Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Alternative Computing > Mac Support

Can't access Youtube only

This is a discussion on Can't access Youtube only within the Mac Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi guys. I was able to access youtube from my mac, when at home until September last year. Since then,


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-14-2012, 10:51 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
OS: Mac OS X Lion



Hi guys.

I was able to access youtube from my mac, when at home until September last year. Since then, I can no longer access youtube while at home. While I can access it from anywhere else. I'm experiencing this problem on all my windows machines as well. The only exception is one windows laptop and my nokia mobile phones. From my iPhone, I can't access youtube through safari. However, I can access youtube using the Youtube app.

While accessing the internet from anywhere else, I can easily access youtube using any of my machines (including my mac) and my iPhone's safari app. for example, I can easily access youtube while using the same macbook pro at work.

Any ideas what could be the cause?

Thanks in advance.

Shakeel.

__________________
shakeelw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 04:25 PM   #2
Macintosh Methodology Wizard - TSF Retired
 
sinclair_tm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dusty Mexican Border Lands
Posts: 13,315
OS: Mac OS X 10.6.8 & 10.8.3, MS Win 7 Pro & Ultimate, iOS 7.0.6

My System

Send a message via AIM to sinclair_tm Send a message via MSN to sinclair_tm

Your ISP is blocking it, or the router or modem is.

__________________
.





Quote:
it's human nature to stand in line...
-my brother
sinclair_tm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 12:30 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
OS: Mac OS X Lion



Then how come one of my windows laptop, my Nokia phones and the Youtube app on my iPhone can access it. Please also note that on the same iPhone, I can't access youtube using the Safari browser.

Thanks again.

Shakeel.
__________________
shakeelw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 01:50 PM   #4
Macintosh Methodology Wizard - TSF Retired
 
sinclair_tm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dusty Mexican Border Lands
Posts: 13,315
OS: Mac OS X 10.6.8 & 10.8.3, MS Win 7 Pro & Ultimate, iOS 7.0.6

My System

Send a message via AIM to sinclair_tm Send a message via MSN to sinclair_tm

The app will go directly to the IP address of youtube. Are the phones using your wifi, or the cellular network? Also, the laptop could be using different DNS information. Go into your network settings on the Mac and type in 8.8.8.8 as the DNS and see if it works.
__________________
.





Quote:
it's human nature to stand in line...
-my brother
sinclair_tm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 01:20 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
OS: Mac OS X Lion



Thanks so much Sinclair :)

I found out that it was intact the gateway router that was blocking it. Seems like my brother was experimenting with the permission settings and thought that he had actually removed it afterwards. The permission configuration page is a bit confusing ;P

However, I'm still puzzled as to how the other devices continued to work. I've already tried the DNS tests and even tried to access youtube using the ip address from my mac, but to no avail.

The mobile phones use my wifi.

Anyways, the problem is resolved. But the mystery of how other devices were working still remains. Now, it's just my curiosity that's driving me to still investigate XD

Any ideas would be helpful.

Thanx again for the help and support :D

Shakeel
__________________
shakeelw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2012, 06:54 PM   #6
Macintosh Methodology Wizard - TSF Retired
 
sinclair_tm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dusty Mexican Border Lands
Posts: 13,315
OS: Mac OS X 10.6.8 & 10.8.3, MS Win 7 Pro & Ultimate, iOS 7.0.6

My System

Send a message via AIM to sinclair_tm Send a message via MSN to sinclair_tm

Even with WiFi, because they are phones, if they can't get to a site via WiFi, they go out to the cellular network to connect. As for the other laptop, not sure, unless it found an open network and was hopping on there to get Youtube.

__________________
.





Quote:
it's human nature to stand in line...
-my brother
sinclair_tm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Vista can't open XP shared folders
Re: My Vista can not open/view XP files, though XP can open/view Vista's. My Vista can ping my XP. My XP can ping my Vista. My XP can open/view files on my Vista. But when using my Vista, and I click on the XP computer showing in my Nwtwork to open my XP wireless laptop (Averatec) files, I...
claytonreid File and Application Sharing 19 09-30-2011 11:19 PM
Help please! After creating an additional youtube/google account I can't get youtube!
Hi, I created an additional youtube account and now can no longer access youtube at all! I have seen several similar questions asked about this online - all of which found no answer! So who ever can solve this will be a genius! I created an additional youtube account, and the forcefully linked...
Appreciation Internet Explorer Forum 10 06-09-2011 07:51 AM
Why Can't Access Google or YouTube?
Everytime I try in Firefox it says 'Unable to establish a connection.' I tried in IE and it said 'Cannot find server.' It's reserved only to Google sites, like Picasa, Docs, YouTube, Gmail, etc. Yesterday afternoon I could go to them, but after someone finished faxing on the line I couldn't. Bing,...
rs55893 Mozilla/Firefox Browsers 8 06-08-2011 07:41 PM
i have lost access to my router setup page
i have a dlink dir-615 and my wireless was on and router working fine could access my router page i have 2 pc's both connected fine no problem for months as xmas is! my son's bedroom was a tip with toys etc... as boys are so i disabled the wireless so he coudnt go on xbox live till his room was...
pastaman06 Networking Support 7 01-04-2011 03:19 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:48 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts