Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Alternative Computing > Linux Support

Wifi issue in backtrack

This is a discussion on Wifi issue in backtrack within the Linux Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Having some issue's trying to connect to my wifi network regardless if i'm using encryption or not. If i try


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-27-2011, 09:34 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7


Confused

Having some issue's trying to connect to my wifi network regardless if i'm using encryption or not.

If i try using WPA2 i get an error: "Connection Failed:Bad Password" I've tried every suggestion on the internet regarding this problem to no avail.

So i tired disabling the security on the AP, this resulted in the error "connection failed: could not get ip address". I then tried using a static ip which also resulted in an error "connection Failed:could not locate network" or something of that nature.

The System i am trying to use this on is a dell 1545 with a Broadcom BCM4312. I have tried BT5 KDE 32,BT5 KDE 64,BT5 Gnome as well as bt4 and it isn't working on either release.

anybody have any idea what to try or what the problem could be?

__________________
Panic.exe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2011, 04:44 PM   #2
Manager
- Alternative Computing
- Design
 
wmorri's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 5,769
OS: Window 7/Ubuntu/Fedora/Backtrack 5

My System

Send a message via AIM to wmorri Send a message via MSN to wmorri

Hi,

Please start with this guide. It will help us with getting your help.

__________________



Linux Forever!|html5 boilerplate
wmorri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 10:14 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7



lspci:

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Memory Controller Hub (rev 07)

00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 07)

00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 07)

00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 03)

00:1a.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 03)

00:1a.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #6 (rev 03)

00:1a.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)

00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)

00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 03)

00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 03)

00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 3 (rev 03)

00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) PCI Express Port 5 (rev 03)

00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)

00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)

00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 03)

00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)

00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev 93)

00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation ICH9M LPC Interface Controller (rev 03)

00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation ICH9M/M-E SATA AHCI Controller (rev 03)

00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 03)

09:00.0 Ethernet controller: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88E8040 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller (rev 13)

0c:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11b/g LP-PHY (rev 01)




lsusb:

Bus 008 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 007 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub





lsmod:

Module Size Used by
dm_crypt 16476 0
snd_hda_codec_idt 65083 1
snd_hda_intel 25382 2
snd_hda_codec 89862 2 snd_hda_codec_idt,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep 6666 1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm_oss 39737 0
snd_mixer_oss 15609 1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_pcm 83135 3 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_pcm_oss
snd_seq_dummy 1782 0
snd_seq_oss 29952 0
snd_seq_midi 5676 0
arc4 1505 2
lp 9893 0
parport 34080 1 lp
snd_rawmidi 21765 1 snd_seq_midi
b43 326324 0
snd_seq_midi_event 6708 2 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi
snd_seq 54693 6 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_timer 21958 2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
dell_laptop 8856 0
mac80211 277511 1 b43
cfg80211 165732 2 b43,mac80211
snd_seq_device 6265 5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq
rfkill 18476 2 dell_laptop,cfg80211
dell_wmi 1777 0
snd 65738 16 snd_hda_codec_idt,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,snd_seq_oss,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq,snd_timer,snd_seq_device
sparse_keymap 3878 1 dell_wmi
soundcore 7240 1 snd
psmouse 60384 0
snd_page_alloc 8149 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
wmi 9944 1 dell_wmi
mac_hid 3869 0
serio_raw 4784 0
dcdbas 6737 1 dell_laptop
ums_realtek 4767 0
usb_storage 48582 1 ums_realtek
ahci 21622 2
i915 522208 3
drm_kms_helper 32921 1 i915
uas 8820 0
libahci 22318 1 ahci
drm 211510 4 i915,drm_kms_helper
intel_agp 11862 1 i915
i2c_algo_bit 5628 1 i915
intel_gtt 16156 3 i915,intel_agp
sky2 50434 0
ssb 43273 1 b43
video 12530 1 i915


uname -r:

2.6.39.4


Make And Model: dell inspiron 1545

disto: Backtrack 5 R1 Kde x64


:-) thanks for the help..
__________________
Panic.exe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 08:07 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7



*bump*
__________________
Panic.exe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 09:09 AM   #5
Manager
- Alternative Computing
- Design
 
wmorri's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 5,769
OS: Window 7/Ubuntu/Fedora/Backtrack 5

My System

Send a message via AIM to wmorri Send a message via MSN to wmorri

Hi,

Have a look at Installing b43xx drivers. It should get you going in the right direction.

Cheers!
__________________



Linux Forever!|html5 boilerplate
wmorri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 09:54 AM   #6
Alternative Computing
Moderator
 
hal8000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,205
OS: Linux Mint 16 Petra (KDE), Arch Linux, Ubuntu 13.10 Raspberry Pi Model B (running Raspmc)

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Panic.exe View Post

lsmod:

Module Size Used by

b43 326324 0



:-) thanks for the help..

Looks as though a b43 module is loaded but not being used.
Post the output of:

iwconfig

ifconfig

(both issued as root).
__________________
hal8000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2011, 09:56 AM   #7
Manager
- Alternative Computing
- Design
 
wmorri's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 5,769
OS: Window 7/Ubuntu/Fedora/Backtrack 5

My System

Send a message via AIM to wmorri Send a message via MSN to wmorri

Hal,

Nice catch I didn't see that.
__________________



Linux Forever!|html5 boilerplate
wmorri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2011, 09:45 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7



Code:
root@bt:~# iwconfig
lo        no wireless extensions.

eth0      no wireless extensions.

wlan0     IEEE 802.11bg  ESSID:off/any  
          Mode:Managed  Access Point: Not-Associated   Tx-Power=20 dBm   
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          
root@bt:~# ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:25:64:6e:91:26  
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
          Interrupt:18 

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:28 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:28 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
          RX bytes:1777 (1.7 KB)  TX bytes:1777 (1.7 KB)

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 70:1a:04:f3:a5:af  
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
__________________
Panic.exe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 01:39 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7



hmm..
__________________
Panic.exe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2011, 06:27 AM   #10
Alternative Computing
Moderator
 
hal8000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,205
OS: Linux Mint 16 Petra (KDE), Arch Linux, Ubuntu 13.10 Raspberry Pi Model B (running Raspmc)

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Panic.exe View Post
Code:
root@bt:~# iwconfig
lo        no wireless extensions.

eth0      no wireless extensions.

wlan0     IEEE 802.11bg  ESSID:off/any  
          Mode:Managed  Access Point: Not-Associated   Tx-Power=20 dBm   
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off

Well its detected your adapter ok. Your problem is association with the wireless access point.
If the network manager fails then you need to configure manually, Backtrack is designed as a live CD anyway so this sort of thing is normal

As root

sudo iwconfig wlan0 essid "ESSID_IN_QUOTES"

If using WPA you need to make sure wpasupplicant is installed then follow this guide to setup your password:
Start at WPA connection:

How To: Manual Network Configuration without the need for Network Manager - Ubuntu Forums

One last thought linux will autodetect your connection type. It may not state exactly the same encryption words as your network so if you have changed these this is why it will fail.
__________________
hal8000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 05:43 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7



Unfortunately im having the same issue trying to connect manually :-\.
any other idea's i could try?
__________________
Panic.exe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2011, 06:03 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 7
OS: Windows 7



when trying dhclient, Dhcpdiscover does its thing but never receives anything
__________________
Panic.exe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 02:15 PM   #13
Alternative Computing
Moderator
 
hal8000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,205
OS: Linux Mint 16 Petra (KDE), Arch Linux, Ubuntu 13.10 Raspberry Pi Model B (running Raspmc)

My System


You could try assigning your wireless adapater a static IP address. However if you do this you must ensure that this IP will not be issued by your router. One way to do this is to start your routers DHCP pool at say octet 64 e.g. x.x.x.64
Then you can manually assign static DHCP addresses without an IP clash.


For example, my router gateway is 192.168.254.254/24

In my router setup I have a page for DHCP

My first DHCP address is 192.168.254.64
Last DHCP address 192.168.254.252

This way I can assign static IP adress from 192.168.254.1 to 192.168.254.63
to any device, and DHCP address will be issued from 192.168.254.64 onwards.
This is just basic networking and many routers are set up like this.

In Backtrack you just assign wlan0 a fixed IP address once you have checked your wireless network.

__________________
hal8000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laptop wifi, have to keep reseating card?!?!
I had to send my HPg61 laptop in to check out a heat issue a few months ago. When it came back, I got a headphone jack issue (now resolved) and a Wi-Fi problem - I used to have great wifi from my bedroom to my parent's study which is where the modem is, even when I did have the heat issue, but...
Ruki Networking Support 1 07-27-2011 01:45 PM
Can't browser the web on 3G modem after enabling wifi
I have a 3g usb modem hooked up to my main Windows xp laptop. I'm also sharing that 3g connection with ICS out the ethernet port on the laptop to my wifi router. All works ok and I'm able to browse from all computers connected to the wifi router except when I turn on the main laptop's wifi to...
hekg Networking Support 2 04-20-2011 02:27 PM
[SOLVED] BSOD when connecting to a wifi network
- OS: Win7 Home Premium x64 - the original installed OS on the system? Yes - an OEM or full retail version? It was OEM, then I reinstalled with a version downloaded from the internet (I have the serial key) - What is the age of system (hardware)? 2 months - What is the age of OS installation...
Time Pink BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 3 03-08-2011 05:09 PM
Xbox Live Connection Issue (still works but odd issue)
I've had this issue for quite some time now, and I think it may be due to recovering my gamertag on a different console, switching harddrive and doing a recovery, or just switching my Xbox in general. So here is my issue: everytime I turn on my Xbox it will automatically sign me into Xbox live...
KingMiedus Online/Network Gaming Support 5 01-30-2011 01:51 PM
[SOLVED] HEADSET ISSUE: I hear my voice in my headphones.
I have XP 32-bit. The headset i am having problems with is called the Razer Carcharias. (yes, i have installed the appropriate drivers, please dont go there, i know you mean well but trust me.) HERES MY PROBLEM: Somehow, the sound going into my mic is being transmitted through my headset. As a...
Pez Dex Other Hardware Support 9 01-26-2011 02:28 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:49 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts