plug them in fan contorller
__________________
matolife10 is offline  
Old 07-12-2010, 10:43 AM   #13
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,271
OS: Win7



The board has 2 Chassis fan headers and 1 PSU fan header.
What brand are the fans you have, some are 3 wire fans that plug into a adapter that make them 2 wire 12v & ground, and plug into a 4 pin molex(IDE hard drive connector) connector.
Wrench97 is online now  
Old 07-12-2010, 12:32 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by wrench97 View Post
The board has 2 Chassis fan headers and 1 PSU fan header.
What brand are the fans you have, some are 3 wire fans that plug into a adapter that make them 2 wire 12v & ground, and plug into a 4 pin molex(IDE hard drive connector) connector.
120x120 mm fans 2 of them yes they are 3 wire fans but 2 wires are connected in 4 pin molex

and one is rly big i don't know exactly but it is near 200x200mm fan it is blowing air in from right side where u can open computer.
__________________
matolife10 is offline  
Old 07-12-2010, 12:45 PM   #15
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,271
OS: Win7



if it's not a adapter from a 3 pin connector to the 4 pin molex connector than a fan controller panel is the only option(besides replacing the fans)> http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811995017
Wrench97 is online now  
Old 07-12-2010, 02:44 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by wrench97 View Post
if it's not a adapter from a 3 pin connector to the 4 pin molex connector than a fan controller panel is the only option(besides replacing the fans)> http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811995017
yes on 2 of fans i found those adapters but only yelow is pluged in... can i put out those 2 (black, red) out of 4 pin molex and put it back to 3 pin adapter?
__________________
matolife10 is offline  
Old 07-12-2010, 02:48 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 10
OS: Windows 7



dude are you saying if i buy fan controler i can put those 2 wires to fan controller?
__________________
matolife10 is offline  
Old 07-12-2010, 02:52 PM   #18
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,271
OS: Win7



If you have the 3 pin connector plug it into the motherboard header, the third wire is for the speed sensor, and yes that controller will plug into either the 3 pin connector or the molex 4 pin connector.
'
The two wires from the molex are power(yellow) and the second is the ground(black).

Wrench97 is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:05 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts